The Mind of Bluesleepy

I’ve got the night on my side 7 August 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 8:56 pm

Whew!  Yet another busy day.  How do they keep happening the more pregnant I become??

After dropping Grace off at school, I headed directly (Do not pass Go, do not collect $200) to the salon.  It has been eight weeks (!!!), people, since my last hair appointment.  When your hair is as short as mine, and as red as mine is, you cannot go eight weeks between appointments.  I don’t mind the red fading; mine turns a lovely shade of auburn when it fades.  But the shape of my hair…. ugh.  I felt like I looked like Prince Valiant.

Not a good look on me, let me assure you.

An hour and a half later, and my hair has been trimmed to an inverted bob (longer in the front than in the back) and colored to my normal shade of bright, bright red.  The stylist flipped it outward again because she loves doing it that way, but it didn’t take long before my hair fell.  No one believes me when I tell them exactly how much hair spray I need, so they always under-spray me.  Hence my hair looking like ass about ten minutes after leaving the salon.

This is why there are no photos of my new hair.  Besides, it looks pretty much like it did the last time, so there is really no need for an updated photo.  Suffice it to say it is red again, and I am thrilled.

Time to retrieve Kurt from work for our Date Morning!  We settled on going to Chili’s for lunch, since we hadn’t been there in nearly a year.  We tend towards mom & pop restaurants, especially of the ethnic variety.  American chain restaurants usually aren’t our thing.

Near the end of our meal, we noticed a whole gaggle of khaki-clad men (and one woman!) arriving.  It was car after car after car of Navy people.  They were mostly Chiefs with a couple of officers thrown in for good measure, and I wondered what they all were doing at Chili’s, of all places, at 11:30am on a Thursday.

All of a sudden, one of the Chiefs ducks into his car and retrieves one shadow box featuring rank insignia, command pins, and ribbons, and another shadow box featuring the American flag folded into its proper triangle.  Aha!  Someone’s retiring.  There can be no other explanation.

As the mass quantity of Chiefs were being seated, we asked our waitress for the check.  She looked at Kurt’s uniform and said, “What, you weren’t invited to the party?”  I couldn’t help but dissolve into giggles at that.  Just because Kurt wears the same uniform doesn’t mean that he knows all other Chiefs and officers in the Navy!  These folks weren’t even at the same command as Kurt, so there’s no way for him to know them.  And if he doesn’t know them, why would he be invited to the party?

He wouldn’t be.

The rest of the day just flew by.  We picked up Grace, ran some errands, and then I had a friend over so I could show her some cool things to make her digital scrapbooking easier on her.  Plus I just like to sit and chat with her, and her daughter absolutely adores Gracie.  It’s a win-win situation!

But the burger I had for lunch, while delicious, really didn’t sit well in my belly.  All day I’ve been a little queasy.  I even took some Tums earlier in the day to see if that would help.  I think it was just too much fat at all once because it was a thick burger with two or three slices of thick bacon, plus an order of fries.  My system just isn’t used to that.

I really didn’t feel like making dinner.  I didn’t even want to eat dinner either, for that matter.  We were scheduled to have Pan-Roasted Chicken with Maple-Mustard Dill Sauce, which is an easy-speezy thing to make (another one of those “saute the chicken and throw things in the pan to make a sauce” recipes), but there was no way I felt up to it.  So I called Kurt and made sure he was okay having the tuna puttanesca left over from last night.  I doubted he’d have a problem with it, as it was so good, but sometimes people can be funny about having the same thing two nights in a row.

Fortunately, Kurt had no compunctions about eating the puttanesca again tonight.  He even volunteered to heat it up, as well as make a salad and some garlic bread as sides.  He got this delicious bread yesterday, some sort of a French-type bread, which he slathered with a mixture of margarine, garlic salt, and Italian seasoning before toasting it.  It was mouth-watering.  And it had the added effect of making my stomach feel better.

And now he has just arrived home from a command softball game.  He batted in four runs and went three-for-three, but his team still lost 24-8.  Ouch.  But he’s brought home Frosty shakes from Wendy’s to console us on our loss.  Yum!

 

9 Responses to “I’ve got the night on my side”

  1. andrea Says:

    A Frosty always makes everything better. I don’t think I’ve had one of those in way too long: Must rectify that!

  2. Shear Says:

    Have you tried the new flavors of Frosty’s yet?

  3. Shippie Says:

    Kel loves me because I LOVE leftovers!! I’ll eat ALL leftovers ANY time!! Ok, except kraft mac and cheese. Can’t reheat that junk.

  4. Poolie Says:

    Ooooh! A Frosty!

  5. Blue Opal Says:

    I worked so late tonight I just splurged and got a pot pie and a diet Coke from Boston Market. But you know what? After home cooking, it didn’t taste like a splurge at all. Still, it beat the heck out of cooking.

  6. sleepyjane Says:

    I bet your hair is just as gorgeous as it was the first time you took a pic to show us. I do so love that red colour on you. 🙂

  7. Poolie Says:

    I got the presents! I got the presents! I am SOOO excited! Thank you sooo much!

  8. terri t. Says:

    I bet the leftovers were delicious. Personally, I like leftovers and have been known to eat the same thing every night until it is gone. Now I guess I need to figure out something for our dinner…..hmmm. ok, hamburgers it is!

    I don’t have the problem of hair that won’t hold a set but I wondered if you used gel or wax if that would help?

  9. Elle Says:

    Yay for renewed red!! It is too hot here in the office, just takes all the go out of me… Wendy’s, especially the Frosty part, sounds good and do-able for dindin. Chuck will be sleeping, so it will be Max and I on a Frosty splurge!


Leave a Reply

