The Mind of Bluesleepy

Please, sir, may I have some more? 10 July 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:40 pm

Today has been a good day.  Not just a good day, but a good day.  Yesterday, not so good.  I think it’s the hormones getting to me.

Gahh.  Haven’t I popped this baby outta me yet??

I got a bit peckish around 11pm last night, and knowing that it was really too late to be snacking, I wanted something to nosh on regardless.  And what did I want, but tortilla chips with cheese sauce?

Mmm delicioso.

The cheese was successfully heated to a wonderfully warm and creamy consistency, and I opened the pantry to grab the tortilla chips.  As my hand grasped the bag, I said to myself, “Self, you are going to knock over that bottle of red wine vinegar that’s in the way.”  The other half of me said, “Awww it’ll be fine.”

Well.  It wasn’t fine.

In slow motion, I watched in horror as the bottle careened towards the linoleum.  I prayed as it fell that it would simply bounce, as other things have bounced off our linoleum.  If I were in Washington, the bottle would have had no chance at all, since we had tile floors in the kitchen.  But I hoped against hope that maybe the bottle would bounce.

It did not bounce.

The damn thing shattered.

And I burst into tears.

Kurt came racing into the kitchen, worried that I had hurt myself or started bleeding all over the floor, but once he realized it was just the bottle of red wine vinegar that was the only casualty, he calmed down and took charge.  I don’t think he figured out why I was crying so hard over spilt vinegar, not that I knew either, but he made sure I didn’t step on the glass or slip in the vinegar.

We both worked to clean up the mess, though Kurt did most of it, while I sobbed quietly and vacuumed up the glass that had shot into the living room.  Finally we were done, and I reheated my cheese sauce and downed my chips while sitting on the couch, still leaking a bit from the eyes.

I woke up in not that great a mood, which then made me concerned that this would be yet another crappy day.  But as I drove down the street to take Gracie to school, I ran into my one neighbor driving home, so we had this impromptu chat in the middle of the street, like cops do on their breaks.  She informed me that her husband is being temporarily assigned somewhere else starting next week, and that she’d love to have my company.  And I am all over that, let me tell you.

I hadn’t gone but ten more feet when my other neighbor hailed me from her front yard as she was watering her flowers.  So I had to chat with her for a few minutes more.  By this time Grace was at least five minutes late for school, but I was feeling very loved and important to my friends.  Besides, there is really no hard-and-fast rule as to when school starts.  Most of the kids are full-day students anyhow, which means they can show up as early as 7am, I believe.  Half-day kids start at 8:30am, but sometimes even her teacher doesn’t roll in till 8:45 (there are several adults assigned to each classroom, so someone is always with the children).

Once Grace was safely ensconced in her classroom, I headed to the base to pick Kurt up.  We went to breakfast at our favorite diner, and then it was off to Wal-Mart to replace my bottle of red wine vinegar.  Alas, Wal-Mart does not sell vinegar (communists), but I did find a hilarious maternity t-shirt (click HERE to view) that I just had to have, along with another pair of cargo capris that were on clearance for just $3.  Three dollars!!  How do you resist?  You don’t.

I already have a pair of these cargo capris, and while they don’t look all that great on me, they’re extremely comfortable and lightweight.  I also have a pair of Bermuda shorts I bought at Motherhood Maternity.  You would think that the Wal-Mart capris would be far inferior, quality-wise, to the MM shorts — but you would be wrong!  These capris have yet to start pilling up on my inner thighs, which is always a problem with my bottoms since my thighs rub together when I walk.  The MM shorts are horribly pilled between the legs, to the point where I almost don’t want to wear them because I believe they look awful.

Kurt took the rest of the morning off to spend time with me, which was so wonderfully awesome since Grace was at school.  It’s so rare that we get to spend more than an hour together without her.  It’s not that I don’t love her, but it’s so nice to have Kurt all to myself sometimes.

Once he finished work for good in the afternoon, we headed up to Cranston to go to Whole Foods (where I finally got my red wine vinegar, plus tons of free samples that were absolutely delicious) and to have dinner at this awesome Korean/Japanese restaurant.  I had another Screamin’ Spicy Tuna Roll, which almost blew my nose off with the quantity of wasabi that was on it, but boy, was it delicious.  We also headed up to Providence to go to the mall since I needed some new lip gloss.

Oh, hush — I did so need it.

Heh.

All in all, a very good day.  I hope tomorrow goes as well.  I have another OB appointment at 3:45pm, where I should find out if I have gestational diabetes.  Keep your fingers crossed that I don’t; it’s a complication I just don’t want to deal with.

 

8 Responses to “Please, sir, may I have some more?”

  1. cocoabean Says:

    gee you would look pretty funny if your nose blew off your face! glad you had a good day… and just remember, this emotional stuff will change for the better in a month or two..

  2. twisterjester Says:

    Hey, I have discovered that I prefer several things from Wally World to their more pricey competitors. My absolute favorite skirt came from Wally World and I still love it as much as I did when I first got it.

  3. sleepyjane Says:

    That shirt is adorable! 🙂

  4. acaldwell Says:

    (((((((hugs))))))) the emotional roller coaster will come to a stop, soon!!!

  5. karmacat Says:

    I think you were completely entitled to some new lip gloss after scoring a pair of pants for just three dollars.

  6. Elle Says:

    Gah! Hormones are so much fun. Hoping for good news on the gest diabetes front, I had it when I had Max, and it wasn’t that big a deal — only borderline, and just watched the diet, no insulin or anything.
    Don’t you hate it when those slow motion falls happen? I know I’ve had a few in out tile kitchen, shattered to kingdom come, or even worse, had a jelly jar take a gouge out of the tile. Terminator Jelly!!!

  7. cardiogirl Says:

    I’d say new lip gloss has been earned after the Red Wine Vinegar Incident.

  8. Kym Says:

    I love that new maternity shirt. Too funny.


Leave a Reply

