The Mind of Bluesleepy

Who’s up for some Wii? 26 July 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 11:48 pm

Last night, it was not good.  Seriously not good.   Kurt had some bad news yesterday, and I was pretty irritated in general.  Let me tell you — if you take two pissed-off people, and add some rude or otherwise provoking comments, you will get an explosion.  Guaranteed.

The worst part was it wasn’t just one explosion.  It was explosion after explosion after explosion.  And it was awful.  Neither of us enjoy doing it.  Why we keep on doing it is beyond me.  I guess we’re too stubborn.

But that is why I was still awake at almost 4am this morning.  Blargh.  10am came far too quickly this morning.  We are so lucky that Grace is perfectly content to play in her room quietly until we get her up.  We never have to worry about her running amok through the house and coloring the walls with a Sharpie or some such.

The worst part about being up so late is that we had scheduled a dinner party for tonight, and we hadn’t finished our housework yet.  Kurt had asked our guests to arrive between 2 and 3pm, hoping to get in some time on the Wii before dinner, so that didn’t give us much time to prepare.

Somehow we managed to get everything done before 2pm, and we spent some time playing the Wii game Kurt bought last night.  We tend to like the active, sport-type games, so we picked up Deca Games.  It’s pretty fun, but it is a little limiting.  The racing game has only one track, the archery game features just shooting arrows at a target…  The best games on the disc are the ones where you go head-to-head with someone, like beach volleyball or badminton.  I didn’t get a chance to try the figure skating; our guests arrived just as Kurt was trying it out.  Now that was funny, to see my big manly husband represented as a male figure skater on the tv.  I couldn’t stop laughing.

I think our dinner party went awesomely!!  I had fleetingly thought of taking a photo of the spread, but I wasn’t sure my guests wanted to wait that long for me to take a photo.  Plus that’s just odd, isn’t it?

Let me tell you, it was delicious.  I had Nigella Lawson’s One-Pan Chicken and Sausage, which is the easiest yet most delicious thing in the world to prepare.  If you ever want to impress your guests with mouth-watering food that requires almost no work in the kitchen, this is the recipe for you.  Now I get a little jiggy with it and buy a chicken that I have to cut up myself, mainly because it’s cheaper and because I get the giblets and other assorted pieces to give to Koolit as a treat.  You could just as easily buy a cut-up fryer and just whack the breasts in half.  I knew I was feeding a lot of people (eight in total), so not only did I cut up a chicken but I also bought a pack of breasts that I chopped in half as well.  And let me tell you, there wasn’t much meat left over once we were all done stuffing our faces, so I’m very glad I bought that extra pack of breasts.

Once the chicken is all cut up, you throw it into a marinade to sit overnight.  Then the next day, when your guests are playing the Wii and enjoying some tortilla chips and dip, you throw everything that was in the bag into a roasting pan and roast for about an hour and fifteen minutes.  Presentation-wise, it’s best to set all the pieces on a serving platter, as the sausages give off a lot of oil, which can be off-putting to your guests, but I didn’t have a platter.  Fortunately my guests were far less picky than most and didn’t care about all the oil in the pan.  They were too busy scarfing down the deliciousness!

Then for a side dish, I made Roasted Potato Salad.  That too was an enormous hit.  Everyone kept going back for seconds, and I am sure we’d go back for thirds if there had been any left!  Maybe next time I should make a double batch because the mix of roasted potatoes with the bacon and the caramelized Vidalia onions in a mustard dressing is absolutely to die for.  I personally felt it needed a bit of salt, but then I have been craving more salt since I’ve been pregnant.  I try not to eat much of it, knowing that I would swell up with fluid if I do, but I indulge a little bit here and there.

Every one of my guests let me know how good the food was, and my friend even asked for the recipes!  So you know she loved the food.  She even made these incredible delicious personal cheesecakes — little tins with a graham cracker crust, with cheesecake filling piped inside and garnished with maraschino cherries.  Ohhh they were so delicious and so perfect because they were individually sized.  I want another one!

Once dinner was over, it was back to the Wii.  The one couple had other things to get done, so they left after a little bit.  Then it was time for MarioKart.  God, I love that game.  I had forgotten how much fun it is!!  I used to play Super MarioKart all the time when I was in high school; it was the only game I got any good at since I didn’t have my own Super Nintendo at home.  I had to play only at my friends’ homes.  When we got the Wii, we bought MarioKart Double Dash for the GameCube since the Wii is backwards compatible with the GameCube.  Next up to buy — the new MarioKart for the Wii.  I want it so badly.  But I have to say, playing with the old GameCube controller is easier for me than trying to play with the Wii remote.  I just can’t get the hang of tilting the remote just the right way to turn when I’m playing a racing game on the Wii.  It makes more sense to use the mini joystick on the GameCube controller, at least to my old-skool brain.

Overall, it was an excellent day.  Tomorrow promises to be just as busy.  I agreed to host the viewing of “Army Wives” to some of the local Navy wives in the area.  This means I need to make some munchies.  So far, Kurt’s making this delicious roasted vegetable dip, while I think I’ll make stuffed mushrooms.  I might also chicken out and have tortilla chips and a dip as my third snack, since I don’t think I have the energy to make something else.  We’ll see.  I also am a bit nervous about this get-together, far more than I was about tonight’s dinner party.  These are officers’ wives coming over!  Fortunately they are the farthest thing from snooty women, so I think it will go just fine.  They told me on Thursday, they don’t care what rank the husband is!  They just want friends.

And friends, my dear ones, is what makes this world go round.  I’m learning this, day by day.

 

11 Responses to “Who’s up for some Wii?”

  1. msbeanie Says:

    My son got a steering wheel for his Wii for MarioKart….

  2. Poolagirl Says:

    And you are reading the Red Tent! OMG! That is an awesome book!

  3. Rosie Says:

    Ok, I want the recipes! That sounded so good, especially the potato salad!

  4. cardiogirl Says:

    Wow, just reading that and then thinking about cooking again for the “Army Wives” premiere makes me tired. Cooking is *not* my thing, baby.

    (Segue: Did you see the first “Austin Powers” when he was getting his stuff back after he was unfrozen. He had a Swedish enhancement pump and he was like, “Um, that’s not mine.” And there was all this stuff, ending with a book that said, “That Swedish Enhancement Pump Is Mine, Baby!”

    That’s what I was thinking when I typed, “Cooking is *not* my thing, baby.)

  5. yankeechick Says:

    Your dinner party sounds like a great success! Woot! I miss cooking for company. “When we lived in Alaska..” (here I go again 😉 ) we always had company and people just stopping in and I got to cook all the time and for several people. I loved it! Always baking to have things on hand…and so forth. It’s just not like that any more. I really miss it.

    Good luck with the Officer’s Wives!! I bet you’ll have a blast!

  6. MilitaryMom Says:

    ARMY WIVES! My favorite! Your dinner sounds delicious. It sounds like a prefect day, and I could use a few of those let me tell you. Good luck with your party tonight.

  7. terri t. Says:

    You are awesome!. You cook and clean and entertain and are in your last trimester and still manage to write an entertaining blog nearly every day. Not to mention, you didn’t even tell us what the bad news was and what you two were fighting about…. You rock, lady!

  8. shipjumper Says:

    Oh My! One just can not go wrong with Nigella!! She is FABOO!!! And I’d love to see Kurt doing some figure skating!

  9. twisterjester Says:

    Awww, it’s too bad about yesterdays multiple explosions. Glad to hear things turned around by today. That’s the only way to be.

  10. Sleepyjane Says:

    Food…I am always hungry. *sigh* Glad your get together was fun! It’s nice to have a great time with friends.

  11. Cosmic Says:

    Glad you party went well and the food sounded scrumptous.


Leave a Reply

