The Mind of Bluesleepy

Completely slipped my mind 14 June 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 11:56 pm

I forgot to mention why I named yesterday’s post “Mmmm scallops”!! I had another doctor’s appointment yesterday, and then Kurt decided to pop up to Fall River, Massachusetts, to look at the Sears scratch n’ dent center. I’ve been wanting a front-loader washer and dryer for such a long time, but I can’t justify the expense since the set I bought in 2001 with my graduation from college money is working fine still. A front-loading washer costs more than what I spent for the set of washer and dryer back in 2001!!

Then we decided to try to find a gas station, where we ended up scoring pretty big. The grocery store Stop & Shop out here has gas stations at some of their stores, including the one closest to our house. We had gone in for just a few items and used the self-checkout when I noticed the coupons left at the register. You know, the ones that print out after your receipt?? One was for 10¢ off per gallon of gas at a Stop & Shop gas station. That, my friends, is like finding the Golden Ticket in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

“I’ve got a golden ticket… I’ve got a golden chance to make my day…”

The GPS told us where the nearest Stop & Shop gas station to Fall River was, so we went through all these little back roads and ended up in Somerset, Massachusetts, where the price for a gallon of gas with a club card was $3.96. Add the extra 10¢ off, and it was just $3.86!

Oh, listen to me. Just $3.86. Gah.

Anyhow, Kurt was still in uniform because we never went home so he could change , and as we were gassing up, the guy at the pump next to us came over to Kurt, shook his hand, thanked him for his service to our country, and gave us another 10¢ off coupon. Excellent! We tried to give it back since we already had one, but this gent was having none of it. He figured it was the least he could do to support the troops.

I told Kurt I’m not going anywhere with him if he’s not in uniform. The day he went to court, he stopped off at an A&W/KFC to get lunch, and the lady gave him extra fries and a biscuit because he was in uniform. Score!!

Since we were all the way the hell out in Massachusetts and it was getting late, we went to a restaurant that we plan to take Kurt’s parents to once they arrive on Monday. It seems the a good idea to check these things out. That is where I got me some scallops — seared scallops with mushroom ravioli in beurre blanc! And let me tell you, it was divine. We are definitely going back with my in-laws on Tuesday!

You can see a photo of my scallop dinner in my Flickr banner to the right.

Today started the next run of 7 Days over at Flickr, where one is tasked to take a self-portrait every day for seven days. There are really no rules; you simply must be the one responsible for hitting the shutter or setting the self-timer. There are theme days, but you aren’t penalized if you forget about them.

I had the start of 7 Days written down on my envelope that I use to keep notes on, but as is the way in this house, papers ended up covering my envelope. I totally forgot it was time for 7 Days till I checked my Flickr contacts and realized my cousin had posted a photo to the pool!!! Ahhhh!!!

Kurt gave me the idea of taking a photo of how I see my pregnant belly, but that didn’t work all that well. So instead I took this one:

Day 1

Twenty-five weeks down, fifteen more to go! May the next fifteen be as (relatively) trouble-free as the first twenty-five.

PS — Update on my friend. She was admitted to the hospital after going for a doctor’s appointment yesterday, but last night she quit breathing. They got her breathing again, but they still couldn’t figure out what was going on with her. Her husband called us at 6:45am this morning to ask us if we could watch D again, so he arrived not long after that. Fortunately Kurt took over child-wrangling duties for me so I could sleep in. In fact, I barely saw D because after getting up, having breakfast, and checking my email, I jumped in the shower. It was then that his dad came to pick him up. His sister flew up to take care of D while my friend was in the hospital, so I won’t have to wrangle two toddlers again. Not that I really minded, since she is in such distress, but it takes its toll on me.

They’re thinking that a medication she was given before her scheduled doctor’s appointment on Thursday really messed her up. The latest theory is a perforated ulcer. I haven’t heard anything new since 10:30 this morning, but I’ll keep you posted. Please keep her in your thoughts and prayers for a quick and full recovery. I’ve been pretty darn scared we’d lose her the last couple of days.

 

14 Responses to “Completely slipped my mind”

  1. beanie Says:

    wow, how scary…..

  2. twisterjester Says:

    OMG how frightening! I hope they find out what’s causing your friend’s distress and get her stablized soon. 😦

    The belly pic looks wonderful – and how DARE you have an easy pregnancy? Don’t you know you’re supposed to be miserable like the rest of us??? :-p

  3. Dana Says:

    I’m so envious that you live that close to Massachusetts. I love Fall River.

    The belly pic is great! 🙂 yeah, for relatively easy.

    I’m so sorry about your friend…that has to be SO very scary for her and her family. She’s in my thoughts.

  4. art Says:

    im sorry about your friend. i hope she makes it thru ok. im happy that there are americans out there that really do support the troops!! nice belly pic!!! it seems to me that you are carrying low? thats a boy in there!!! woo!!

  5. Kate Says:

    Honey, your belly is adorable and I love the black, white + pink print you’re wearing. I hope your friend is better soon.

  6. Poolie Says:

    Wishing your friend well. Great belly pic!

  7. Shear Says:

    Good wishes to your friend. Your belly photo is so sweet! I can’t wait to meet the baby!

  8. becca Says:

    very neat little belly, looks rather low down too. Hope your friend gets better very soon. x

  9. That’s so scary about your friend. I do hope she recovers fully and soon! I have to say your preggers belly is TOO CUTE! 25 weeks! Do you know what you’re having? You probably posted it, but I missed it! Let me know. I hope your pregnancy is easy too…mine was awful! Good luck deary! 🙂

  10. sleepyjane Says:

    Awww- your belly looks gorgeous Blue! I LOVE the print of that blouse.

    Your friend id in my toughts!

  11. Kym Says:

    Congrats on the first 25 weeks of your pregnancy!

    Jack has USMC magnets all over his vehicle. If we’re stopped at traffic lights or stop signs or whatever we may be at, people are always stopping and thanking Jack for his service to our country. One guy was stopped behind us at a traffic light and approached our car. We thought we had a tail light out or something. Anyway, he just wanted to thank Jack for his service. How cool is that? I can think of safer ways of doing so but it was cool nonetheless. That was very sweet of that gentleman to give Kurt that extra coupon. Doesn’t that make you so proud to be a Navy wife? Even though I wasn’t Jack’s wife when he was in the Marines, I’m very proud to be a Marine’s wife.

    I hope your friend feels better. We were at the ER this morning ourselves and actually only spent about 40 minutes there. We were in and out in no time.

    Happy Father’s Day to Kurt, too.

  12. andrea Says:

    That is a very sweet picture of your belly.

    I hope your friend gets well soon- what a scary situation.

  13. michele Says:

    That is a very pretty dress on you! I like the colors. Score on the coupon, too.

    Yeah.. sad when we get excited at $3.86 for gas. “Gah” is right!

  14. shipjumper Says:

    Dang. Constant vomiting, and now she quits breathing?? Tell us what the medication was if they determine that to be the cause…I want to be sure to stay away from it!


Leave a Reply

