The Mind of Bluesleepy

There is just one word for today… 7 June 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 11:40 pm

What’s the word of the day today, my friends? Can you say, “HOT”????

It’s days like this that make me miss our old home in Washington state. Western Washington rarely gets very hot. Anything over 80º is very warm, and those days are rare. As a result, none of the homes in my neighborhood had air conditioning. What was the point? You’d use it maybe two weeks out of the year, and you wouldn’t get your money’s worth in having it. As soon as the sun dropped below the horizon every night, the temperature would plummet back into the 50s, and the houses would cool off so much that when you woke up in the morning, it was like you had air conditioning.

Today here in Newport, it was supposed to be 78º. Accuweather.com is reporting that it got up with 80º with a heat index of 84º. But instead of staying down here in the cool weather with ocean breezes to cool off the island, we got the bright idea to head up to Boston, where the high temperature was forecasted to be in the 90s. Not only that, it was decided to visit the Stone Zoo.

Let me tell you, if you didn’t already know. If it’s going to be stinkin’ hot with a ton of humidity, let me discourage you from doing anything outside in the heat and humidity. That would include the zoo, if you weren’t already aware.

And considering that I am roughly six months pregnant, that was doubly dumb on my part.

But you see, I wanted to go see my good friend Angela, and she had a hankering to go to the zoo. I am not one to give up the opportunity to be with Angela, seeing as I just spent the better part of five years away from her. Any time she’s free, I’m going to be wherever she asks me to be. And today that happened to be the zoo.

Usually I’m a huge fan of the zoo. I love seeing all the different kinds of animals, and no two zoos have the same animals. The Stone Zoo, which we visited today, has something called a zebu, which is a domesticated livestock animal with a hump like a camel. I had never even heard of a zebu before today.

Today was just too hot, though. Even the animals were miserable in the heat!! The reindeer were shoved up against their fence in the wee bit of shade their cage afforded. The cheetah wasn’t moving at all on his cool rock in the shade. The great hornbill had an air-conditioned enclosure, evidenced by the condensation collected on the enclosure’s windows. The only animals that seemed to be enjoying themselves were the flamingos. They frolicked happily in their pond, until one started moving in to another’s territory, setting off a bit of a spat between the two of them.

Some of the animals had some pretty creative ways of keeping cool. In the barnyard, some of the goats were sitting quite happily in tubs of water. But the cake goes to the most creative goat of all:

This goat has a great idea!

When I saw this goat straddling the automatic livestock waterer, I couldn’t stop laughing.  I guess that metal holding tank is staying cooler than anything else, and the evaporating water is keeping the poor goat cool.  By the time we left the barnyard, this goat had switched to another waterer; I guess the original waterer wasn’t cool enough anymore.

Since I had no automatic livestock waterer to help me keep cool, my feet ended up swelled to the point where my sandal straps left marks on my flesh. Our tour of the zoo was rather cursory before we gave up after an hour and a half.  By this time, I was dripping sweat, and Grace’s hair was soaking wet.

Where do you head when it’s this hot outside?  To the mall, of course!  And everyone else had the exact same idea we did too.  Finding a parking spot was elusive at first, but once we got into the mall, it was all worth it.

Ahhhhh, air conditioning!

We also decided to get an ice cream since there is nothing better than a cold, cold treat on such a hot day!  Of course, I spent more money than I probably should have, but everyone has to engage in retail therapy once in a while.  I ended up getting two new dresses at Motherhood Maternity, as I seem to be more comfortable in dresses during this pregnancy than I was with Grace.  Angela picked out one and feels it looks stunning on me (it’s pink and black), while I picked out the other and Kurt favors that one.  I love them both, so I bought them both.  And it’s all about comfort when you’re pregnant.

Tomorrow is supposed to be hotter today than it was today, but we’ll be home and able to keep our windows wide open to catch the breeze.  I just wish our back patio screen door wasn’t on order; it’s hard getting a cross breeze when you can’t open the back door!

I still can’t believe yesterday was in the low 60s, and then today in Boston it hits the mid 90s!  What a difference a day makes!

 

11 Responses to “There is just one word for today…”

  1. Miss Hiss Says:

    Zebu actually look an awful lot like our gorgeous Brahman cattle at Rancho Hiss — humps, dewlaps and enormous droopy ears — which is because they (Brahman) are actually a breed of Zebu! And because Zebu “sweat” better than European cattle breeds, they probably found it a bit easier in the zoo today than the poor old reindeer. (And gosh, aren’t goats amazing characters? They always do SOMETHING to crack me up. And that photo of yours is priceless.) Love, R xxx

  2. Poolie Says:

    The goat is too funny for words!

  3. cardiogirl Says:

    Oh sister, how I hear you on the being pregnant in 90 degree heat and hangin’ at the zoo.

    Like you, we had the bright idea three years ago to go to the zoo as a last “family of four” outing. It was either July 3 or 4 (Emily was born July 5) and the weather was in the 90s.

    Part of me hoped all that walking was going to induce labor but it didn’t. It just made me sweat and ache. But the kids had fun.

  4. Dana Says:

    I feel you about the heat. It was 97 here today with about 90% humidity. I’m “freakin’ rain already”….ah, South Georgia summers 🙂

    I love the picture of the goat. Hilarious!

  5. art Says:

    6 months ALREADY? dang!! dont feel bad, its hotter than hell here in tombstone!!! great zoo pics, thanks!!

  6. Texas Peach Says:

    That goat had the right idea. It’s been in the 90s with heat indexes in the 100s here in Austin for the past couple of weeks. I dread seeing what the summer brings. This week we have the humidity moving in too so it is gonna be HOT. I’ve had our air on for the past two or three weeks now. I hate the heat!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Shippie Says:

    I have spent all day today and yesterday looking for a waterer like that! I would straddle it too!

  8. sleepyjane Says:

    Pink and black…oooh! My fav colours! 🙂 That is so funny about the goat!! 🙂

  9. michele Says:

    Yeah I agree with another of your commentors… SIX MONTHS ALREADY? Holy craptastic, Batman! 🙂

    I’m glad that despite the heat you had a good time with Angela at the zoo.

  10. Elle Says:

    HOT! Got that here, too! It rained an hour ago (it’s 6:30 AM) and the sidewalks are almost dry already. Here I thought I was getting up to a mercifully rainy day. Oh well.

  11. Aimee Says:

    Too hot here too. A child on B’s baseball team got heat stroke on Friday. Sigh!


Leave a Reply

