The Mind of Bluesleepy

As if it couldn’t get any better 12 May 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 9:32 pm

Yesterday’s surprised was an all-you-can-eat Mother’s Day breakfast buffet at a sushi restaurant!!

Yes, folks, you read that right. I went to a breakfast buffet buffet at a sushi restaurant. It really confuses your taste buds when you go from bacon and eggs to sushi and vegetable lo mein on the same plate. But it was good, regardless! They even had a whole slew of fresh fruit, so I ate a ton of pineapple and strawberries. Gracie had an immense amount of melon; I was surprised she ate so much. But we’re thinking she has some sort of hollow leg. There’s really no other explanation for how much she can put away.

Once we stuffed ourselves silly on sushi and bacon and eggs, we headed out to the game. There was some sort of wacky traffic going on trying to get north; it looked like some kind of accident. We turned off before we could get close enough to verify because we were going to be late! It’s a good thing we took a different way; we ended up going through these old, picturesque towns. I really wanted to stop and look around and take some photos, but we were running so late that it was out of the question.

At least I have something to do some beautiful weekend!

We did miss the first half-inning or so, but there was still no score at that point. We found our seats, and while we were in row JJ, which is probably 40 rows back or some such, the view we had was spectacular. That’s the benefit of going to Triple-A ball; you’ll never get vertigo and you’ll never have to sit in the nosebleed section.

Did I mention that I also love Triple-A because you’re seeing the talent that’s coming up to the majors? You also get to see some major league players that have been sent back down again. I had mentioned to Kurt that it would be a hoot if I saw my favorite player from the Mariners playing for the Tides, since I know he’d been sent down to the minors a couple of years ago.

We’re sitting in our seats, and Kurt says to me, “Who did you say you were hoping to see?” I said his name was Ben Davis, who’d been catcher for the Seattle Mariners several years ago (relief for Dan Wilson, for those of you who keep up with the Mariners), and Kurt replied, “Well, there’s a guy named Davis in the on-deck circle for the Tides right now.”

I pooh-poohed him, saying Davis is a really common name, there’s no way it would be “my” Ben Davis.

Sure enough, this Davis stepped up to the plate, and “#19 Catcher Ben Davis” comes across the scoreboard.

You could have knocked me over with a feather.

Actually, I yelled, “HOLY SH!T!!!” at high volume, which annoyed the 90-year-old woman sitting just in front of me. (Side note: this woman loves to see the PawSox play. She had gone to see them play earlier in the week with her retirement community, and then her kids got together and treated her to another game on Mother’s Day. I could not believe she was ninety! She looked seventy, maybe seventy-five. She could see just fine, hear just fine, even walk just fine, though a bit slowly. May I look so good when I get to 90, if I even make it that far!)

What are the chances that a) I would go to a PawSox game, that b) I would see the Norfolk Tides (my hometown team), that c) my favorite player from the Seattle Mariners would be playing for the Tides? How could my Mother’s Day possibly have gotten any better??? It just couldn’t.

Pitcher's conference

Ben is the man in the catcher’s mask, obviously, heading off the pitcher’s mound. You can also see why his nickname is “Big Ben” — he’s 6’4″, fairly tall for a baseball player. Isn’t he dreamy??? I think he’s so hot. I don’t know why; I just do!

(You can see my other photos from the game if you click HERE.)

I was completely confused by the Tides wearing black and orange jerseys. My whole life, they were the farm team for the NY Mets and wore red, white, and blue. I mean, they’re the TIDES. As in, water. So blue was their main color. Why would they be wearing black and orange?

After 37 years of being the farm team for the Mets, the Tides are now affiliated with the Baltimore Orioles. Hence the black and orange. I think it’s pretty neat, though. It means that if you live in Norfolk and you watch a lot of baseball on tv, you could possibly see your favorite team member sent down from Baltimore to the minors to recuperate, right there in your hometown! Before, you would have to watch the Orioles on tv, but see players from the Mets playing for the Tides.

Are you completely confused yet?

At any rate, I had a fantastic Mother’s Day! I really hope that all of you mothers had an equally good day because I know you all deserve it!

Speaking of being a mother, I have one more photo to share with you. Meet my baby!

New baby 20 weeks

Isn’t s/he cute?? The head is off to the right; that’s the large area you see there. You can even make out the eye sockets and the teeth! To the very far left is a little foot sticking out there, or maybe a knee. Today was my 20 week ultrasound, and everything looks good. We’ll talk about it more when I go for my doctor’s appointment on Friday, but I can’t see that anything could be wrong at this point.

 

11 Responses to “As if it couldn’t get any better”

  1. Blue Opal Says:

    Junior’s looking good! I assume you’re starting to feel movement now – from here on you’ll just be getting anxious for him to be born πŸ˜€

  2. art Says:

    looking good in the ultrasound!!! yippee!!

  3. sleepyjane Says:

    Nice to meet you Blue’s baby!! πŸ™‚ That is ADORABLE!!

    That is a great Mother’s day, sounds like you had tons of fun! πŸ™‚

  4. Tamara Says:

    You were talking about baseball, right? We have have it in South Africa, so that bit was confusing, but I really like your blog. Sushi for breakfast… sounds like a good book title πŸ™‚

  5. cardiogirl Says:

    Oh! Look at your sweet baby! I was all proud of myself that I identified the head on the right (but still can’t find the eye socket and teeth). But I am getting better at seeing a baby in an ultrasound instead of just lines and blobs, you know?

    Congrats! I’m so glad you had an awesome Mother’s Day!

  6. michele Says:

    Ok.. so I have to figure out a nickname for the new baby. Alicia called Jake “Peanut” when he was in the womb and I called Melissa’s baby “Pistachio” when she was in the womb. Naturally, a member of the nut family just won’t do for your fetus.

    I’ll hafta get back to ya!

    πŸ™‚

  7. terri t. Says:

    Great to see the picture of the baby to be. Hope you have a great week and I can’t wait to hear about all the new adventures you will have .

  8. Shippie Says:

    Hey! Jr. is looking wonderful!! What a great shot to share on mothers day! Congrats congrats! While I’m not into baseball much, I feel the same way with hockey. I love watching the minor league teams to watch and follow who is heading to the NHL. But yes, your boy does look….”dreamy” as you say!

  9. Elle Says:

    Hiya small human! Glad you had a glorious Mother’s Day! I could use some Baseball about now! (Of course, Little League is on hiatus this week…)

  10. Aimee Says:

    Baby looks healthy to my untrained eye too! Ya for a healthy baby!!!! Oh, your catcher does look dreamy even though I can’t see his face.

  11. Texas Peach Says:

    Hi Ya Baby!! I love looking at ultrasounds. Glad your Mother’s Day was so nice. I love going to the AAA games too. You are always so close to the action..and it never costs you an arm and a leg to have a good time like the major league games do. The players are much more willing to sign things for the kids too, which makes for a very happy 9 year old!


Leave a Reply

