The Mind of Bluesleepy

As the crow flies 28 May 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 11:12 pm

We’re watching the last installment of CARRIER on our DVR at the moment.  It brings back a lot of memories for both of us.  For Kurt, it’s the hardship of being away from his family and the boredom of being stuck aboard a 453-foot with no way of going ashore for weeks at a time.  For me, it’s the hardship of having him gone and being responsible for everything that happens here at home.

As we’re watching the tv, we both notice a really odd noise.  Kurt goes into the garage, gets his high-powered flashlight that I gave him for Christmas, and goes out back to investigate.  I’m left here in the living room ,thanking my lucky stars that he’s home to do this for me.

Thank God for shore duty.

This morning, I was sitting here on the couch, doing my morning catch-up of blogs, when I noticed Gracie dancing around the living room in her jammies and my high heels.  She was doing amazingly well with the leaps and bounds in three-inch heels, so I grabbed my Nikon to immortalize the event.

I put the camera to my eye and tried to zoom out a bit (my main lens zooms from 18mm to 55mm, which is like zooming from far to near with a normal point & shoot) because the lens was set at the nearest setting.  The lens would not move.  See, to zoom on a big lens, you grab the zoom ring and twist it.  But no matter how hard I tried to twist it, and I was attempting to do so as gently but firmly as I could, the lens would not budge.

I turned off the camera, I removed the lens from the camera, I put the lens back on.  I did all the things I could think of to reset the camera and the lens.  Nothin’ doin’.  I finally looked down the barrel of the lens and noticed that the shutter was stuck as well!

I have no idea what happened to my lens.  I took some photos at our barbecue on Sunday, and then I captured Gracie helping Kurt wash the minivan on Monday.  I put the camera into its bag and took it along to Monday night’s dinner at our friends’ home, but I never had the occasion to use it.  Today was my first opportunity… so how did my lens break?

Fortunately, the lens I need isn’t expensive in terms of lenses, and I could also find the version with vibration reduction (or image stabilization, which is a better term for it) for not much more.  And!  There’s a camera store right there on Bellevue Avenue, the same street that features all of those gorgeous Gilded Age mansions.

Of course, what I should do is simply send the lens back to Nikon for them to fix.  But then I would be without the use of my camera for as long as it takes them to fix it.  It should still be under warranty, since Nikon guarantees its lenses for five years.  I’m still going to do it, though I bought myself a replacement lens already.  It wouldn’t hurt to get it fixed in case another lens goes belly-up on me.

We also had an appointment with the vet today.  Koolit’s been drinking a lot of water, and he tends to need to empty his bladder rather frequently as a result.  That in itself isn’t so bad, but sometimes if we leave him alone for more than three or four hours at a time, he is prone to wetting the carpet.  For quite some time, he would wet the towel we threw on the floor in our bathroom for just that purpose.  We also had to put a water bowl in the bathroom for Koolit to have free use of because otherwise he would wake us up several times a night just to get to the kitchen for a drink.

We needed answers, but unfortunately we won’t have them right away.  The vet drew blood, but he’s warned us it could be diabetes or it could be kidney failure.  If Koolit is thirsty and therefore is drinking more water, leading to peeing more, that would be diabetes.  But if he’s peeing more and therefore becoming dehydrated, leading to drinking more, that would be kidney failure.

Honestly, I don’t know which I would prefer.  One of my good friends over at Flickr said her dog had diabetes the last year and a half of her life, and that involved twice-daily insulin shots and weekly blood tests.  Even with the deep discount we receive using the military vet, I’m not sure we can afford that.  Either way, it seems like we’re between a rock and a hard place.

I just wish I could wave my magic wand and make Koolit all better without having any kind of a disease.  I’ve never really liked dogs, until we got Koolit.  And he’s been such a good companion to me while Kurt’s been deployed.  I thought he’d run away when we first moved here, and I was devastated.  I am having a hard time imagining what’s in store for us.  I just didn’t expect him to get sick so soon.  He’s only twelve, which, for a little dog, isn’t that old.

I’ve got my fingers crossed for the poor little guy.

 

11 Responses to “As the crow flies”

  1. twisterjester Says:

    Aww, poor Koolit. It could potentially be stress related, I suppose. You DID pack up and move across the planet with him, no small thing for an older dog.

  2. sleepyjane Says:

    Awwww. I hate when doggies get sick (as well you know) so I’m sending you all my good vibes, and Koolit aswell. Please give him kisses and hugs for me!?

    Also sorry about your lens but at least it was easily replaceable. Guess what I got? A polaroid camera, that spits out the photo as soon as you take it. It’s so awesome. lol Funny how technology that old can be so thrilling now.

  3. purple chai Says:

    Best wishes to Koolit to feel better (and you too).

  4. michele Says:

    I’m sorry Koolit is not doing so well right now. I hope things improve for him. ~hugs~

  5. cardiogirl Says:

    It’s always so difficult when a pet — who truly becomes part of the family right away — becomes ill. Before I had a cat I hadn’t really experienced that. But oh it was so hard when she was gone.

    I hope this is resolved as smoothly as possible for you. Good luck.

  6. Aimee Says:

    My childhood dog had kidney failure. She literally peed all the time. It wasn’t as if we could let her out and she’d be fine…she’d go out, come inside and pee a bit on the floor as soon as she walked in the door. Anyway, I hope the dog is just hot and drinking a lot. It’s always tough to have a sick dog, as they are members of the family too!
    XOXO

  7. terri t. Says:

    I hope your dog is ok. It is always so difficult to deal with a sick pet….because you love them and don’t want them to suffer but at some point, their needs become too much…especially when you have a small child and a baby on the way.
    So what was the odd noise outside that Kurt went to investigate?

  8. Shippie Says:

    Awwww poor Koolit!! My thoughts are with you guys. Hopefully the tests will come back and show something less serious!

  9. Kym Says:

    Sorry to hear about Koolit. I hope everything turns out okay.

    Yeah–what was that odd noise outside?

  10. Elle Says:

    Poor puppy! Hope it is just the heat.

    Yeah, what was the noise?

  11. yankeechick Says:

    Good luck with Koolit. One of our Cockers had Cushings Disease and the symptoms sound similar. Hopefully that is it rather than the other choices. It can be treated with meds….a pill a day is so much better than what the other things would involve. keeping my fingers crossed!


Leave a Reply

