The Mind of Bluesleepy

Good hair day 2 May 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 11:45 pm

I love having great hair days. It was somewhat wasted, as I didn’t really see anyone today, but every time I thought about my hair, I got a little happier. I cannot tell you how much I am loving this hair cut, and in being a redhead again finally. It is so me. I feel somehow that it’s a lot easier to be me in every way with a sassy cut and bright red hair. Maybe that doesn’t make sense to you. I know it isn’t really logical. But it is the way I feel.

I was feeling rather in the doldrums with my old cut (or lack thereof) and the color. I do have a pretty hair color when it’s natural, but the problem is, there was nothing natural about the color before I changed to red last week. It was all gross and frizzy from my perms, and it was much lighter blonde than it should be. It looked so dull and washed out. It was just so frustrating to me to look in the mirror, see how nice I looked with makeup on, but having no idea what the heck to do with the mop of frizz on my head.

Now it’s easy to style, and I feel like I look like I’m more put-together. And that’s a plus in almost every woman’s book.

I actually ran into Grace’s new friend’s mother, the one who had suggested the salon that I went to. She had gone to the same salon and had the same stylist as well. She raved over my hair, said it was perfect for me. We stood in the mist that was falling this morning for a half hour, just chatting in the parking lot. I suggested we go to Starbucks, but she had to get back to the baby. Her husband was taking care of him, but he wanted to go for a run once she got home. We do have tentative plans for a playdate next week, though.

I tend to be hesitant to have playdates here at the house. For one thing, we have a dog. He’s an old dog, sure, and an old dog to boot. But he’s also an excitable dog. He likes to jump up on people, which isn’t a big deal if you’re an adult. He can scare small children, though. Also, Grace doesn’t seem to have the amount of toys that most kids have. It’s not a problem for Grace, but most kids seem to get awfully bored here at my house because I don’t have Disney this and Princess that.

It’s hard for me to want to buy toys for Grace. She does have a decent amount of toys, but they’re mostly random things that Grace has expressed interest in over the years. She has very little in the way of themed toys, unless you count the toys that she gets from various kids’ meals. She’s probably the only three-year-old in the nation with no real preference for Disney Princesses (not that there’s anything wrong with them), and who owns not one Barbie or Bratz item.

We spent most of the day here in the house once we got home from preschool. Grace entertained herself with some expired coupons I had taken out of my coupon book. She lined them up neatly on the loveseat, then took them in small bundles over to the couch, where she lined them up neatly again. She did this over and over again, switching from the loveseat to the couch and back again. She spent about thirty minutes playing on her toy laptop, but only till Daddy got home from his business trip. That’s why it’s so hard for me to buy her toys. She just doesn’t play with normal, traditional kids’ toys.

Right now her favorite thing to play with is her snake. There are these flexible, stretchable snakes you can buy at Target for $2 each or something like that, and she picked out the green one. Why? Because “green is my favorite color, Mommy!” She’ll curl it into a circle, then stretch it all out. She’ll wrap it around her waist, and then go back to curling it up again.

Don’t think I’m complaining. I’m not. I’m just trying to explain why it’s hard for me to host other kids in my house. She’s had friends who have their own tvs and who spend most of their time watching it. Grace does watch a lot of tv, but usually it’s either old game shows (she loooooooooves Gene Rayburn) or whatever I feel like watching. It can be Dr Phil if he’s addressing a subject that isn’t child-inappropriate, or I’ll finish watching a movie on Masterpiece Theatre. She just doesn’t watch kids’ stuff, mainly because I just don’t think to put it on.

I’m a strange momma, I think. But it seems to work well for Grace. She’s not complaining… not yet, anyhow. She’ll probably think I ruined her life when she hits 16, but that’s sort of par for the course when you have a daughter.

And yes, Kurt is home, safe and sound, from his field trip chaperoning officers around various ships. He missed me, which is nice. He said he couldn’t sleep properly any of the days he was gone because he didn’t have me to snuggle up to. (Can I get an “awwwwwww”???)

I did get some concerning news. There’s been an outbreak of Fifth Disease in Grace’s preschool, which is usually not a big deal. Kids get a rash and a little bit sick, but it’s not a huge issue. The problem is, it can cause complications for pregnant women. Generally it’s more severe for women in their first trimester, and I’m well into my second. But it’s still a niggling worry I have in the back of my head. I’ll have a blood test on Monday to see if I’ve been exposed, and hopefully by Tuesday I’ll find out that I haven’t been exposed and that I and the baby will just fine.

Keep your fingers crossed!

 

9 Responses to “Good hair day”

  1. Catie Says:

    I don’t think you need to have a bunch of toys on hand to keep kids entertained. But I have some ideas that Grace will probably enjoy and will encourage imaginative play. Get a box and get a bunch of piece of fabric and clothes (the more outrageous, the better) from a thrift store. This stuff can be used to play dress up or make forts or whatever else they can think up. Get yourself a bunch of cheapy art supplies. Target has lots of great stuff, especially around the beginning of school for SUPER cheap. Things like popsicle sticks, water based washable paints, brushes, colored pencils, crayons, clay, etc. Also think about getting a kids’ cookbook. Even tiny kids can start to measure stuff or make something like trail mix. Online you can find recipes for making your own Play-Doh, too! What kid wouldn’t want to custom make their own Play -Doh?? Oh- also, letting kids pour water from one thing to another. Playing with water is like the best thing ever because when I let my neice and nephew do this (you know, when they were little. At 11 and 13 this does not hold much appeal)- they had so much fun.

    I know a lot of kids are not used to imaginative play these days because they play with character driven toys, but I’m betting plenty of them could get into this type of stuff. And now it’s midnight and I feel like making Play-Doh.

  2. purple chai Says:

    Grace sounds like a wonderfully resourceful child who can find her entertainment in ordinary things. She must be very imaginative. Did you ask her what she was doing with the coupons? It might be interesting to hear her story about them.

    If you want kids to come over, you may want to plan some structured activity for part of the time, like a craft thing. You could have them make paper bag puppets and then put on shows, or even play-doh, which would occupy them for a while, and then it will feel like you have just the right amount of toys.

  3. Poolie Says:

    This is just a guess…..but kids who can entertain themselves like Gracie can are extremely bright. Catie is right. Our toys are WAY too “packaged” these days. I’m also not a huge fan of structured activities for kids. They need time to develop their own worlds.

  4. Poolie Says:

    Dang! I meant to say “kids like Gracie are extremely bright.” Guess who still hasn’t had her coffee?

  5. liz Says:

    I was going to give you a bunch of suggestions for Grace and co., but then I read the above comments and it seems to be covered. Also, there are some board games for little ones…Candyland, Chutes and Ladders, Hi,Ho Cherry O! and Barrel of Monkeys…those are things you can play with her or have to play with a friend. Still packaged toys, but they practice skills at the same time. Also, is playing outside with balls, riding toys, etc a possiblity? As for TV, there are some good educational shows on PBS. I highly recommend Between the Lions if it is still on.

    I can’t believe that girls that small are already playing with all that Barbie/Bratz/Disney Princess stuff. That just seems a little young to me. I think Grace has the right idea…Mommy toys! Empty boxes were always big with my kids 🙂

  6. becca Says:

    fifth disease is the us equivalent of our chicken pox. matthew has just had it and it’s not a big concern over here as most of us has it as kids but i was told to visit my gp if i caught it again. luckily i didnt and now i can get on with it knowing matthews got it out the way. hope grace stays well though. x

  7. yankeechick Says:

    I’m so glad you are enjoying your hair! I want to do something fun with mine. The store manager and one of the dept. managers have both done some really cool color lately and I love it. Makes me want to play with some color as well or a curlier perm………..or not………I don’t know, but a change of some sort would be a much needed ‘pick me up’ !

  8. sleepyjane Says:

    Awwww. 🙂 That is very sweet of him. It’s so nice to know we’re missed when the guys are gone for a few days. 🙂 Like when J goes fishing and he always says he missed me.

    I’m also glad that you love your hair, every women should feel good about they way they look and I agree that it suits you perfectly. 🙂

  9. michele Says:

    ok..this is almost creepy…..

    when you were her age, YOUR favorite color was green. i kid you not. weird!!!

    hope you weren’t exposed to that virus!


Leave a Reply

