The Mind of Bluesleepy

That’s the way it is in Oklahoma 18 May 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:09 pm

Kurt’s watching Saturday Night Live on our DVR. I know I might be unAmerican for saying this, but I really don’t like SNL. There are parts that are funny; the news segment usually makes me giggle. But the rest of it…. no, thanks.

Lately it seems as though comedic writers feel that if something is funny the first time it’s said or done, it will get funnier if they do it over and over and over again. Family Guy, which I do find funny most of the time, is horribly guilty of this. The joke will be dragged out for several minutes, over and over again, when it was funny for the first twenty seconds or so. I’m left just feeling uncomfortable.

Then again, I don’t have the same humor that the typical American does, which is why I don’t watch sitcoms or really anything on the networks anymore. We’re such nerds. Most of what we watch comes off the various Discovery Channels or the History Channel or A&E or PBS. We’re still working our way through CARRIER, the documentary on PBS featuring the USS Nimitz during one of its extended deployments to the Middle East.

Which reminds me of something funny that happened one night as we watched CARRIER.

The show was talking about how laundry is done on the ship. The sailors put their dirty laundry into a bin in the berthing (what we civilians would call a “dormitory”), the berthing cleaners take the dirty laundry down to the laundry room, the laundry attendants wash it, and it eventually makes its way back to the owner’s rack (what we’d call a “bunk”), all wadded up into a ball. From there, the sailor is responsible for ironing it and putting it away.

I started giggling and asked Kurt how that is different from what happens here at the house. He puts his clothes into the laundry hamper, I take it to the laundry room, wash and dry it, I even fold it for him, and then I set his clean, folded clothes on his side of the bed for him to put away.

Then he tells me that now that he’s a Chief, the same thing happens, only now his uniforms are pressed as well as cleaned. By this time I’m practically rolling on the floor, gasping for breath since I’m laughing so hard. He sheepishly admits, “Yeah, I guess that it’s no different than here at the house, huh??”

I’m my husband’s own berthing cleaner and laundry attendant. Good to know. I wonder if that would look good on a resume.

Speaking of the Navy, we went to a cookout today. One of the fellow Chiefs in Kurt’s office is an avid fisherman, and he’d gone out a couple days ago and caught some striper. He wanted to share his bounty with us, so he invited over three other guys from the office and another couple he’s known for a while.

The guests who’d arrived early were hanging out with Mike, the guy who likes to fish, in the garage as he shucked corn for the shrimp boil. His son was out front playing on his trike, and as soon as Grace noticed him, she raced up to him and said, “Hi!!” He said hi back, and from that moment on, they were the best of friends.

Gotta love how easy it is to make friends when you’re three!

The food was simply amazing. Mike had marinated some of the striper in this really yummy marinade. I have no idea what was in it, but what he did was place a couple pats of butter on a piece of aluminum foil, add a couple of pieces of marinated striper, and fold the foil into packets. They went into the oven to bake, and they turned out deliciously.

There was also the shrimp boil — shrimp, corn on the cob, potatoes, and kielbasa all boiled together with crab boil seasoning. The men loved the shrimp, while all the women there noticed that it was just a tad overdone. I loved the corn on the cob; it had absorbed the most crab boil seasoning, and it had quite a zing to it.

But my favorite was the beer-battered striper. Somehow Mike’s wife found the exact timing for frying the striper. The batter was crispy, and the fish inside was flaky and still juicy — perfectly done. When I got home from the cookout, my hands still smelled a wee bit from the fried fish, and I was loathe to wash them since it reminded me how good the fish had been. And I’m not really a fan of fish! This was some amazing fish, though.

Ohhhh I just thought of something… if only I’d had a little of malt vinegar to go with the fried fish. Now that would have sent me over the edge of deliciousness. Yum!!

Grace had some shrimp, a small piece of kielbasa, a small potato, half of my beer-battered shrimp, a hush puppy, and some of the corn on the cob. She also ate some of the mac n’ cheese that Mike’s wife had made for the kids. Dessert was a popsicle. Everyone was so amazed that Grace would eat the “adult” food, but
that’s just the way she is. She loves kid food, but she’s just as happy eating what everyone else is eating. We went out to dinner last week at 99 (a New-England-based chain that’s like Applebee’s), and we got her a chicken caesar salad. She ate most of it too!

Speaking of Grace, I was really amazed when Mike called us to invite us to the cookout — and remembered about Grace’s peanut allergy. He wanted to know what she could and could not have, and when we got there, there were no nuts to be found anywhere. Mike’s wife was a little sad because she tends to make what she calls Snickers Salad — a mix of apples and crushed-up Snickers bars — for these kinds of get-togethers, but she realized Snickers have peanuts in them. It was so relaxing to know I didn’t have to police Grace at every moment to make sure she didn’t eat something with peanuts in it.

Grace should sleep quite well tonight. She and the little boy kept racing around and around and around the house, and while they raced each other, they kept laughing their heads off. I don’t know what is so funny about racing around the house, but there must be something entertaining in it. They kept on doing it over and over and over again.

An excellent time was had by all.  I was glad for that; I tend to have social anxiety, and going to someone’s house that I have never met before can sometimes cause a mild panic attack.  But for some reason I wasn’t nervous at all, and once I got there, there was really no reason to be nervous.  The hostess put me at ease, and we found plenty to talk about.  So that was really nice.

 

8 Responses to “That’s the way it is in Oklahoma”

  1. Blue Opal Says:

    How cool, especially that these folks were so conscientious about Grace’s allergies. Throw in another child close to Grace’s age and sounds like the makings for good friends 🙂

  2. Catie Says:

    I love Snickers and I love apples, but I do not want them together in a so-called salad. Ick.

  3. art Says:

    thats wonderful that get together like that, and you know these folks really care cause they remembered grace’s allergy! these folks sound like keepers!!!! good stuff!!

  4. sleepyjane Says:

    YAY for considerate hosts!! 🙂 It does sound like great fun, and the fish sounds great. No fan of it myself but if it’s done right…mmmm..yum!

    I agree with Catie – chocolate and apple does not go together. Eww!

  5. michele Says:

    well, at least ONE more person in this universe understands your humor. i also don’t like SNL. and, i think….. correct me if i’m wrong…. you and i have a very similar sense of humor.

    we must be related. you think?

  6. Aimee Says:

    again Blue, making me hungry! My child(ren) eats adult food too. You know why? We don’t fix them special meals because they are children. We fix them the same healthy food with veggies and meat that we eat. Weird how that works isn’t it? It’s what my Mom calls not spoiling. So good for you and good for me. And, good for our non-carb addicted children!

  7. terri t. Says:

    I haven’t like SNL for years…..so I can agree with you about the program. And I also hate it when people repeat the same words over and over…like Oprah does……Hey, I listened the first time – you don’t have to repeat it to me again.
    The get together sounds like it was perfect. Maybe they will give you their recipe for the fish batter and you can add another great recipe to your menu. I imagine Gracie likes all kinds of food because she has seen you two eat it and wants to be like you….good for all of you for teaching her to experiment.
    And..again…you have left me with my mouth watering for good food…..

  8. cardiogirl Says:

    I’m so surprised to hear you say you have social anxiety at the very end of this post. That was the very first think I thought when I started reading this. I thought there’s no way I could handle that get together at Mike’s house.

    I couldn’t handle the seafood but that would be the least of my worries. I really was thinking man I couldn’t handle small talk at any kind of gathering right now. And then you casually mention at the end that things like this can sometimes cause a panic attack, but it went well.

    Wow, I’m impressed. More so, I’m glad you had a good time and didn’t just suffer through it.


Leave a Reply

