The Mind of Bluesleepy

Time so slowly turns 23 August 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 11:20 pm

Kurt and I went to the mall yesterday.  It had been so long since we’ve been.  We don’t even have to spend any money, though we did.  We just love to people-watch and see what all is for sale.

I’ll tell you what we don’t like, though.  Stores like Abercrombie & Fitch that blare loud music and have the stench of cheap cologne blanketing their entrances.  It’s so bad that I try to cross to the other side of the mall when we pass by one of those stores.  Those same stores irritate Kurt to no end as well because there’s always a huge photo displayed in the entryway of a shirtless man.  If it’s a clothing store, what the heck are they selling with a photo of a half-naked man?

Maybe I’m too old for all this.  I never did understand marketing geared towards teens, even when I was one.  Then again, I never went in for fads and trends anyhow.  I did just enough to fit in somewhat, but I never shopped at trendy stores.  For one thing, they didn’t carry my size back then.  I’ve always been at least a 16, and when I was a teen, that meant I had to buy misses’ clothes at a department store.  The trendy stores rarely had styles in sizes greater than a 13.

But anyhow.

So there we were at the mall, and it was time to come home.  We exited the parking garage the way we always do, and followed the signs to the highway — like we always do.  And like we always do, we got pretty turned around in downtown Providence.

I have no idea how it happens, but we always have issues getting back to the highway when coming out of the mall.  It really shouldn’t be a problem, since there’s an onramp right there, but we never come out on that side.  That means we end up circling Providence, following the signs to the highway, till it brings us right back around to the mall parking garage.  Then we finally make it back onto the highway.  It adds another ten or fifteen minutes to our trip.

Today we felt like wandering around through some of the little towns in the area.  That’s one thing I love about Rhode Island.  There are tiny little “small town America” type of towns all over the place, towns with a definite Main Street lined with nifty little shops and quaint little eateries.  These little towns are so old, too, with homes dating back to the mid-1700s, so the architecture is always fascinating to see.

We chose to head up to Warren this afternoon.  It’s about a half hour to forty-five minutes away from our home, and what’s funny is it’s practically on the other side of the state.  Well, not quite, now that I’ve looked at a map, but it’s still halfway to our northern border with Massachusetts.

I love living in the tiniest state.

We had some errands to run on the way, so it was mid-afternoon by the time we were ready to wander Warren.  The problem with that was, most everything closes at 4pm.  Only a few stores were open till 5:30pm.

And that’s something else I don’t understand.  Why?  Why close so darn early on a Saturday afternoon?  Most of these stores were also closed on Sunday.  I just don’t get how they’re making any money, since their hours tend to be something along the lines of 11-4pm five or six days a week.

I can understand that they don’t have the manpower to stay open 9am to 9pm, since that would require two shifts of employees.  But how about 11am to 6pm?  Heck, maybe get a little jiggy with it and stay open till 7pm or 8pm!  I’m sure they’d make money.  There are a ton of little eateries that looked very busy that stay open that late at night, and I know from my own experience that after a nice dinner out, the last thing I want to do is go home right away.  I want to wander around these quaint little stores and pick up something unusual that I can’t get anywhere else.

Then again, I’m not a business owner, so what do I know?

We passed by a store called Delekta’s Pharmacy.  It looks like an old-fashioned pharmacy, complete with soda counter and penny candy.  I love old places like this.  I’ve always been fascinated by times go by; I guess that explains my love of Little House of the Prairie series of books.

Old prescriptions

I was fascinated by these old prescriptions. From the few that have dates, they were written sometime in 1920, almost ninety years ago.  They’re even older than my grandparents!  There’s one prescription, on the right page in the left column on the very bottom, I can read that prescribes a tincture of gentian to the patient.  Apparently gentian, a flower whose roots have medicinal properties, can do a lot for a person.  It can be used for indigestion, dyspepsia, and gas, as well as for lightheadedness and dizziness.  It also increases liver and pancreatic function, and can kill off parasites living internally.

It’s also listed as being “used for all female weaknesses.”  We are the weaker sex, don’t you know?

Yeah, right.

We’ll have to go back when it’s open and check out what the store has to offer.  I peered in through the locked front door, and it looked rather intriguing.  If this one window is any indication, I think it will be worth it.

 

6 Responses to “Time so slowly turns”

  1. Cosmic Says:

    Wow, mybe you will get really lucky and they will have a book on how to be a good wife and mother. Things like, you know, pressing your husbands undergarments, or like making sure you take his shoes off when he comes home from work and rubbing his feet. Oh, and of course, never tell him if you have a bad day. After all, he is the head of the house and it is your duty to make sure his life is stress at home. HAHAHAHAHA! Yes, even in the 50’s women were being fed that bs.

    Lucky for you, you have a modern husband. You two are so good together. And Baby makes 4! I can’t wait for this new little baby to arrive!!

  2. art Says:

    i bet going into that store will be like stepping back into the 1800’s!!! wheee!!!

  3. twisterjester Says:

    I used to live in a town where the sidewalks folded up at 5pm. It really was like walking back in time. The one GOOD thing about it was my apartment, which was in a huge old building and had so many cool details, the kinds of things you can’t find in newer structures. Massive oak banisters, 12 foot ceilings, a private balcony, hand-carved double doors, etc.

  4. cardiogirl Says:

    I’ll have to ask my doctor if he has any gentian lying around, since I have so many weaknesses to work on.

    The book was cool, I must admit. Talk about pre-dating the computer.

  5. terri t. Says:

    In the OLD days, there was a Blue law which restricted the hours stores could be open and never, EVER, on Sunday.

    Modern age bringing in the malls changed most of that.

    That old pharmacy looks really interesting. I especially loved the old Saturday Even Post print by Rockwell with the policeman sitting at the fountain with a young child…..

    Enjoy the weekend.

  6. terri t. Says:

    pssst… That should have been Saturday Evening Post…


Leave a Reply

