The Mind of Bluesleepy

Happy to be home 2 September 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 8:34 pm

Oh, I am so glad to be home.  I have to say, though, that we had a very awesome trip, and it was hard to want to return to Rhode Island.

But home again we are, and I am glad of it.  We stayed at the guest house in my grandparents’ retirement community, which is a tiny little home composed of a living room, a bathroom, and a bedroom.  We put Grace in the bedroom, sleeping on the bed in there, since it’s just a full-sized bed, and Kurt and I are, shall we say, more than full-sized.  We brought our Aero Bed and set it up in the living room so we could watch tv until we got tired.

We had to stay on top of Hurricane Gustav’s movements, you see, as I was quite worried for my good friend Elle, who lives near New Orleans.  It looks as though Gustav went right over Elle’s home, but I’m hoping that the damage is minimal.

Keep your fingers crossed.

Anyhow, while the Aero Bed is quite comfy, it’s not quite as supportive as a regular mattress, so Kurt and his back are quite glad to be home in our own bed!

I miss my grandparents, though.  They are such fun to be around, and they’re so good to talk to.  And sometimes I want to talk to them about their memories and their stories, to get them into my memory before my grandparents pass away.  They’re already in their 80s, you see, so they won’t be around forever.

Here’s a small example:

Great-grandparents, ca. 1923

I have seen this photo quite a few times and known who it’s of. But this time I got more of a backstory to it.

This photo was taken in either 1923 or 1924.  The couple on the left is my grandmother’s parents, and the couple on the right is my grandfather’s parents.  But what gets me is this photo was taken before either couple was married!  They were just friends, the four of them, and had no idea at this time that their respective children would grow up and get married one day.

I asked Grandma how they knew each other, and she told me that it was just because they lived in the same town, up in Holland, Michigan.  But after my grandmother’s parents were married, they moved out of the town.  My great-grandfather was a minister, and he had to go where he was called to various churches.  It wasn’t till my grandparents both attended Hope College in Holland that they got to know each other and fell in love.

I wondered what Grandma’s parents thought of her new beau when she told them she was dating their old friends’ son.  She just laughed and said they didn’t think much of Grandpa.  Completely confused, as Grandpa would be any other parent’s dream of a son-in-law, being highly educated, well-mannered, and very gentlemanly, I asked why they didn’t seem to care for him.  Apparently they didn’t care for any of Grandma’s boyfriends, so it wasn’t much to do with Grandpa himself.

I guess Grandpa had a tough row to hoe with Grandma’s parents, but he managed!

These are the stories that I want to know about and to keep fresh and alive.  So that’s another reason I love visiting my grandparents.  There is so much to learn!  But they spend their winters in Florida, and so I can only visit in the warm months when they live in Pennsylvania.  In just a couple months, they’ll head south again, and it’ll be next spring before I see them.

Enough about my grandparents!  Let’s talk about Aubrey’s wedding!

There are no words to describe the beauty of Aubrey’s wedding.  It was everything I think a wedding should be.  It was intimate, yet included many of Nick’s family — which is extensive.  It was gorgeous, yet not ostentatious.  It was, in a word, perfect.

Growing family!

Aubrey had four bridesmaids, including her maid-of-honor, and there were four groomsmen as well.  The girls wore strapless dresses in a spice color that could also be described as a deep salmon.  The men wore shirts in a lighter salmon, khaki slacks, and ties of khaki and salmon.

The whole wedding party

Aubrey herself wore a strapless white gown with rhinestones along the neckline and a spice-colored ribbon at her waist that trailed down her dress.  Nick wore a white shirt, khaki slacks, and the same tie as his groomsmen.  And those colors were absolutely beautiful, all put together.

The wedding took place on the grounds of a church.  Having an outdoor wedding, weather is always a factor, but it actually cooperated on Saturday!  It was a bit humid, muggy, and hot — but what can you expect on the last Saturday in August when you’re in Pennsylvania?  It was a bit overcast, which is actually a good thing.  It meant that the guests weren’t roasting and sweating as the sun beat down.

The officiating minister was my grandmother’s little brother Dave, who also officiated at Aubrey’s father’s wedding, as well as my own parents’ wedding back in 1985.  So we kept it all in the family!

Everything about the wedding went off without a hitch.  What I found particularly beautiful was the sand ceremony.  To symbolize the unification of their two lives, Aubrey took a glass of white sand, while Nick took a glass of tan sand.  Together they poured their sand into a larger glass to form a beautiful sand sculpture, representing the blending of the two of them into one.

The reception later in the evening (it didn’t start till 6pm, while the wedding began at 1pm) was so much fun.  It wasn’t fussy or uptight at all, even though it took place at a local country club.  Aubrey and Nick had chosen good party food, like pork bbq sandwiches, hot wings, macaroni salad, and baked beans, which was all very delicious.  There was a keg for those who wanted beer, and if you wanted something harder, you could visit the cash bar.

I caught Aubrey chowing down on the saucy hot wings, which surprised me since she was still in her gorgeous white wedding gown.  I told her she’s got to be the bravest bride in the world to do that!

Bravest bride I know!

We ended up having to leave a bit early, nearly 10pm, because Grace was getting so tired and cranky from all the festivities.  But all in all, it was a beautiful day, and I am so happy for Aubrey.  It was just the absolutely perfect wedding, and it couldn’t have happened to a more wonderful person!

The rest of the photos from the wedding and reception can be found HERE.

 

9 Responses to “Happy to be home”

  1. Shippie Says:

    So glad you are back! Missed you!!

  2. msbeanie Says:

    How nice the men didn’t have to wear tuxes.. that would have been HOT!

  3. Rosie Says:

    First, what a fabulous story about your great-grandparents! Thank you for sharing it! Second, three of you look wonderful; I have never seen someone look so radiant as you do in that pic. Also, it appears that Kurt is losing weight…is he? Remember that a prerequisite for being a Navy Chief is having a “Chief’s belly!”

    Salmon, khaki and white, not what I would choose, but it does look nice, and it’s a great change from the usual colors…and I’ll bet the groomsmen were delighted to not have to wear tuxes.

    Aubrey is doing a very ladylike job of chowing down, though you could almost put a caption on it like, “After the wedding ceremony, Aubrey finally lets down her guard and allows Nick to see how she REALLY eats!” They are a beautiful couple, and I am so happy for you that you had a great weekend.

  4. sleepyjane Says:

    You take such beautiful pictures Blue! Thanks for sharing that wonderful memory, and then also some details on the wedding.

    I absolutely adore the colours and everyone looks so beautiful! 🙂 You have a gorgeous family. (you guys included)

  5. becca Says:

    beautiful wedding, love the bridesmaid dress colours. u looked great too. 🙂

  6. michele Says:

    GORGEOUS dress, Sis!!! It’s a shame you won’t be able to wear it after the baby comes. Bright colors suit you well.

    Also love the photos from Aub’s wedding. Thanks!!!

  7. cardiogirl Says:

    Wow! What fun, candid pictures. Also love your family photo and you look so cute all pregnant! I know you probably feel ready to deliver, but you still look good! Way to work it, sister.

  8. Aimee Says:

    OMG so beautiful. What a perfect wedding.

  9. yankeechick Says:

    What an awesome photo of the 3 of you! You do, indeed, look radiant! And the wedding looks wonderful, as well. The colors were great. I’m so glad you enjoyed it all so much.


Leave a Reply

