The Mind of Bluesleepy

Amazingly yummy 14 May 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:25 pm

I really should just make this into a food blog. Or better yet, maybe I should start up another blog, just for my cooking. But then I am far too lazy to keep up two blogs.

So if you’re tired of me writing about my food, you should probably head to someone else’s page. Thanks!

I tend to read both Parade Magazine and the USA Today magazine every Sunday. One comes in the Saturday edition of the Newport Daily News, and the other comes in the Sunday Providence Journal. And yes, I get both newspapers on the weekend. The Newport Daily News does not print a Sunday edition, so I get no coupons. It’s worth it to me to get the Providence Journal just for the coupons, especially the way food prices are nowadays. We ran to the commissary yesterday just to pick up a few odds and ends, and I managed to save $5 on a $45 bill with coupons. Not bad, I don’t think.

Every so often, those two Sunday magazines will print recipes. I’ve gotten some good ideas from them, but none as good as this past weekend’s. Kurt had said he wanted me to make him Karyl’s Famous Steak, but he was going to throw garlic on it once it was finished. He had some sort of weird craving for both steak and garlic, which, if you know Kurt, is odd in itself. The man is not really a fan of red meat. We’ll go to Outback, and he’ll get the Queensland salad, while I’ll get the steak. The waitress almost always tries to give me the salad and him the steak, and she’s always surprised that it’s the other way around.

I need the red meat. I tend towards anemia. Oh! Which reminds me. I’ve been taking iron pills for the last month or so, and I’ve been a lot less fatigued than I was my first trimester. I don’t know if it’s because I’m taking the iron pills, or because you generally feel better in your second trimester anyhow. But I’m glad I have them.

When I saw the recipe in the Parade Magazine for “The Perfect Steak Dinner,” I had to try it. A marinade of red wine, soy sauce, smashed garlic, and fresh parsley? I can do that. Minty Roasted Potatoes as a side?? Definitely. The only thing I didn’t make was the Lemon Caesar Salad, mainly because we had mixed greens salad in the fridge already. So we just had that instead.

Oh, my goodness gracious. That, my friends, is seriously the perfect steak dinner. I only made one flank steak* because there are just three of us, and trust me — it was plenty. If you have a family of four, you could even get away with the one flank steak. Flank steak is an ideal choice; it’s cheaper than most other cuts of steak, like rib-eye or t-bone. I marinated the meat for almost four hours, and the flavor had really sunk into the meat. What made it so delicious was the outside crisped up beautifully with the flavors of the marinade. It was really spectacular. The meat turned out amazingly tender and juicy as well. Kurt grilled the steak for six minutes per side, which yielded a medium-rare steak.

*There is an error in the online version of the recipe. The printed version calls for two 1½-pound flank steaks, while the online version says two 1-pound steaks.

I had to tweak the recipe for the Minty Roasted Potatoes, of course. Who’s got time to roast new potatoes for two hours at 350º? Not me, especially not when it’s already 65º outside. Besides, I can’t even find new potatoes in the commissary. We get every other kind of potato, from Yukon Golds (my favorite) to Russets and Red Potatoes, but no new potatoes. Not unless you want to buy gourmet potatoes that are something like $3 a pound. A bag of red potatoes will run me something more like $1.50 for five pounds.

I went online to my favorite recipe site and found a recipe for Garlicky Roasted Potatoes that featured a much quicker and easier way to roasting potatoes. Cut potatoes into wedges, toss with olive oil, spread on a baking sheet that’s been coated with cooking spray, sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast at 475º for 30 minutes. I took them out halfway through to turn them to the other cut edge so that all the edges had the chance to crisp up. They turned out amazingly. And I learned the secret to good roasted potatoes — coat the baking sheet with cooking spray. Every other time I’ve made roasted potatoes, they’ve stuck to the pan and left their crispy edges behind. It also causes them to burn, and the smoke alarm sometimes goes off when you open the oven. Not a good idea.

Once the potatoes were roasted, I continued the recipe as specified for Minty Roasted Potatoes in the magazine. I did cut down on the amount of olive oil used (¾ cup seemed excessive anyhow, so I went with ½ cup), but it was still too much. Also it wasn’t very minty. There was a hint of the flavor, but it wasn’t overpowering. It didn’t taste like spearmint-gum-flavored potatoes, in other words. It was good! But maybe next time I will try cilantro. I am addicted to the stuff. Parsley would also be phenomenal. Ooo and fresh dill!! Mmmm yummy.

And in case your mouth hasn’t yet started to water, here’s a photo of how everything turned out:

Tuesday Night Dinner

Doesn’t that look yummy?? Kurt took the garlic from the marinade and roasted it along with the steak. It still had quite a bit of a bite to it, so I wasn’t a fan, but Kurt loved it. It totally met his requirements for a garlic steak, so my husband is quite the happy camper tonight.

And when Kurt wants more steak, you know it’s good!!

 

10 Responses to “Amazingly yummy”

  1. requiel Says:

    Wow, that totally looks like it just came off a tray at a ritzy eating place.
    Good job, can you send me the recipe or do I need to be less lazy and look it up myself?

    I made rolls from scratch today and they were awesome! Bread has always been a challenge for me. I’m getting better though.

  2. sleepyjane Says:

    You won’t hear me complain…(food….mmmm)

    It looks delish! 🙂 I love potatoes, and those look perfect!

  3. becca Says:

    yummy, I want some too. 🙂

  4. michele Says:

    that does look yummy! Hey! Yukons are *MY* fave. Copy cat!!!

    Now, how in the HELL do you get away with a $45 grocery bill???? I mean, is that for an entire week’s worth of food or just stuff in between grocery trips?

    Ironically, I wrote about food in my diary as well. (w/o pics unfortunately)

  5. Aimee Says:

    Omg that looks good. My mouth started watering when you said steak and garlic. Now I’m just a drooly mess!

  6. art Says:

    good gravy!! not only do that meat looks wheeeeeee woooooooo, but them taters!!! i want some!!! toasty!!!! mmmmm!!!

  7. Elle Says:

    I love love flank steak, my mom used to have it regularly when I was growing up. I sometimes marinate it and do fajitas with it — much better than the “skirt steak” fajita meat they sell. Had to laugh about the roasted potatoes — I, too have troubles with them, just getting too brown on the outside and setting the smoke alarm off. Baked whole, fine, not a problem; but cut up and roasted alongside a roast or by themselves, uh, no.

  8. Shippie Says:

    Looks nummy! Meat is rather rare for me…so I just pretending that’s the juice I’m looking at!

  9. Mint Says:

    Thank you for good information~~*

    Please comeback to visit my blog too : http://about-culinaryarts.blogspot.com/

    I’m sorry , If you think this is spam. but may i thank you again.

    Bye

  10. whatdayisit Says:

    OMG….my mouth is watering at the sight of that plate of food. You take such great pictures and the “presentation” is wonderful. Even thought of entering the Top Chef challenge? LOL. I will be checking out those recipes too.


Leave a Reply

