The Mind of Bluesleepy

Pls send ice cream 27 August 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 9:19 pm

Wow, I’m a bit surprised with the positive response I received regarding yesterday’s post on Apocalyptica!  I love that my readers are so open-minded and receptive.

My friend-in-real-life Angela is a fairly regular reader of this blog, and when she IMed me today to ask me how the pregnancy is going, we got to chatting about Apocalyptica.  We kept sending each other links of Apocalyptica songs on YouTube until she actually had to get some work done.

Damn J-O-Bs.  They always get in the way.

But Angela and I agreed that the brunette with the short hair is the hottest of them all.  There’s one cellist that looks a helluva lot like Sebastian Bach, which is almost scary, but the brunette — mmm yummy.  Our only objection to him is that stupid stripe of facial hair he has on his chin.  Not even the mohawk that he sports in some of the videos is enough to put us off of him!  But the stripe, and his wedding ring, those are deal-breakers.

Dangit.

Today has been one of those freaky-weird days.  I woke up in a decent mood, but I was still tired.  I hate those kinds of days.  I want to just wake up and be ready to go with my day.  Is that so much to ask for??

But then Kurt called me to tell me that if they weren’t going running at lunch, that we could go to lunch together at 11am.  Of course, the guys decided to go running instead, so it wasn’t till 12:30pm that Kurt was free to go.

We did go out for sushi since it had been so very long since I had any.  Poor Kurt had a ton of tests he had to grade during lunch, so he wasn’t a whole lot of company.  By the time we were finished, it was time for him to go back to work.  It wasn’t till we got to his office that we realized that he’d left his change of clothes at home, and he’d ridden his bike in to work.  He assured me he could ride home in his uniform, but I was afraid he’d get bike grease or something on his pants.

Those suckers are not cheap.  The uniform he wears every day runs at least $100 for both pieces.  He doesn’t need to be ruining his uniforms.

After dropping Kurt off at work, I ran to Michael’s to pick something up to finish one of my multitudes of cross-stitch projects.  Afterward I went to Staples.  I needed to check on something, and I ended up buying myself a new pack of pens.  I was having a sort of rotten day, off and on, and pens always make me feel better.  I need more pens like I need a hole in my head, but it was a very inexpensive form of retail therapy.  And it worked for a time!

What can I say?  I get my thrills cheaply when I can.

Then it was back home to pack up a few things to go out in the mail, and that’s when Kurt called me back again to tell me it was going to be a late day.  He figured he wouldn’t be done with work until 6pm.  Since I was going out anyhow, I decided to run his clothes over to him so he could bike home once he was finished.

I was following this grey Prius down the road, towards the base.  There’s a roundabout (traffic circle, rotary, whatever you want to call it) at a particular intersection, and there are two lanes that enter the roundabout on that side.  I thought the woman driving the Prius was going to turn right at the very first exit because she kept drifting to the right instead of staying to the left to follow the roundabout all the way around.  As she drifted right, I pulled to the left and accelerated just a tad to go ahead and pass her since I was going to take the second exit.  Right as I did this, the driver jerked her wheel back to the left and continued on in front of me.  That’s when I noticed she was on her cell phone.

Grrr.  HANG UP AND DRIVE, PEOPLE!

She took the same exit from the roundabout as I did.  At the last traffic light before you start heading onto the base proper, the woman braked instead of continuing at speed — even though the light was green.  She crawled through the intersection at a snail’s pace.  That’s when I realized that my windshield was awfully dirty since I was now driving directly into the sun.  I started up my windshield wipers and watched the dirt being swept away.  Then I glanced down at the Prius in front of me, and hollered, “OH SHIT!”  The damn car had stopped dead in the middle of the road.

I stood on my brakes, and fortunately did not hit her at all.  I must have stopped about an inch from her bumper, but at least there was no contact.  Finally the Prius driver realized she wanted to make a right into the Navy housing that’s right inside the base and leisurely made the turn.

Now I realize that I should have been paying better attention to what this woman was doing, especially given her earlier erratic behavior.  But geez, folks.  If you don’t know where you are going, pull over into a parking lot and assess the situation instead of stopping dead in the middle of the road.

Ugh.

I finally make it home again, and since Kurt had said he was going to be home around 6 or 6:30pm, I started making dinner right around 6:15pm.  I figured he’d be home just before dinner was ready.

I figured wrong.

I was just about finished eating by the time he came home at 7:15pm.  I didn’t make anything complicated, just some organic version of a Hamburger Helper-type meal, as well as roasted asparagus with tomatoes and homemade garlic breadsticks, but I was still bummed that he wasn’t home to eat when it was ready.  At least it was still warm by the time he got to eat.  It would suck if it were cold.  Plus he loved my homemade breadsticks.

So now I’m a wee bit grumpy, and I think I need some chocolate.  There may be an ice cream in my freezer calling my name right about now…

 

8 Responses to “Pls send ice cream”

  1. Rosie Says:

    Hey, did I tell you the other day that you look radiantly marvelous? Well you do. I think you deserve an ice cream too. Hugs!

  2. twisterjester Says:

    Dang. I hate days like that. At least you don’t have much longer to go with Junior! You’ll have your hands full with two little ones at home, but it will be worth it 🙂

  3. shipjumper Says:

    go get that chocolate! mwah!

  4. Sleepyjane Says:

    Oooh I hate when people drive without paying attention to what they’re doing…especially if they’re on the cell phone!

    And I also think you deserve some chocolate!! {hugs} (I had to squelch the urge to eat ice cream at ten pm last night haha)

  5. Aimee Says:

    I just saw yesterday’s post and I friggen love it! I’d not seen or heard it before but awesome!!!!
    I had to get an ice cream yesterday and I’m not6 pregnant…but lack of diet coke has made me edgy and very similar to hormonal. Make sure you get some ice cream…it will help I promise!

  6. michele Says:

    homemade breadsticks?? how’d you make those?? sounds yummy!

  7. terri t. Says:

    Thank goodness you didn’t coliide with that car. I would have been worried since you are so close to being through the pregnancy that even having the car in the shop would be stressful for you….not to mention the possibility that you could have been hurt.
    Sounds like the day ended well…nothing wrong with ice cream and/or chocolate to make the day even better.

  8. purple chai Says:

    Well, I think you have hit the nail squarely on the head. How lucky we are to live in a country where such discussions and personal decisions are possible.


Leave a Reply

