The Mind of Bluesleepy

I’d be a happy bachelor 31 July 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:56 pm

Call me weird, but I am always so amused by the FreeCreditReport.com commercials.  You know, the ones where the young guy sings about how his life has been ruined in one way or another by his bad credit or his new wife’s.  The one where he’s singing about his new wife’s bad credit causing them to live in her parents’ basement ends with him saying that if he had checked her credit before the wedding, “I’d be a happy bachelor with a dog and a yard.”

Ouch.

I never did ask Kurt about money when we were dating.  I knew he had a little bit of debt, nothing to worry about, and we were both working.  He does like to spend the money, but it never became an issue.  It also helps that we earn a lot more money when he’s out to sea simply because his pay goes up, and we end up saving more because neither one of us tend to spend money when he’s gone.  He can’t, since he’s stuck on a ship for weeks at a time, and I am not terribly fond of shopping by myself.

This whole shore duty thing is hard on the pocketbook, let me tell you.

I am not feeling all that well tonight.  At some point this afternoon, I started experiencing a very annoying dull ache in my pelvis.  It feels almost as though I really need to visit the restroom, but that doesn’t seem to help.  Maybe the baby has decided to drop, and his/her head is pressing against me.  That’s the only thing I can figure that it is, though I can’t feel the head down there as well as I could a couple nights ago.  I just wish the baby would head back into my abdomen where s/he’s been for the last eight months.

But I have had the most wonderful of days.  I was puttering around over on my Flickr discussion group when one of my friends mentioned she was heading to New England for the weekend.  I offered to host her for the evening if she wanted to break up the drive, and the next thing I know, she accepted!

I couldn’t be more thrilled.

It is kind of funny to think that when I woke up Wednesday morning, I didn’t think I was going to have overnight houseguests that very evening!  I was so glad that my house was still clean from my dinner party on Saturday.

We had such a good time together.  They were really interested in seeing where Kurt works, and he managed to put together a last-second tour of some of the coolest equipment they use to train personnel.  There’s a simulator made to emulate the bridge of a real ship, and while you’re in the simulator, you’re surrounded by a 360º video screen which can display a variety of scenes.  Today we “visited” the bay of San Diego, and the visuals are so realistic that when the seas start picking up, you compensate by shifting your weight and bracing yourself against the stationary objects on the bridge.  But the simulator itself doesn’t move an inch.  It just looks like it does.

It is way cool.

From there, we went on a windshield tour of Newport, where I was able to show them the shopping district, some really old houses dating back to the mid 1700s, Touro Synagogue, and the Gilded Age mansions along Bellevue Avenue.  Unfortunately we ran out of time to see more because we had to meet Kurt for lunch so we could pick up Grace.

Pretty ladies

And then all too soon our time together was at an end.  That’s when I started to feel rather yucky, so I’m glad it started after my friends left.

Then it was off to have a pedicure with another friend.  Because it was already so late in the day, we decided to go out to eat with our husbands.  The food was delicious, but the service was so very, very slow.  We spent two and a half hours at this restaurant, which was insane.  I think it was our server’s fault.  I saw other people who’d been seated, enjoyed their dinner, paid their check, and left by the time our food even arrived.  She took our order, and we never saw her at our table again.  Other waitresses brought our food and later our check.  I did notice she carried on a ten-minute conversation with the table next to us while we were waiting for our food, so maybe she was simply too busy to wait on us.

I have no idea what kind of tip was left for her; our friends covered the bill and would not hear of us contributing anything.  I just hope she got a small tip since I don’t feel she earned it at all.

Tomorrow my “Army Wives” friends are getting together to walk at a state park nearby.  While I would love to do this, I have several reasons for declining.  For one, I am exhausted.  This has been far too busy of a week for me.  While I have enjoyed the company of all these wonderful ladies I am becoming friends with, it’s more than I am used to.  I am also eight months (or almost) pregnant.  I’m a strong woman, but there does come a point at which I have to slow down a bit.  Secondly, it’s been very hot and muggy lately.  I’m not sure I could handle walking in this heat.  Besides, I would probably slow the ladies down.  I can’t even guess what Grace would do on a walk with other people.  She hasn’t wanted to sit in a stroller since she was eighteen months old, but her little legs can’t keep up with the grown-ups sometimes.

So I think I’m just going to give it a miss tomorrow.  I need a day to recover anyhow.

 

9 Responses to “I’d be a happy bachelor”

  1. msbeanie Says:

    it does kind of sound like the baby has moved down a bit. The head goes further down in the pelvis, putting pressure on all the soft tissue structures down there, making one feel rather uncomfortable. Your time is getting close!

  2. boXx Says:

    My daughter is due on December 6th but she looks rather large to me. She just might end up having a 10 pound baby like I did.

  3. Rosie Says:

    Just take it easy dear! Shifting babies can cause all sorts of aches and pains, but it will be over soon! *Hugs*

  4. jen Says:

    thank you so much for a wonderful day! i was so happy to see all of you and to be able to do so much in such a short time. you are quite the trooper, lady. hope you’re feeling more comfortable soon.

  5. twisterjester Says:

    Well, Junior is due to start dropping before much longer, though it still seems early to me. You’re only about seven months along, right? Either way, take care of you and Grace and the baby. Sitting this one out might be the best thing for you all *Hugs* (And before I forget – again – you have such gorgeous eyes…)

  6. Sleepyjane Says:

    I hate when waitresses are so lazy. I always tip well, mostly because I rarely get bad service. Serving two people is better than a whole big table. So it’s pretty straight forward. BUT. When they ignore us because we’re two people and we ‘can’t possibly tip well’ I get so angry!

  7. Aimee Says:

    Uggg. I remember all those pains with Baby G. He was my little guy and he wore me out! I’d put your feet up and take it easy for a minute.

  8. terri t. Says:

    I’m glad to hear that you are taking it easy this weekend. You may have a few weeks to go in the pregnancy but you are so active as a rule….. Taking some time to keep your feet up and relax is probably a great idea.

  9. yankeechick Says:

    Oh, Girl! Have you been a busy one!! I sure hope the baby shifts around and you don’t spend your last 54 days (:) ) this miserable. And how cool to meet some more online friends. That’s the neatest thing!


Leave a Reply

