The Mind of Bluesleepy

When husband’s away… 29 April 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:41 pm

When husband’s away, the wifey will play!! Hahaha. OK, not really. Today has been a day of cleaning, even though my living room still looks like a wreck. It’s mainly because I cleaned every other room but the living room.

I had planned on vacuuming the floors in the house, though by the time I had straightened my bedroom, plus washed a load of laundry and folded another, I was ready for a nice sit-down. All of a sudden, Grace yelled at me, “Mommy, I spilled!!!!”

When I looked over at her, I couldn’t possibly see exactly what she had spilled. And when I asked, she simply said, “I spilled THIS!!!” She wouldn’t specify exactly what it was, but I do know she’d been playing with one of her food toys, a plastic shaker filled with “hot pepper flakes” and “parmesan cheese” for sprinkling on her plastic pizza.

Yes, folks, somehow Gracie managed to break the seal of the shaker and spill all the little red and yellow bits all over the carpet, right inside the back door. I tried picking them up by hand, but since it had been so long since I had last vacuumed, I was getting almost more cat hair in the shaker than the plastic pieces.

Grace brought the open container into the living room to show me how many she had picked up, and in doing so, she spilled the pieces all over the living room floor.

At that point, I simply gave in to the Universe dictating that I seriously needed to get out the vacuum. I mean, you can only resist for so long. So I resigned myself to my fate and vacuumed the entire house, as well as the kitchen so I could mop the floor later.

I also managed to turn a quick dinner into The Longest Meal Preparation Ever. It was one of those pre-made things, a box of Bangkok Noodles we found at BJ’s (like a Costco). It was really straight-forward — boil noodles till tender, add sauce packet and vegetable packet to some water and boil till tender, fry noodles till slightly crispy, throw everything together. Easy, right??? Well, I was also boiling water for some fresh corn we’d bought over the weekend, and then I decided I needed a bit of protein in my noodles, so I sauteed up some chicken as well. I had all four burners on my stove going for one measly dinner. I was proud of the fact that I did a bit of multi-tasking: I used the water I was boiling for the corn to also cook some fresh broccoli that I threw into the noodles as well. However, the whole process took me at least thirty minutes, while it really should have taken half that time, not including the time it takes to boil water.

Which reminds me!!! I hate how commercials and quick-fix cookbooks are always touting how quickly a particular recipe comes together. “Only five minutes!” or “Ten minutes to dinner!” Yeah, uh-huh. Not if it includes pasta. For some reason, they never add in the amount of time it takes to get a pot of water to boiling. And yes, I do know all the tricks — put a lid on the pot, salt the water, etc. But it still takes some time. Mac n’ cheese isn’t a quick-fix meal to me; first you have to boil the water, then you boil the pasta for up to ten minutes! We’re looking at at least twenty minutes from start to finish. I could heat up some leftovers or make a sandwich in far less time.

Sheesh.

Anyhow. I was talking to Kurt tonight over the phone, and since we’re now both equipped with laptops able to access the internet, we were trading links and other interesting things we wanted the other to see on the internet. (What the hell did I do for entertainment before the internet?? And yes, I am old enough to remember pre-internet. I think of my high school days, when no one had cell phones and most people didn’t bother owning a PC, and I compare it to normal high-schoolers nowadays that are always plugged in and completely accessible through cell phones and MySpace and whatever else. I only graduated high school eleven years ago!!!)

Kurt found this video by Weezer (it’s called “Keep Fishing”) that I found quite fun. I was also highly amused that the guest stars in this video are all wearing Weezer shirts. Please check it out — it’s really quite entertaining.

 

8 Responses to “When husband’s away…”

  1. art Says:

    i dunno if its the lousy innernet connection i have or what, but the video wont load!!!! aw well!!!! i had “groceries inna can ” for dinner, take saucepan, add can o creme of chicken, can of veg all can of tuna, some top remen, and some elbow macaroni and simmer for 30 minutes!!! MMMMMMM MMMMM GOOD!!!

  2. sleepyjane Says:

    YAY for cleaning….or….NOT! But aren’t you glad it’s done now?

  3. liz Says:

    You cracked me up with the “most people didn’t bother owning a PC” comment. When I was in high school, there was no such thing yet. Computers were huge and owned by businesses. Reminds me of this quote by Tom Watson, then IBM chairman, who said in 1958: “I think there is a world market for about five computers.”
    Things change! The weird part is that just when you think they can’t change any more, they do!

  4. michele Says:

    funny.. i was thinking the very same thing myself recently…. What the hell did *I* do before cell phones and the internet? I mean, what did I do with my time? (this is after i got out of the Navy and before started working again)

    At least Gracie came and told you she spilled! Sorry you had to vacuum. At least you don’t have any stairs.

  5. terri t. Says:

    So when will you have a day of relaxation? Oh I know…when Kurt comes back home. LOL!

    Was Gracie upset that her pizza toppings got vacumned up?

  6. cardiogirl Says:

    I like the rabbit in the very beginning who has the headset on a clip board in his paws.

    And who doesn’t love Animal on the drums?

  7. Aimee Says:

    Totally true on cookbooks. And when they say prep time, they mean prep time for someone who is a professional chef and can chop meat and veggies like it’s nothing. They do not mean, Aimee it will take you 20 minutes prep, because if it did you would be missing several fingers and possibly a chunk out of your face.


Leave a Reply

