The Mind of Bluesleepy

Heat is bad for one’s waistline 10 June 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 6:46 pm

Today has been quite a bit better than yesterday was.  For one thing, it wasn’t nearly as hot.  Our weather station still ended up reading 100º, while yesterday hit 102.3º, but I think today’s high was because the sensor is in the sun.  It certainly does not feel that hot out there.

It was hot enough yesterday that a lot of districts in our area either let out early or closed down entirely.  This isn’t an area where air conditioning is considered a necessity.

I opened the blinds in the living room as soon as the sun was high enough because I noticed they were being rattled by the breeze.  And sure enough, there was a breeze coming in through the windows!!  It’s been relatively breezy all day, and I just know the humidity has been much lower today than it was yesterday.  I am hugely grateful for that because it’s made the weather so much more bearable.

The problem with hot weather is it’s bad for my waistline.  I never want to cook, so we end up either eating or or bringing food home.  I have to say I haven’t done that badly today.  We had Mexican for lunch, where I got a roasted veggie quesadilla, and I didn’t even use most of my sour cream.  I managed to find just the right amount of green habañero sauce to add to the salsa to make it perfectly spicy, so I used the quesadilla as an instrument to get the salsa into my mouth.

It must have been a quesadilla kind of day.  Grace always gets quesadillas when we go to a Mexican restaurant, and the chicken & cheese version at this restaurant is only $2.50.  Kurt, for some reason, opted for the Popeye Quesadilla, which included chicken and spinach in a spinach tortilla.  It was really good, but I loved mine.  I know it had broccoli and eggplant as some of the roasted veggies, and it was darn good.

I had planned on going to the commissary to get more of that Carolina BBQ in the tub I made a couple weeks ago, but then I realized Kurt had school tonight, and we still had to go to BJ’s to get salad.  I don’t know what it is, but we have eaten a salad every single day for a couple of months now.  We really ought to buy stock in salad.  Generally we get the 1lb containers at BJ’s for $4.49, and that lasts us a week to a week and a half.  But today they didn’t have any of those containers!!!  All they had were enormous bags of salad spinach.  I cannot even imagine anyone buying that much spinach, unless they were buying for a restaurant.

We ended up going to Shaw’s and getting sandwiches from the deli for dinner.  Mine was roast beef and boursin cheese, which was really divine.  I have to say, though, ciabatta bread is over-rated.  It’s only good when it’s toasted and hot.  If it’s cold and part of a deli sandwich, you have to tear into it with your teeth.  Kurt got a corned beef wrap, and we had planned on sharing our sandwiches with each other.  I took one bite of his corned beef wrap, and I thought I was going to be sick.  I usually like corned beef!!  Maybe the baby has very little appreciation for corned beef; I don’t know.  All I know is it didn’t sit well with me tonight.

I have two choices for a snack later tonight.  I can have strawberries, which are absolutely delicious.  I dip them in a bit of Splenda so they’re nice and sweet as I eat them.  Or I can make myself a tomato-and-mozzarella salad drizzled with balsamic vinegar and olive oil.  Or if I’m really hungry, I can have both!

I don’t eat much in the heat anyhow.  I think my digestive system just wants to shut down when it’s too hot.  Nothing tastes as good as it does when it’s cooler, and the cold stuff seems to warm up too quickly.  It never stays cold for long.  Most of the time I have to remind myself to eat.  But at least this time Kurt’s home for the whole summer, so he can make sure I’m eating enough.  The last time I was pregnant, he was sent to school in Illinois from May to August, and I was due in September.  It was so hard to remember to eat!

I had my hair cut and colored again.  I figured now would be the best time, as we’re going to a family reunion of sorts for Kurt’s family on Long Island in a couple of weeks.  That way, the red has a bit of time to fade so it’s not quite as obnoxious.  The stylist was surprised with how quickly it had faded, but red doesn’t stay around for long.  Plus I’m pregnant.  Sometimes color doesn’t take well because of all the hormones raging through one’s system.+

Tomorrow is supposed to start cooling down.  I sure hope so!!!  This lack of air conditioning in 90º+ degree heat is for the birds!!

 

7 Responses to “Heat is bad for one’s waistline”

  1. art Says:

    i rolled 150 cheese enchiladas today!! woo!! they will be gone by thursday!

  2. Blue Opal Says:

    I keep thinking I am going to dye my hair again – and I invariably chicken out. I go blond normally when I dye at all. I tried red once and it was just TOO. DARK. But it looks gorgeous on you!!

  3. sleepyjane Says:

    You guys really do eat out a lot! LOL 🙂 And I am glad that it’s cooled down. Here it’s getting colder by the day! brrrrr.

  4. michele Says:

    i totally agree with you about ciabatta bread. only good toasted… otherwise, it’s too tough & chewy.

  5. terri t. Says:

    Hope you post a picture of your newly dyed red hair for us.

  6. evalys Says:

    Hello there, Nicole’s been plugging your blog for ages, so I thought I’d give it a shot. I’m supposed to be studying, but everyone knows how that always goes. Lol. Anyway, just wanted to say red’s a kickass colour! I wish I had the guts to dye mine red.

  7. shipjumper Says:

    Yum on Mexican food. I use the food as a vehicle for ingesting habanero and various salsas too! If I could I would just drink the stuff. As for the heat and eating….I’m so with you. Today was another hot one and all I ate today was a few crackers with cheese, couple cups of coffee, and oh I guess I did have a beer tonight with some friends that stopped by. I sooooooo don’t feel like eating when it’s hot!


Leave a Reply

