The Mind of Bluesleepy

And when I’m brave enough 23 May 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 11:14 pm

Whew!! Busy day. But it was a good one, much better than yesterday.

Being a holiday weekend, Kurt only had to work a half-day today. Once he came home for lunch at his normal time of 11:30am, he was done for the day. Funnily enough, that meant that he worked longer today than he usually does on a Friday. Most Fridays he’s done by 10am. Occasionally he does have to go back to finish up a few more things, but Fridays are usually easy days.

Keep in mind, that’s only because he’s on shore duty. It’s his reward for spending most of his last 4½ years at sea gone from his family, and working at least twelve hours a day, sometimes eighteen. And Fridays, which are normally “early release days” for a majority of Navy commands, were never early days on his last ship. “Working hours are 0700 to 1600!” (7am to 4pm, to those of you who don’t read military time), was the constant refrain on his ship.

And this is totally not what I came here to write about. My brain just went that way, I suppose.

Anyhow. So Kurt was home at 11:30am. Since we had a bit of an early day, I convinced him to run errands with me. First stop was Linens N’ Things to buy Kurt a Ped Egg. Go ahead, laugh at me for buying an “As Seen On TV” product. I’d seen a review of it on MSNBC.com yesterday, and I just had to try it out. It’s basically a Microplane for your feet (for those of you gourmands who know what a Microplane is). The reviewer said it does work, and seeing how nasty Kurt’s feet are, I had to get one and see if it would work on his feet. The bottoms of his feet are almost always white with dry, flaky, peeling skin. He’s got callouses on his toes and his heels, and sometimes his heels get nasty cracks in them. They’re really nasty. So I bought him the Ped Egg, and let me tell you. It works! His feet are now more pink than white, which is an amazing thing for me. He wanted me to examine the shavings once he was done, but you know, that’s a bit too much for me. Ew.

Next stop — the mall. I was out of makeup, and while I could have stopped in at a boutique downtown, I didn’t feel like fighting the crowds on freakin’ Memorial Day weekend in downtown Newport. I may be crazy, but I’m not insane. So it was off to the mall in Providence.

A national crisis was averted. I am now in good supply of my foundation. What’s even better is apparently Bare Escentuals has slightly reformulated their Fairly Light, making it a wee bit less yellow and a tad bit more neutral. This is perfect for me!

I learned all this from a gay guy working at Sephora. Usually I steer away from the gay guys working there. I don’t know what it is; I think sometimes they can get a bit arrogant. This one was not arrogant at all, and he was so open in telling me what he himself uses and how he uses it, it really put me at ease. He also didn’t try to make me feel like a moron or that I use my makeup improperly. He’s now my new favorite Sephora employee.

While there, I noticed this girl, probably in her early 20s, but looking older because she is one of those people who tan obsessively. What irritated me when I first saw her was she was opening all these boxes containing tubes of Cargo makeup and looking at each tube she pulled out. Then she just threw the boxes back on the shelf, still opened, and in the wrong slots. That’s why Sephora has testers set out, just so that doesn’t happen. Sheesh.

Finally she made her selection and started looking around at the other cosmetics lines. She ended up looking at the Sephora-brand brushes when I glanced back at her and realized she was trying to slip those Cargo boxes into her overly large (and rather empty) handbag. Really, it was more like a small duffel bag. She noticed me looking at her, and nonchalantly pulled her hand back. I kept looking at her in the corner of my eye, and she kept trying to shoplift those boxes of Cargo. By this time I’d had enough.

I am sick and tired if people shoplifting! Prices are going up all over the place because of gas; do we have to make the situation worse by shoplifting??

I approached an employee and informed her of what I had seen. She thanked me profusely and made an announcement over the employees’ walkie-talkies. I don’t think anything was accomplished, however. I was so nervous that this girl would try to retaliate against me that I decided to leave the store. Kurt bought me my foundation while I beat feet. It wasn’t till I was halfway to Nordstrom’s that I realized the girl had left right after me — and most likely with her ill-gotten gains safe in her bag.

Gah.

The worst part was there were two mall security officers standing about twenty feet outside the store. I understand that employees are discouraged from confronting a suspect, but why didn’t they ask mall security to step in? Isn’t that what they’re there for?

At least I did what I thought was right.

The awesome thing about the whole day was I did not have to worry about what to make for dinner. I had a piece of meat simmering away in the crockpot, so all we had to do was come home and eat it.

Oh, my word, you have no idea how yummy this meal was. Basically you simmer a piece of pork with honey and fresh ginger for 6-8 hours, and once it’s done, you shred the meat and add hoisin sauce. Then you grab a tortilla, place inside it a few scoops of coleslaw mix (the dry stuff in a bag that is mainly shredded cabbage) you’ve flavored with rice vinegar, and add the shredded pork. Roll up and eat.

It is amazingly easy, and amazingly tasty. I have no idea where I got the recipe; I found it in the files I had transferred from Kurt’s laptop when I got my own. The next time Kurt’s command has a cook-off, I am definitely making this. It’s really very delicious.

Here’s the recipe, and if you make it, let me know how you liked it!

Ginger Pork

  • 2 1/2 pounds pork boneless loin roast
  • 3 tablespoons grated ginger root
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 1/4 cup hoisin sauce
  • 3 cups coleslaw mix
  • 2 tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 12 flour tortillas (8 or 10 inch)

Remove fat from pork. Mix ginger root and honey in slow cooker. Add pork, turn to coat with honey mixture.

Cover and cook on low setting 6 to 8 hours or until pork is tender.

Remove from slow cooker. Use 2 forks to shred pork, then return to slow cooker and stir in hoisin sauce.

Toss coleslaw mix and vinegar until well mixed. Spread 1/3 cup pork mixture down center of each tortilla. Top with 1/4 cup coleslaw mixture (or to taste) and roll up tightly.

 

8 Responses to “And when I’m brave enough”

  1. twisterjester Says:

    Ewww! You lost me at the coleslaw mix!

  2. art Says:

    woo!!! i had pork chops tonight, way before i read this!! i cooked my pork chops in worcestershire sauce and the chops juices with just a smigden of water, then, just before they was done, i drained the sauce inna saucepan, and grabbed a few pinches of flour, and made some tasty gravy!!!

  3. terri t. Says:

    I think you did the right thing in alerting the Sephora people about this woman. It is so wrong for people to do that and even worse; they want to shoplift the expensive stuff too. I hope the shop personnel got a good look at her. I know they have to be careful on accusing anyone but my gosh; that is so wrong. I see open packages of cookies and candy at the grocery store and you know the people are eating it as they shop….another huge wrong thing to do. Your dinner sounded great.

  4. Shippie Says:

    Sounds a lot like Moo Shu Pork! YUMMY!! And kudos to you for alerting the staff about the shoplifter; too many people just never ‘get involved’. As for the As seen on tv products…I’m SO glad to see the Ped Egg is a hit! I’ve seen it and contemplated buying it as I too have the nasty rough feets! No need to feel embarrassed by that purchase. I’ve had great success with quite a few of the As Seen on TV products!!

  5. chaosdaily Says:

    don’t worry, they have her on video. the next time she walks in the store, they will have her~!

  6. cardiogirl Says:

    I think I have to have the Ped Egg. I hadn’t seen or heard of that, but I might just hop down to Linens ‘n Things to get one. I seem to have developed a couple of callouses (I know, TMI) and this looks like the fix.

    I did watch the infomercial and didn’t realize it collects “the shavings” for easy disposal. Auugghhh! (holds head in hands and screams some more).

    But desperate times call for desperate measures.

  7. Michele Says:

    you know, even when we lived with mom and weren’t well off, it never occurred to me to steal.

    unless you count the time where I “stole” a L’Oreal tube of lipstick from Marty that I found underneath her bed! heh heh

  8. Tiddlywinks Says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Tiddlywinks


Leave a Reply

