The Mind of Bluesleepy

The wives get together 27 July 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 11:57 pm

Let’s see if I can get together a blog post in under 30 minutes.  Did you know that it takes me a good hour most days to write a post?  I know that’s kind of excessive, but I have lots of distractions.  When I was using the desktop without a tv anywhere in viewing range, I could pump out a post in fifteen to twenty minutes, especially if I really got into the groove.  But now with the tv (and a husband) distracting me, it’s much harder to write.  Sometimes I can’t even manage to get into the groove.  Other days I find the groove, only to get bumped out by something happening on the tv, or a question Kurt needs answered.  When that happens, I feel like a record must feel when the needle scratches across it — I just can’t find my way back, and I feel almost bereft.

I had nothing to worry about with my get-together tonight, even though I had been stressing just a tiny bit.  Three of the women in the neighborhood, all who happen to be officers’ wives, arrived at my home promptly at 9pm to “watch” last week’s episode of “Army Wives.”  I’m not really into the show, but it’s nice to watch something with a group of girlfriends and be able to discuss it and dissect it.  I’ve never been one to watch the so-called popular shows on tv (I never got into “X-Files” or “Friends” or even “Seinfeld”), so I have never had this experience before.  This is all new to me, and it’s pretty cool.  I probably wouldn’t watch the show if I wasn’t part of this viewing group, but it isn’t bad.  It’s just not my thing.  I’m more of a “Masterpiece Theatre” and “Intervention” type of girl.

Yes, I have diverse tastes.  It’s not limited to tv shows either.  My taste in books and music is just as varied.  I guess I don’t like to be pigeon-holed into one category or another.

What I like about these girls is they’re so much fun to be around.  They’re pretty diverse — one lady has been married for twelve years and has two preteen sons, another lady is still a newlywed and is right around my age, and the third lady has a doctorate but is staying at home to raise her toddler son.  We all have much different experiences in the world, but we seem to get along very, very well.

Of course, I had to make something delicious to eat for my friends, and Kurt, being a good cook in his own right, decided to get in on it too.  He chose to make this wonderful roasted vegetable spread, in which he roasts an onion, a zucchini, and a red bell pepper on the grill, and then he adds cream cheese, garlic, and salt and pepper to the veggies and blends them up in the food processor.  It’s really delicious, and the smokiness of the veggies roasted on the grill is so yummy.  We served it with a bit of French bread, sliced off into pretty rounds.

For me, I got a little jiggy with it and decided to go with stuffed mushrooms.  We have friends who brought them to dinner one night and said they just used bruschetta mixed with breadcrumbs, but I am the type of person who really needs a recipe.  I can’t just fake it, and I really admire those cooks out there that can.  So I went online and found THIS recipe.

Could it get any easier???  No, it really couldn’t.  And it really came together so easily with some amazing results.

See?

The spread for my party

Oh, it was all so wonderful.  Most of the mushrooms were eaten, and probably half of the spread.  And there was only four of us ladies!  Kurt was a good sport and watched the show with us, which meant of course that he got to indulge in the goodies set out for munching.  He was one happy man.

Kurt is definitely one of those guys for whom the adage, “The way to a man’s heart is through his stomach” holds completely true!  I’m pretty sure he’d love me even if I couldn’t cook, but he is really very thrilled that I can.

He can cook, too!!  Don’t think that I do all the cooking in this house.  I do most of it, mainly because he works full-time, but every once in a while I let him cook.  Last week he made a quick, pre-made vegetarian meal we’d picked up at the health food store when I really didn’t feel like cooking, and tonight he pulled out all the stops.

Since we were already going to have the grill going for the roasted vegetables, I suggested we grill dinner.  We went to the commissary and picked up a flank steak, and we made my Perfect Steak Dinner, in which the flank steak is marinated in red wine, soy sauce, smashed garlic, and fresh parsley, then grilled to a lovely medium rare.  Kurt decided not to make potatoes to go with it; instead he picked up corn-on-the-cob and grilled it!  I don’t think I have ever had grilled corn-on-the-cob, and it was really good.  The obligatory side salad rounded out the meal, and it was all very, very good.

Next week the viewing of “Army Wives” will take place at another lady’s house.  What’s making me laugh about the whole thing is we all have the exact same house, since we live on the same block in Navy housing.  But it’s nice to see how different people set up their homes.  I got the best decorating ideas when we took Grace trick-or-treating during Halloween and I peeked in everyone’s homes!

Sneaky, aren’t I??

 

9 Responses to “The wives get together”

  1. msbeanie Says:

    we will have to start calling you susie homemaker!!

  2. twisterjester Says:

    12 can cook – but tells me he’s a horrible cook. I suspect he’s not so bad, but he definitely doesn’t LIKE to cook. He does, however, like it when I cook for him 😉

  3. Sleepyjane Says:

    I haven’t had breakfast and this whole post (or rather…the photo) made my mouth water!! *drools* I am so hungry now!

  4. yankeechick Says:

    Sounds like it went great! Yay!! It’s neat that it will be an ongoing thing. It’ll be good for you 🙂

  5. Shear Says:

    I use that exact same recipe for stuffed mushrooms and they are delicious. Once, I substituted cream cheese for the cottage cheese because I didn’t have any cottage cheese and wouldn’t go to the grocery just for that. It tasted just as good. Of course, yours look so much better than mine do. It’s true. Food always tastes better and looks more appetizing at someone else’s home.
    Pee Ess: I’m gonna try Kurt’s roasted veggie spread this weekend for a back-to-school thing for the teachers. I think they’ll like this recipe and I’ll make sure to give you and Kurt all the kudos.

  6. Elle Says:

    I’m glad you had fun with the Navy Wives and “Army Wives,” does that mean you didn’t see the finale of Next Food Network Star?

  7. terri t. Says:

    Once again, the picture looks like something out of a cooking magazine. Do you read Taste of Home? Lovely and wonderful descriptions of all the food. I want some and I want it NOW!

  8. michele Says:

    that looks absolutely dee-lish! (doesn’t help that i’m extremely hungry!!!) 🙂

  9. Kym Says:

    Jack is a good cook but he’s lost in our kitchen. We’ve been in this house for going on five years and he should know where everything is. He is always asking where a certain pot or pan or even a mixing bowl is. Heck, he even asks me how to use the oven or turn on the stove. It’s not that difficult.

    His mother made sure all her children could cook, clean and survive on their own just in case they had to do so as adults. I think that was very noble of my MIL to do, especially with 13 children.

    Anywho — Jack is lost in our kitchen. He doesn’t know left from right in there. When he does cook, he is always asking where such and such is. It can get annoying at times.

    I’m glad your “Army Wives” viewing went well. The food looks divine!


Leave a Reply

