The Mind of Bluesleepy

Getting hot in the neighborhood 10 April 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 9:14 pm

What a gorgeous day today!!! According to my weather station, it got up to 70º today! It really felt gorgeous out there. I opened the door for my mailman today, and I couldn’t believe how warm it was.

I even shaved my legs and wore crops today!

All day long I have been exhausted. I don’t know why I am so tired. I slept just fine last night, and I got up at my normal time. But all day I’ve felt like if I could just close my eyes for a moment, I could fallen deeply asleep.

I never did get a nap. I’m sure I will sleep just fine tonight!

My mailman came by twice today. See, we have a walking mailman because our boxes are attached to the house. When there are packages to be delivered, the mailman usually drives up to the house, and then later walks back with his bag full of mail.

Yes, folks, I got a package today. Actually I got TWO!

One was from my dear friend ChaosDaily, who sent me tote bags to use when I go shopping, as well as some chocolate. YUMMY! I was so pleased by her thoughtfulness. Thanks, Chaos!

The second from was from my friend Craige, whom I know from my online discussion group. She had mentioned to me one day that she was going to make pad thai from scratch (and the photos she posted made me drool all over myself), but she had to go to the Asian market first. She offered to pick some stuff up for me, and I asked for some sansho powder (a Japanese seasoning powder made from the ground berries of the prickly ash tree, and which has a peppery-lemon flavor) so I can make a Szchewuan recipe called ma po tofu. Today her package arrived, and inside was not just the sansho powder!

Behold!

YAY, CRAIGE!!!

I look rather demented in this photo, but I was soooooooooo excited!  The sansho powder is the teeny bottle in my right hand.  Over that shoulder is some fruit-flavored candy that looks like LifeSavers.  In my left hand, I’ve got some hard candies (what flavor, I have no idea since I don’t read Japanese), some matcha (ie, green tea) flavored Kit-Kats, some strawberry & pretzel Hello Kitty Pocky, and my favorite of all, mints or gum called Watering KissMint.  I haven’t opened anything yet, but it was just so freakin’ cool to get such neat things in the mail!  It made my mood go from blah to thrilled.

Dinner turned out quite well.  We had the Thai beef salad I’d planned to have yesterday.  It was so easy to make!  Throw beef on grill, slice when done, toss with other ingredients.  And unlike some of my Twittering friends, Kurt and I love the cilantro.  It called for a quarter cup of chopped fresh cilantro, but I believe we added closer to a half cup.

I had the bright idea to serve it with naan (Indian flatbread) to soak up the sauce.  Brilliant!

You know, I am probably the only non-Asian I know who has fish sauce in her pantry.  That, and hoisin sauce, and Japanese soy sauce, and Chinese dark soy sauce, and Korean hot bean paste…  Maybe I was Asian in a previous life.

I wanted to go on a walk after dinner, so Kurt threw the dirty dishes in the kitchen and we headed out.  We got to the end of our street, only a few houses up, and was accosted by C’s daughter who had come out to see where we were going.  C’s husband invited us in to visit, and there went my walk.  I don’t mind too much; it was so nice to visit with them.  They are such nice people.

When we finished visiting, Kurt suggested we go around the block for our walk, and I decided we’d go around the long way.  So at least I got to go on somewhat of a walk!  It was my favorite time of night, too, right when the streetlights are on and the sunlight is fading, but there’s still a little bit left.  It was a really gorgeous night.

 

5 Responses to “Getting hot in the neighborhood”

  1. andrea Says:

    We don’t have bean paste in our pantry, but we have everything else you mentioned: multiple varieties of soy sauce, fish sauce, oyster sauce, hoisin sauce, etc.

    I’m glad you had such a warm day! It was nice up here too, although not that warm and too windy for my taste. The weather is finally softening, though, and I am so ready for the heat.

  2. twisterjester Says:

    You look wonderful! I feel guilty because I didn’t send you anything, now, though :-p

  3. becca Says:

    Gifts are always great, never seen the green tea kitkats but over here we have orange, mint, cappuccino and now a nutty one as well as a chunky one. Kitkats are taking over the world.

  4. art Says:

    i dont have bean paste, just beans!! i never heard of green tea kit kats!! you look totally giddy!!! whee~!!

  5. sleepyjane Says:

    That’s an adorable photo!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

