The Mind of Bluesleepy

Bridge to bridge 13 April 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 11:22 pm

Kurt’s watching last night’s Saturday Night Live, and let me tell you — the guy who does the singing for Gnarls Barkley (and that, my friends, is quite an awesome video) does not look at all like I thought he would. It doesn’t help that he looks like a black entertainer from the 40s or 50s with that huge coif of a hairdo. I wonder if it’s a wig; Wikipedia shows him entirely bald.

You know, I am probably being a party-pooper, but I’m not really a fan of SNL. I watch it because Kurt does, but really, I don’t think it’s funny. Kurt’s over here giggling to himself, but it’s just not my thing. Oh well.

So today has been somewhat of a rotten day. Another stupid argument with Kurt. And you know, not to keep harping on it, but I get exhausted much more easily now that I’m pregnant. I ended up falling asleep on the couch for at least half an hour today, and I could go to bed right now and fall asleep. That’s how tired I am.

Apparently my fellow Twits (or is that “Twit-ees”) are convinced this one is a boy, since I am so tired this time around. I don’t know if I was this tired with Grace or not. Chaos pointed out that I’m now running after a toddler, which could contribute to my exhaustion. I don’t know about that; I don’t do much running after her anymore. I don’t know how the women who have back-to-back kids do it. Grace is pretty much self-sufficient; all I have to do is prepare her meals, wipe her bottom after she uses the restroom, and button her pants back up when she’s done in the bathroom. Everything else she can pretty much do on her own.

I see women on base all the time that are six or seven months pregnant, and they’ve got a one-year-old clinging to their hips. How?? Why???

Well, obviously I know how, but I’m still floored by the “why.” It’s so hard to be a mother under the best of circumstances, but when you’re married to a serviceman, that’s doubly hard. Now you’ve got two kids under the age of three (and sometimes both under the age of two!), and your husband goes away for six months, leaving you to deal with raising the kids and feeding the kids and changing all those diapers and paying all the bills and dealing with the car breaking down and the furnace going south and you’re hundreds if not thousands of miles away from all your friends and family… A lot of women even give birth while their husbands are underway. I saw a promo for the documentary CARRIER starting on 27 April on PBS which showed a sailor watching a video of his girlfriend’s C-section while he was underway, and he bawled because he couldn’t be there. Can you even imagine??

(You really should check out CARRIER. It’s like a documentary and a reality show, mixed up together. You really get a glimpse of real life aboard an aircraft carrier — not just the point of view of it being a warship fulfilling its mission, but also from the point of view of its very human crewmembers. Check your local PBS station for times.)

I would go insane if I had two (or three) tiny ones at home and Kurt were underway all the time. It was hard enough when Kurt left on a six-week deployment when Grace was just ten days old, and when he left for a six-month deployment when she was six months old. He missed her first birthday, but he did manage to call from overseas to help sing “Happy Birthday” to her.

Maybe while Grace is at preschool tomorrow I’ll get a bit of a nap. Oh, who am I kidding?? I’ll probably be Twittering my life away.

Kurt had duty today. Geez, duty is such a joke on shore duty. On a ship, he has to stay on the ship for 24 hours in case something happens. He can’t even leave the ship to grab a pizza or anything. When duty falls on a work day, he ends up working 36 hours straight. He can sleep during that time, but he’s still away from home. Here on shore duty, he goes in for morning colors (raising the flag), he relieves the guy at the front desk while he goes to get lunch and dinner, and then he has to return for evening colors (lowering the flag) and to lock up. In between these times, he comes home and spends the day with us. Today was even easier, as the guy at the front desk had his wife bring him food, so he didn’t even need a relief during meal times.

Not that I’m complaining that duty is so easy here on shore duty. He definitely deserves it what with the awful schedule he had in Washington.

So Kurt figured it’d be good if I took photos of the evening colors ceremony, since we all know I’m not getting out of bed for morning colors. Kurt barely gets out of bed for morning colors; as soon as the flag was up, he came right home and crawled back into bed with me.

Colors was supposed to begin right at sundown, which was 7:22pm tonight. By my calculations, his command was a wee bit early. See, his command has the choice of going with the Naval War College or with the main base. Why there’s a difference, I don’t know. Tonight his command went with the Naval War College. Right around the time that the First Class on duty got the flag off its ropes, the main base started blaring its music that it plays during colors. I think everyone needs to get their watches synchronized, but that’s just me.

When Kurt was on his last ship, colors was much more synchronized. The senior ship in port would decide when to start lowering its flag, and all the other ships in port would follow its lead. That makes perfect sense to me! Just imagine the beauty of five or six flags all coming down in unison.

I also managed to get some gorgeous shots of the sunset, especially of the Pell Bridge linking Newport to Jamestown. Isn’t this just stunning?

Pink and blue

(The photos of colors and the rest of the sunset photos can be seen HERE.)

 

11 Responses to “Bridge to bridge”

  1. twisterjester Says:

    What a breathtaking photo. You take such nice pictures! And as for the exhaustion with the second child – even if Grace is pretty self sufficient, she still affects your sleep time and how you eat, etc. Of course you wouldn’t trade her for anything, just the same!

    You’re 160-some-odd days away from your due date now. It’ll pass slower some days than others, but in general you’ll be busy getting READY for the new baby!

  2. Terri Says:

    Oh, honey… Being tired is hormonal as well as physical. Chasing after Grace might make you a bit more pooped, but it’s all your hormones getting busy. I can’t remember a single movie during the nine months of pregnancy. I *always* fall asleep. I feel asleep in the movie theater during that Jackie Chan movie “Rumble in the Bronx”. It’s perfectly normal!! If you can, listen to your body and sleep when you feel you need to. *HUGS*

    Oh, and I don’t get SNL either. I was a MAD TV person myself. Is that even still on?

  3. sleepyjane Says:

    OMG that’s a gorgeous photo! Wow, the colours are amazing!

    I also never know how people did it in the ‘old days’ back then they had like 8 children, even more. How did they do THAT? You’d have to be pregnant for EVER. *shudders*

  4. becca Says:

    I too love that photo and I am with you on the kids close together thing. I would have ideally liked a 3-4 year age gap between kids but as I was in the midst of a divorce at that time, it would have never been right. It now happens that it will be 4yrs and 10mths which works out ideal for me as Matthew starts full time school in September and the baby will be along a couple of months later meaning I get some separate time for baby like I had for Matthew much of the day.

  5. art Says:

    im concerned that you and kurt are yellin at each other! STOP THAT!!! you, being hormonal, are much MORE SENSITIVE to things!!! remember that!!

  6. michele Says:

    great photo!! is that a “raw” photo or did you use special lenses to get the effect. i know you don’t modify post “production”…

    inquiring minds wanna know! 🙂

  7. Elle Says:

    That’s not a photo, that’s a painting!!! Wonderful.

  8. Aimee Says:

    That photo is amazing! Hopefully you’ll have more energy soon! As far as the people with back to back babies??? Nuts? Slip up in birth control? I don’t know. A friend of mine wanted to be done all at once….but she’s nuts!

  9. terri t. Says:

    Maybe you should be giving yourself a break….even if it is from blogging….. Take a nap on the couch even if Grace is playing in the living room. She probably would love to play Mommy and you be the baby! You’re pregnant with a second baby and your body is working overtime. And, remember Kurt is home…a lot….so you are constantly thinking of food to prepare and things to do together. Give yourself permission to relax. Let Kurt take Grace to the park and you stay home and take a bubble bath…..Do it while you can….

  10. oleandlena Says:

    Your photo is beautiful. And thanks for pointing out CARRIER. I’ll make sure that Ole sees it as he was stationed on the Saratoga way back in the “dark ages.”

  11. clairec23 Says:

    Ha, I could have three under the age of four depending on what month this baby arrives 😀 I wouldn’t be able for even one if their Daddy had to go away though. I make him take a month off work every time I give birth to help out and I’ve been handing the kids over to him when he finishes work so I can conk out safely. This is our third time around so he’s a little bit more aware of when to shut up while I’m pregnant which definitely lowers the number of arguments – anything for an easy life. 😉

    I’ve been that type of sleepy tired on all of my pregnancies, boy or girl – I’m always shocked when other people don’t need naps during the day plus a very early night when they’re pregnant. I think this is probably a boy too but you never know.


Leave a Reply

