The Mind of Bluesleepy

Kitchen GODDESS 7 April 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 7:56 pm

Thanks for all your supportive and sweet comments on yesterday’s post.  It’s good to know I’m not alone, and that meltdowns are not abnormal.

Today was a better day all around, but!  First things first.

I am a KITCHEN GODDESS.  Yes, sirree Bob, that’s me.

I was wondering what we should have for dinner.  I have plenty of stuff in the pantry and fridge, but I’m not so good at coming up with stuff to use up what I have.  I tend to buy a lot of stuff for recipes, and if I don’t manage to get to that recipe before the fresh ingredients spoil, I end up with some wonky things that I don’t know what to do with.

We had to go to the grocery store this afternoon, as we had no bread in the house.  Kurt, being Kurt, was already hungry.  This man is insatiable sometimes.  He is constantly snacking and eating because he’s always hungry.  And I know better than to go to the grocery store when he’s hungry.

We came this close to buying a take & bake pizza, but luckily they had none in the family size.  I said to Kurt, “You keep bugging me to use up that chourico; I’ll just chuck it into some sauce and spoon it over pasta.”

Kurt was sold.

But once I got into the kitchen, I decided to get jiggy with it.  I sauteed up some diced onions and green peppers till they were soft, threw in the diced chourico to brown, and then added some pressed garlic to kick it up a notch.  Once that was fragrant, in went a jar of marinara sauce.  Then I got even more adventuresome and sliced up some kalamata olives to chuck into the sauce.  I almost added capers as well, but I figured that would be too salty, what with the olives already in the sauce.

By the way, I don’t do canned olives.  They’re mushy and flavorless.  I usually buy them in the tub or from an olive bar.  That way, they’re really flavorful and yummy.

I let the sauce simmer until my farfalle was done (Kurt’s not a fan of the long pasta, so I went with a shape instead), and it got thick and concentrated.  I spooned the sauce over the farfalle, grated some fresh parmesan on top, and voila!  Dinner was served!

Ohhhh, it was heavenly.  I can’t believe how much I changed the flavor of the original sauce!  The marinara I used had been rather sweet out of the jar, but once I added the garlic and everything else, it became far more savory.  It was really amazing!

Kurt loved it so much, he went back for seconds.  He would have gone back for thirds if he had had enough room in his stomach.  But alas, he was stuffed, so he had to be content with just seconds.

I had to giggle when I thought about what all went in to the sauce, though.  It was definitely a multi-national dish!  The sauce and pasta came from Italy, the olives from Greece, and the chourico from Portugal.  Yummy!

But yes, today was a much better day.  It didn’t start out well — Kurt’s alarm went off at 6:15am.  He hit the snooze button and promptly fell back asleep till 6:30.  But I couldn’t go back to sleep; instead, I laid in bed till 7:10am being tired and grumpy.  Those of you who know me know I am not a morning person.  Not being able to get enough sleep is cause for me to get extremely grumpy.

Kurt and I met for lunch at our new favorite diner, and by that time I was feeling much better, though I was still tired.  And how can you still be grumpy after eating a tuna club on toast with fantastic mac salad on the side?  When we went to pick Grace up from school, she saw us coming down the hall, and we could hear her shout, “My mommy’s here!  My daddy’s here!”  Her teacher told us yet again how much she loves having Gracie in her class, how sweet and well-behaved she is.  She told me Grace is “a joy” to have.

By the time I went to pick Kurt back up from work, I was in a much better mood.  We kept laughing and joking and picking on one another, just like we should be.

I would have to give today an A, even if I didn’t get any of that fabulous hot & sweet & sour soup!

 

9 Responses to “Kitchen GODDESS”

  1. Shear Says:

    Yay! for good days like today! Glad yours was much better.

  2. yankeechick Says:

    Hooray for “A” days! You are always such a bright spot to all of us when any of us are out of sorts or having a rough patch! It’s just not right that such a sweetie as you should have cranky days!! I’m so glad things are looking up and I hope they stay that way! Mwah!

  3. twisterjester Says:

    Hey, save the hot & sweet & sour soup for tomorrow. Gotta have something to look forward to, LOL!

  4. sleepyjane Says:

    I’m glad you had a good day! 🙂 One person that had a good Monday at least. 😉

    The pasta dish sounds delish! Except for the olives…I don’t like olives.

    And it’s not hard for me to believe that Grace is a big hit at her school!

  5. Elle Says:

    Oh, Kitchen Goddess, your sauce makes me yearn to make some too! Glad the day was an A!

  6. michele Says:

    that’s cool how dinner worked out for you. i miss having a lot of time to whip up delicious and creative dinners after work. last night was bean & cheese “quesadillas”. whoopdeedo.

  7. art Says:

    Oh Mighty Kitchen Goddess!!! Please adorn My Kitchen with Thy Presence, and get jiggy with my foodie stuffs!!! i would love a gourmet meal!! heheh!!

  8. whatdayisit Says:

    I have no idea what most of the ingredients you mentioned would taste like but I bet it was delicious. I am glad you had a good day…..now go forth and have another!

  9. Violet Says:

    That sounds delicious, Miss. I wish some of that sauce would materialize right now, at my desk. In a proper dish, of course.
    XOXOX


Leave a Reply

