The Mind of Bluesleepy

Ugh 20 June 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 11:08 pm

Day 7

Not to keep posting photos of my 7 Days run, but this photo pretty much sums up what is going on in my life right now.  Just… ugh.

For one thing, we’d just filled up the gas tank at $4.05.  That’s the best price on the island, fortunately, and it hadn’t even been raised because it’s Friday.  Stop & Shop was running $4.14 with their club card (5¢ off the regular price), and Shell was $4.11.  So $4.05 was pretty good.  That was still $60 worth of gas, and we weren’t even on empty.

Yes, yes, Europe has higher prices, try paying $11 a gallon like they do in Europe, yadda yadda, etc and so on.  I get that.  I totally understand that.  However, my impression of Europe is you can actually get around without a car, and without spending your entire life on mass transit.  You can get from Newport to Providence for a mere $1.50 on the bus, but it takes two hours to get there.  Two hours to go about thirty miles.  I could drive up to Providence, run a few errands, and get home in the time it takes just to get there on the bus.

Anyhow.  Enough about that.

It’s just been one of those days where nothing’s gone right.  Sadly enough, the two bright spots in my day were when I got to chat with Grace’s preschool teacher (whom I adore) as I picked her up, and when I was out washing the minivan and my neighbor came over to say hi.  Three of us women ended up standing outside for a good hour just babbling about what’s going on.

The rest of the day was just a mass of various frustrations.  I did manage to get three loads of laundry washed and folded in preparation for our trip tomorrow.

Oh, yes.  This will be my last update until probably Monday.  Tomorrow we head to Long Island for a family reunion on my father-in-law’s side.  None of the family have met me, let alone Grace, so we’re sort of obligated to go.

It doesn’t help my anxiety that I am going to know nobody but Kurt, Grace, and my parents-in-law at this shin-dig.  I don’t know how many people are going to be there, but I am guessing quite a few.  My father-in-law is the youngest of five children, and while some of his sisters won’t be able to make it due to distance, there are still plenty of his family (and my mother-in-law’s as well) left on Long Island.  There could be a hundred people there!  I don’t know.

I have no idea what the internet situation is going to be.  I am counting on being away from the internet for the weekend since it’s just a weekend.  I’m sure I can handle being away for that long.

This also means I won’t be commenting on all your blogs either.

Don’t miss my extraordinarily long-winded comments too much, okay?

About my friend who was in the hospital — she’s home now, resting quietly.  We visited her today, and I found a lovely bouquet over at Stop & Shop to bring to her.

The doctors never did figure out what was wrong with her.  Initially she was hospitalized because she couldn’t stand upright without vomiting.  Many, many tests were run on her, trying to figure out what was wrong.  Kidney stones, pregnancy, even gall bladder issues were all ruled out.  The doctors were giving her pain meds as often as she wanted them, and apparently she woke up in the middle of the night and asked for more meds.  But the narcotics ended up depressing her respiratory system, so that’s why she quit breathing.  The next couple of days were spent in the ICU recovering.

So now she’s home, and she’s still in a lot of pain.  Apparently the doctors cannot figure out whether it’s muscular pain or bone pain, so they can’t pinpoint the source.  I feel so badly for her because she’s in such pain, and she can’t really do anything.  Fortunately her sister-in-law has come to stay for the week to help take care of her son, but I don’t know what’s going to happen when she has to go home again.

Just please keep praying for her, or whatever it is you’re doing.  I figure mass quantities of good thoughts couldn’t hurt!!!

 

13 Responses to “Ugh”

  1. twisterjester Says:

    I dealt with the same experience a few years ago. I stayed home from work because it was pure agony for me to sit up, never mind attempting to work. The doctor basically called me a liar and dismissed me entirely. I ended up losing my job in part because of the fact. I’d already learned to mistrust doctors but that was a last straw for me.

  2. yankeechick Says:

    First, I have to say that you look just like Gillian Anderson (Scully on X-Files) in that picture!! You look sad, but so pretty…..

    Hopefully we won’t lose you for the weekend, but if we do I will try to tough it out! I hate when you’re gone…sniff, sniff…..However, I hope it goes well and you have a good time. When ever I really dread doing something like that, it ends up being just fine. Hope that works for you too, Sweetie. **hugs**

  3. art Says:

    new family folks to meet!! you will be fine, just be yourself and mingle!!! i wish i was going!!!

  4. purple chai Says:

    You know. there will probably be other people there (spouses, etc.) who won’t know anyone either. You won’t be the only one.

  5. Kym Says:

    Thoughts & prayers are sent to your friend.

    Have fun at the family reunion. Hopefully it won’t so bad. Have fun. Everyone will love you & Grace. :o)

    Most importantly, just relax. Everything will be fine.

    Hugs~

  6. Texas Peach Says:

    Have fun at your shindig! I am not fond of meeting new people in large groups like that..but I know that they will LOVE you and Grace both!

    I once had viral encephalitis..and I could not stand at all without puking…and all I wanted to do was sleep. I fell asleep leaning over the toilet when I thought I was going to puke. Not fun at all! Your friend has been in my prayers since you mentioned her.

  7. cardiogirl Says:

    I *will* miss your comments, but hey! Here’s a crazy idea, maybe it will give me more to actually write to you about via snail mail. Crazy concept, I know.

    Enjoy your mini-vacay!

  8. whatdayisit Says:

    by now you should be in the midst of the family reunion and I bet it is going just fine. You and Grace will be welcomed by everyone, I am sure. How could they NOT love you both?
    Good wishes for your friend….what a scary time for her and her husband….sure hope they figure it out. Maybe she was on another medication that could have caused all these problems?

  9. Cosmic Says:

    First of, you are so very pretty in that picture. Next, the family members are going to love you to pieces. Lastly, it won’t matter if they love you are not because Grace is going to steal all the attention anyway. Have fun with it.

  10. I’ll keep her in my thoughts. The worst part of that all is the fact that they have no clue what’s wrong with her. I truly hope she’s better soon. And I hope your trip goes well!! I wanna see pictures and hear all about it. I love that picture of you by the way! Very cool, very different.

  11. Elle Says:

    I miss you! But at least you get to wear your new bling Birki’s!!

  12. shipjumper Says:

    Hope that weekend went well as I’m commenting on Sunday night. I’m sure it did and I’m sure you charmed the pants off of everyone! I know how you can “charm” when face to face! As for the horrible gas prices, if it makes you feel any better at all, we are paying $5.07 for a gallon of gas here right now. (it’s 1.34 a litre- blech!!) Smooches to you and Kurt…and of course the little Miss Grace! Missed your updating so get back here quick like eh!

  13. sleepyjane Says:

    I love that pic!! Hope you’re having/had fun!


Leave a Reply

