The Mind of Bluesleepy

It’s just a worm! 5 April 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 11:21 pm

Kurt just told me this amusing story:

Kurt spent the afternoon in the garage rearranging boxes in the garage, and Grace decided to play out back. She came racing into the garage, yelling, “Daddy! There’s a snake in the backyard!”

He got all excited that he was going to see a snake, so he goes trotting out back with her. But he couldn’t see a snake anywhere. Grace guided him closer and closer to where she thought the snake was, and finally she says, “It’s right at your feet, Daddy!”

Kurt looks down, and there’s a worm in the grass. Gracie wouldn’t go anywhere near it till he brushed the worm away.

That just made me giggle, so I had to share it with you.

Today didn’t start out well, but it has ended a lot better. Last night Kurt and I had another argument, which is emotionally exhausting for both of us. We made up before we went to bed, but then the dog kept wanting to go out. And the problem is, the door to the backyard is clear on the other side of the house. It’s quite a hike from the bedroom to the backdoor when your brain is fogged with sleep.

First Koolit had to go out at 3am. That was fine, and Kurt didn’t mind getting up to let him out. He was out for only about ten minutes, and Kurt snoozed on the couch until he barked to come back in. But then he needed out at 5am. That annoyed Kurt because Koolit only went outside to bark at something, and he wanted back in immediately. At 7:30am, Koolit wanted out again! We heard Koolit’s belly making some really wacky sounds, and that’s when Kurt realized he’d forgotten to feed him. He took him out to the kitchen, made him a meal, and let him out when Koolit refused to eat. He came in again and decided to eat, and Kurt figured he’d lay down on the couch for a few minutes. Koolit almost always wants to go back outside as soon as he’s done eating, and Kurt figured it’d be pointless to come back to bed. At 8:30am, I rolled over and Kurt was gone. I came out to the living room to find him snoozing on the couch. I woke him back up and told him to come back to bed.

Kurt got up for good around 9:30am, and Grace slept until almost 10. I didn’t get out of bed till 10:30am because I was just so emotionally exhausted from the night before. As soon as I came out to the living room, I knew something was Not Quite Right. Grace was all snuggled up on Daddy, watching his tv shows with him.

Grace doesn’t snuggle unless she’s not feeling well. And she was not feeling well at all.

She came over to me as soon as I sat down on the loveseat, and we spent the next couple hours snuggling together under a blanket. Kurt made us lunch, and it wasn’t more than about ten minutes after lunch that Grace started crying and sobbing that her stomach hurt.

And up came lunch.

I figured she was about to throw up, so Kurt hustled her into the bathroom. But there was still a mess to clean up, which he was very kind in doing the honors for me. My senses are heightened when pregnant; I doubt I could have cleaned up the mess without heaving my own cookies.

After she threw up, she was fine. Literally. It was like she needed to get something yucky out of her system, and once it was gone, she was absolutely fine. The last time she had a stomach bug, she threw up, felt fine, threw up again, and then she really felt better. So all day long, I waited for the other shoe to drop. Since Kurt was outside working on the garage, I stayed on the couch, monitoring Grace.

Did I mention I never got dressed till almost 4pm?? That is unheard of for me.

Grace never did throw up again. I gave her some Maypo oatmeal, and she was able to keep that down. So I don’t know why she was sick this afternoon; maybe it’s just one of those things. I just hope neither Kurt nor I come down with this. Yuck.

Since Grace was feeling better, we headed down to the record store to pick up Kurt’s new McFly CD. We’d had to order it because they didn’t carry it in-store; it came all the way from the UK. We got a glimpse of the craziness that is Newport in summer. Wow. It’s only April, and it’s already insane. We had to go down Thames Street and come back around before we found a free parking spot. The meters don’t start running till May 1st, but all the parking lots are already charging to park. We had to walk a bit, but hey, we needed the exercise.

We also went into one of my favorite stores that sells all kind of wacky gifts. And it was there that I found the perfect thing to adorn The Purple Chai’s desk:

Librarian Action Figure!

A librarian action figure, completely with push-button shushing action!  How seriously funny is that?  I wanted it for myself as well, since I am a wannabe librarian.  But you know, I left it in the store with all the other funny action figures.

I made a really yummy dinner, one of my favorite recipes — turkey italian sausage in a honey-rosemary sauce with wilted kale tossed with linguine. You don’t have to use the kale; I just like the addition of such a dark green. And the kale doesn’t get bitter when you cook it. It stays pretty crunchy, instead of getting mushy when you wilt spinach too much.

So all of that helped to bring my mood up.  But then Kurt offered something that could not be turned down — an ice cream cone from one of the local joints that just opened back up for the summer!  Woo!!!

Unfortunately that place was packed, so we went to the Newport Creamery instead.  Ohhhh that place is awesome.  I had a scoop of mint chocolate chip ice cream sandwiched between two chocolate chip cookies and covered in whipped cream and hot fudge.  Yummy!

Definitely a wonderful end to a not-so-wonderful day.  May tomorrow be even better!!

 

9 Responses to “It’s just a worm!”

  1. hissandtell Says:

    I bought a Jane Austen action figure as a gift for a friend recently — it came with a book (“Pride and Prejudice”, of course), a writing desk and quill pen. But somehow I think the Librabrian is just a tad more inactive, if it’s at all possible… Love, R xxx

  2. hissandtell Says:

    LibraBRian? Did I type that? Reminds me of a boy I taught whose middle name was — I kid you not — Brain. His mother was convinced it said “Brian”, but she couldn’t actually spell. x

  3. Poolie Says:

    What a funny action figure! Glad your little one is better. Glad you and Kurt mended your fences too. Exhausting, eh?

  4. chaosdaily Says:

    When we were little and had that icky stomach, my mother would get coke syrup from the local pharmacy. A teaspoon of that would either cure us or make us puke, which also cured us. Even now, a bubble-less coke makes me feel better! Glad you feel better too.

  5. purple chai Says:

    Thanks for thinking of me!

  6. yankeechick Says:

    What a day! So glad it ended on a good note. And especially glad that you and Kurt are okay. I love to read all the fun stuff you guys do together and it’s hard to imagine you 2 being at odds with each other. **HUGS**

  7. art Says:

    wow! what an action packed day!!! hopefully today will be an argue free day!!! i wonder if they have blogger action figures?? heheheee!!!! ((((((HUGS TO YOUS))))))))))

  8. sleepyjane Says:

    Awww. I’m sorry Grace was sick! But very glad she’s all better!! 🙂 And that worm/snake story is so adorable. I’d have cracked up too.

    And I’m also very glad that you and Kurt made up. It’s so draining to have fights. **hugs**

  9. terri t. Says:

    It sounds like everyone was a bit “off” that day/night. So glad that all of you are feeling better emotionally and physically by now. I think I saw that librarian figure somewhere before.
    The dinner sounded so good….so the day ended so much better than it started out.


Leave a Reply

