The Mind of Bluesleepy

You gotta spend some time, love 25 June 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:34 pm

It is clear that I’m in the grip of a hormone-induced malaise.

This is not a good thing.

Today was no better than yesterday, and in fact, it was quite a bit worse.  However, today’s depression wasn’t sparked by anything.  Not really, anyhow.  I woke up at 8:30am in a panic, realizing that I had most probably left Grace’s flip-flops on Long Island.  For most people, this would be Not a Big Deal.  But it was enough to propel me out of bed and begin a desperate search through all the possible places these flip-flops may be.  Of course, it was to no avail.

Those damn flip-flops better be enjoying their time at Kurt’s aunt’s house.

See, they’re flip-flops by Buster Brown.  They’re clear plastic on the bottom, with butterflies printed where you put your feet.  The thong part is see-through blue plastic, and when Grace moves, the shoes light up.  I call them her “dressy flip-flops” because they go with everything.  They’re also the easiest shoes to get on her after her swimming lessons.

Not only that, I spent $15 on them.  That’s a lot of money to me for just a pair of flip-flops.

So that was upsetting.  Not a big deal in the scheme of things, I know.  But I hate leaving things behind, I hate losing things, I hate misplacing things.  It drives me nuts.  I think it’s the way I was raised.  My father hammered into my head, “A place for everything, and everything in its place.”  He had no patience for a child losing something or other.  If I misplaced a book and ended up with massive late fees, I was responsible for those late fees.  Seeing as I only got $2 a week for an allowance, I was constantly in the red.

Then Kurt came home and made the completely innocuous statement that there’s a softball game tonight.  Again, that really ought not to be a big deal — but he sprung it on me at 1:30pm when it’s a 6:30pm game.  That pretty much kills our entire evening because Grace goes to bed at 8pm.  And I know I needed just to get out and do something, and preferably not chasing after Grace during a softball game.

I found myself in bed for another hour or so, and I actually slept.  That surprised me because I didn’t feel tired.  But I guess I’m getting myself so worked up that I’m wearing myself out.

Gotta stop that.  It ain’t getting me anywhere.

Grace had swim lessons today, which was good as it forced me out of the house.  She’s been moved up to Level 1 already, which surprised me as she’d just finished her first toddler swim class.  Apparently she takes after her momma utterly; she’s a fish!  I guess Grace even has a pretty good backstroke, which amazes me as I can’t even do the backstroke.  The swim coordinator, who had been her teacher last session, thought Grace was four, but when I told her she was just three, she replied, “Whoops.  Well, technically she’s too young for Level 1, but she’s ready!”  I about burst with pride at that remark.

I also bought her a bubble, those flotation devices that go on a kid’s back to help them float.  The pool uses them on occasion with the kids, and I figured it’d be good for her to have when we went to my uncle’s for Fourth of July, as he has a pool.  Of course, Grace, being typical Grace, picked out the bubble covered in veggies.  The clerk behind the desk said, “I think that’s the first time a kid’s voluntarily picked out the veggie bubble!”  That’s my girl!!

Kurt decided to skip the softball game and instead took me out to dinner.  I was in no mood to cook.  See, that’s another reason I know I’m down in the dumps.  I’m not cooking.  I don’t even want to cook.  And usually I’m scouring the internet for more good recipes, more delicious food to make, more new foods to try.

We went to our favorite Mexican restaurant, which is about thirty miles away.  It’s a bit of an extravagance, what with gas prices the way they are, but it’s totally worth it.  The Mexican joint near the house has the worst service, and while their food is okay, it just can’t compare to the place in Massachusetts.  Besides, we have this discount card for the Massachusetts place which gets us $5 off each time we visit.  Can’t beat that with a stick!

All three of us ate for $25 tonight, which is shockingly cheap for Mexican food.  For one thing, neither of us got sodas (we hardly ever buy alcohol), and I ordered the sopa de albóndigas, which I am finding out means “meatball soup.”  It was goooooood.  Meatballs, chunks of carrots and potatoes, in a broth that seemed to be chicken-based, with diced tomatoes, and garnished with fresh cilantro.  Oh, yum.  It was a huge bowl, too.

I managed to engage in some retail therapy after dinner as well, since there’s a mall right next door to the Mexican place.  Grace has very little in the way of warm-weather clothing, and I am finding shorts in her size to be hard to come by.  I’ve been to two separate Targets only to find the toddler sizes of shorts to be completely wiped out.  Kohl’s was no better, and tonight’s foray into The Children’s Place didn’t get me far either.  I just want shorts, people!  Denim and khaki shorts.  Plain.  Nothin’ on ’em.  No funky or fun colors, so that if Kurt gets her dressed in the morning, he can simply grab one pair of shorts and one shirt and be certain that they match.

Apparently I am the only one in the universe who wants such plain shorts for my daughter.  Also, I don’t want to pay much for them.  The $4 shorts at Target are totally in my price range, but as I mentioned, they were already cleaned out.

And yes, I’ve checked the thrift stores too.  For some reason, size 4 is a hard size to come by.

However, I did manage to score three pairs or so, two of which came from Sears.  It’s not my favorite place to buy clothing, but when the going gets tough, the tough cannot be choosy.  It’s just amazing to be surrounded by children’s clothing, but to have to reject 90% of it because it’s not the right size, it’s too expensive, it’s too hoochie-mama, it’s too whatever.  I also managed to score a new pair of light-up flip-flops at Sears for Grace.  So all is right with my world.

Now I’m feeling a bit better, with delicious soup in my stomach, a trip to the mall under my belt, and my spicy ginger-and-honey tea that I got at the Korean store in my tea cup.  Tomorrow is the command picnic at Kurt’s work, so I have to gear myself up for that.  The infamous TC, the girl who wanted me to babysit her kid full-time after meeting me twice and who dumped her kid on me without notice, will be there with husband and child.  I am not looking forward to that, but fortunately I now know other wives I can chum around with.

Besides, I have a feeling they will be drunk and/or hungover.  They’re in the process of cooking a whole pig as we speak, and as soon as the beer arrived, TC’s husband was going to start drinking.  I will be interested to see how sober he will be if he has to teach tomorrow morning.

I have a feeling that by the time these people are in their 50s, we’ll be seeing a reincarnation of Lena’s Jane in TC.  It’s pretty sad, if you ask me.

 

8 Responses to “You gotta spend some time, love”

  1. cocoabean Says:

    it’s got to be hormones that are making you temperamental. Just try to relax, and think about how much stress it puts on junior for you to get angry…. take deep breaths in, and blow all that junk out!

  2. Terri Says:

    It’s totally the hormones, sweetie! Just take care of yourself the best you can. It’s the only time in life where you can really pamper your body. Growing a person is hard work! Enjoy dinner out and naps, little Mama! You need it!

    What is it about size 4? That one is really hard to find! So is size 8. It’s weird. 😛

  3. cardiogirl Says:

    Those flip flops are so cute! I hope they’re just at his aunt’s house and not lost forever. Though, as you said it wouldn’t stop the universe, but I would be bummed out as well.

    It’s hard to be almost seven months pregnant in summer with a toddler. I would (and did) feel the way you do. So if you can get a chance to relax, whether you fall asleep for a nap or not, I would do it and feel good about it. Period.

  4. Chelle Says:

    Sorry you’ve been feeling so blah. Damn hormones. Also, if you ever see something that you need at Target, but they don’t have the correct size, just let me know. I am surrounded by Targets and I’m always looking for an excuse to go shopping! Love ya!!

  5. art Says:

    hormones suck dont they?
    i love albondigas!! we sell them at new job® and they go like hotcakes, only folks round here just call em albondigas, cause i think sopa in mexican is soap.
    next time you is at kurt’s aunts house you will have flip flops for gracie there, im sure!!
    now breathe nice and go cook!!! (((((((((HUGS))))))))))

  6. Aimee Says:

    It is so not fun being sober around a bunch of drunken idiots. Pretty much my life…but being sober and not hungover with a bunch of people with hangovers is a lot of fun. I enjoy rubbing their noses in misery.
    Glad you found some shoes for Grace. And how awesome she’s such a good swimmer!
    PS Try Garage sales. I used to hate them but for cheap and decent kids clothes you cannot beat it! And how about Old Navy or Gap? They always have super discounted clothes and usually not hoochie.

  7. shipjumper Says:

    So sorry your hormones are taking you on an emotional roller coaster! Hang in there sweetie, and keep talking about it like you do. Helps to get that crap off your chest!

  8. […] if that weren’t excitement enough, remember the flip-flops I thought I left in Long Island?  Last night, while I was doing a last few things on the internet, a large bug scuttled across my […]


Leave a Reply

