The Mind of Bluesleepy

Spam-a-licious 5 June 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 9:54 pm

Ugh.  Not a good day over here, folks.  I don’t particularly want to get into it all over again, but suffice it to say it wasn’t good.  The weather wasn’t helping either.  Usually I enjoy a nice, gloomy day to break up the monotony of nothing but sunshine, but I just wasn’t feeling it today.

I tried taking a nap, but someone who shall remain nameless, that blonde angel of mine, felt that being quiet while watching a movie was beyond her capabilities.  This is the first time since I’ve been taking my iron pills that I’ve been so grouchy and so fatigued.  And yes, I have been taking my pills.  So I know that’s not it.

The original plan for dinner was getting Kurt to grill some burgers (another “preparing food” meal, since the burgers are already frozen and all he has to do is throw them on the hot grill), but with the weather being so cold and rainy, I figured there would be a better time to grill.

I put in an order for Pizza Hut online, and it said our pizza would arrive at 5:15.  That was perfect since Kurt had to leave for school at 5:45pm.  He’s taking a geology class at the community college.  The pizza still wasn’t at our house by about 5:20, so Kurt called them to see what was up.  We’re really not that impatient, but the Pizza Hut is literally a mile away, and it should not have taken forty minutes to bake and deliver a pizza on a late Thursday afternoon.  Had Kurt not had class tonight, we wouldn’t have cared.

When Kurt called, he was told that the driver had left our pizza behind.  So it was a good thing we called!  The clerk assured us they would have a driver run out immediately with the pizza.  Fifteen minutes passed, and we still had no pizza.  So Kurt called again, and while he was on the phone the delivery lady showed up.

By this time it’s 5:35pm, and Kurt had to leave in ten minutes.  We had ordered the pizza an hour before!  We sit down to eat it, and it was cold.

Cold pizza!!

Now I’m not against cold pizza, but only as leftovers.  I do not want pizza delivered to me cold!

Kurt called the restaurant and asked for the manager, and after explaining the situation, she said we now have a credit in the amount of our bill.

Hmph.

At least we got some satisfaction, but damn.  I should have just had Kurt stand out in the cold and the rain and grilled the damn burgers.  So much for me trying to be nice to him.

His class was only two hours tonight, which meant he was able to come home and put Grace to bed for me.  Hurray!  AND!  He brought me home flowers.  So that cheered me up a bit.  I’m still exhausted, however.

Oh!!  Milestone in the Bluesleepy household!  Grace, as you know, has been free of diapers since the end of January.  But every time we put her to bed in big-girl undies, she would wet the bed.  I figured she was simply too young to have a large enough bladder to hold it all night, so we kept her in diapers overnight.  A few weeks ago, it was my turn to put Gracie to bed, and just for grins and chuckles I can-x’ed the diaper.

All night long she stayed dry!  And she even managed to get up when she woke up in the morning and visit the bathroom on her own before going back to bed.

That’s Milestone #1.

Milestone #2 occurred last night.  I woke up at 4am to hear rustling coming over the baby monitor we still have in her room.  I laid there, listening to the rustling, wondering what the heck she was doing in there.  Then I heard her door creak open.  Little feet went pitter-pattering down the hall, where she flipped on the lightswitch (we have these extenders so she can reach them) and used the bathroom.  But once she flushed, she went racing back to bed as quickly as she could.  I don’t know if she was scared or what.  It was still dark out, so for her to go walking down the hall in the dark was a pretty big accomplishment in my eyes.  Every other time she’s gotten up to go to the bathroom, it’s been at least somewhat light out.

I’d put out a nightlight if I could, but this house was built with no outlets in the hallway.  How odd is that?  We do have a nightlight in her bathroom, so that helps.

My baby — she’s a-growin’ up!

 

9 Responses to “Spam-a-licious”

  1. Shippie Says:

    Aaawwwww! How great! I got just see her, barefooted and sleepy eyed, pitter pattering down the hall into the bathroom and racing back to the safety of her bed covers! Sorry you had a bad day hon.

  2. art Says:

    (((((((((HUGS)))))))) tomorrow will be better!!! congrats to big girl gracie!!!! yay!!

  3. beanie Says:

    wow that IS a milestone!! Great!

  4. Poolie Says:

    Wow! She is really a big girl now! Bigger than I would have been at that age!

  5. sleepyjane Says:

    Go Grace!! 🙂 I remember when I was younger and I just HAD to go to the bathroom I always ran back to room aswell because I was a afraid.
    And I hate it when food is cold. Anytime. Ewww!! Glad you guys got a credit though. That’s at least something!

  6. Terri Says:

    Ooo, Pizza Hut burns me up! That happened to us last time. They claimed we’d have a free pizza on our account, but when we called to use it, it wasn’t there and they refused to make any kind of retribution. They are on my poo poo list!

    Yay for Gracie! What a big girl! Xander is going potty three to four times a day at least. No number two’s yet though. Wish us luck that he’ll do as well as Grace. 🙂

    I hope Friday will be better for you, sweetie. *HUGS* Kurt gets major points for bringing flowers! I’m impressed.

  7. michele Says:

    THAT IS TOTALLY COOL!!!! Yay for Gracie (and for you, too!)
    So nice that Kurt brought you flowers. What a great guy!!

  8. andrea Says:

    That’s great about Grace!

    I hope today is a better one for you.

  9. yankeechick Says:

    3 Cheers for Gracie!!! What a little doll! I still run back to my bed in the dark. I did as a kid and ever since I read that Stephen King is still ‘concerned’ with what might be lurking under the bed, I figure HE of all people knows what’s best! LOL


Leave a Reply

