The Mind of Bluesleepy

Back to the grind 23 June 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 6:55 pm

I’m baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaack!

The weekend went extremely well, of course.  Why wouldn’t it?  We ran into a teensy bit of traffic getting across the Throgs Neck Bridge (what the heck is “Throgs Neck” anyhow?) between the tolls and a closed lane, but it only added fifteen minutes to our trip.  I thought we were going to be quite late to the party; we’d been told to be there any time after noon, but it was already 1:30pm by the time we showed up.  However, we were by no means the latest people there.

It was my father-in-law’s family that had gathered together on Saturday.  He’s the baby of his family, having four older sisters, one of whom is his twin older than him by five minutes.  His eldest sister’s granddaughter had gotten married on Friday, so they took the opportunity of having everyone in the area to stage a mini reunion.  It was actually much smaller than I thought it would be.  There were only about twenty to thirty people there.  That is really small, considering how large my father-in-law’s family really is.

Grace totally stole the spotlight.  She charmed her way into everyone’s hearts, and the family was more than willing to keep her thoroughly entertained.  That was nice for me, since that meant I got a tiny bit of a break from having to try to contain her boisterousness.  The bride, who had just gotten married the day before, really took a shine to Grace.  I had to make sure she didn’t abscond with her in her purse when it was time for her to leave the party!!!

Finally it was time to head with my in-laws to my mother-in-law’s brother’s house to spend the night.  He’s in the process of moving to North Carolina, so it was just his wife that welcomed us.  I worked on putting Grace to bed while everyone else worked on pouring a few stiff drinks.  Good times, good conversation, lots of laughs and silliness kept us all up till 2:30am.  And I wasn’t even drinking!

The next day found us in Brooklyn, visiting friends from my Flickr group.  And you know, it was so much fun.  We didn’t even do anything that exciting; we hung out at Jen’s apartment initially, then walked the Brooklyn Heights Promenade.  Again Gracie charmed everyone.  She kept going from one of my friends to another, allowing them all to partake in the joy that is Grace.  And of course, each one was totally captivated.

That girl of mine is something else, let me tell you!

Our tummies started to rumble, so we headed towards the Brooklyn Bridge to eat at Grimaldi’s Pizzeria.  Somehow we hit the jackpot in our timing!  The line wasn’t too long when we arrived, then when it began to rain, it was time to be seated inside.  The whole time we were waiting on our pizzas and eating them, it was pouring cats and dogs outside.  By the time we were finished, the rain was gone.  But anyone waiting in line after us ended up getting soaked.

After eating at Grimaldi’s, I can see why New Yorkers are fanatical about their pizza.  Grimaldi’s uses a coal-fired oven to bake their pizzas, which lead to a hot, hot oven.  We got three pies — a mushroom, a plain, and a pepperoni.  The plain wasn’t simply a cheese pizza you’d find at other joints.  Thin crust, delicious sauce (but not too much), torn basil leaves, and slices of fresh mozzarella, all baked together in a lightning-fast oven.  Oh, it was divine!!  The pepperoni was equally delicious, as they make their own pepperoni, and even the mushroom was to die for.  The girls were kind enough to give me two slices to take home, and I managed to finish them off for lunch today.

And now I want more Grimaldi’s pizza!  No wonder it was rated #1 pizza in New York by Zagat.

Karyl & Kurt in front of the Brooklyn Bridge

I love this photo of Kurt and me in front of the Brooklyn Bridge.  In the interest of full disclosure, he’s not simply patting the baby.  He’s also covering up a stain on my shirt left by pizza sauce that I acquired at the pizzaria!

I can be such a sloppy eater.

There’s a reason I am so fond of the Brooklyn Bridge, though I’ve only been across it once.  Way back in the summer of 2001, I was living with Kurt after I graduated college.  We were still just dating, though we were obviously pretty serious.  Kurt came up with this fantastic idea of taking me to New York in August to propose, right there on the Brooklyn Bridge.  But not long before we were supposed to go, I managed to land a job.  And since I’d just gotten the job, I couldn’t take off work my very first week!  Instead, he took me to a fancy seafood restaurant in Portsmouth, Virginia, and proposed to me on the banks of the Elizabeth River.

But each time I see the Brooklyn Bridge, it reminds me of Kurt’s original plan, and of his wanting to start our future together at such a beautiful place.

If you ask me, I’ve got a pretty romantic husband!

 

8 Responses to “Back to the grind”

  1. Kym Says:

    Yes, you have a very romantic husband. I wish mine were more romantic. I think proposing by the Brooklyn Bridge is quite romantic and something you’ll remember forever.

    It sounds like you all had a lovely trip and from the picture of Grace sleeping in the van…it looks like she had the best time ever. She is so darn cute.

    I’m glad you had a lovely “vacation” — if you want to call it that.

  2. art Says:

    Throgs Neck (more correctly spelled Throggs Neck and sometimes referred to as frog’s neck is a narrow spit of land in the southeastern portion of the borough of the Bronx in New York City. It demarcates the passage between the East River and Long Island Sound. “Throgs Neck” is also the name of the neighborhood of the peninsula, bounded on the north by East Tremont Avenue and Baisley Avenue, on the west by Westchester Creek, and on the other sides by the above-named bodies of water. Throgs Neck was largely exempt from the severe urban decay that affected much of the Bronx Borough and boasts a diverse housing stock including middle and upper middle class neighborhoods.

    The peninsula was called Vriedelandt by the Dutch. The current name comes from John Throckmorton, an Englishman the Dutch allowed to settle in the area in 1642. The settlement was eventually driven out by an uprising of Native Americans. In 1668, the peninsula appeared on maps as “Frockes Neck”. In 1776, George Washington wrote of a “Frogs Neck”.

  3. Gopheroo Says:

    Awww, that’s a beautiful picture, very iconic!

    I haven’t managed to figure out yet, when’s Baby due?

  4. twisterjester Says:

    What a sweet memory. And the pizza sounds YUMMY, though I like pizza with pretty much everything – pepperoni, mushroom, olive, bell pepper, almost anything but pineapple. Glad to hear you enjoyed your weekend!

  5. becca Says:

    Awwww, what a wonderful sounding weekend. You make me laugh though “In the interest of full disclosure, he’s not simply patting the baby. He’s also covering up a stain on my shirt left by pizza sauce that I acquired at the pizzaria!” That made me laugh haha. Glad you had a great time.x

  6. capitolady Says:

    Hi, just surfed in to say Hi!

    I totally agree that is so romantic of your hubby. I grew up in NJ and agree that is a beautiful spot. I too am a pizza maniac and can’t find anything that even comes close.

  7. whatdayisit Says:

    As always you manage to have so much to say and such good food to report to us…..now I am hungry for pizza.

    Loved the picture of you and Kurt, full disclosure and all!

  8. shipjumper Says:

    awwww, of course you have a romantic hubby! Hang on and don’t ever let that fish get away!


Leave a Reply

