The Mind of Bluesleepy

Rest and recuperation 21 September 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 6:03 pm

I keep forgetting I am supposed to be recuperating.  The problem is, I want to go.  I want to do!  I don’t want to sit on my couch all day and vegetate.  I need to, though.  I need to remember I just had a baby, and I need time to heal and recover.

Duh.  That’s sort of obvious.  But I tend to miss the obvious.

Case in point — one of my “Army Wives” friends is having a get-together featuring food next weekend.  Each of us is bringing something ethnic.  I’m bringing Caroline’s famous bulgogi (a Korean dish), while my friend Pamela is bringing Chicken Adobo from the Philippines.  We’ve got cuisine coming from Armenia, Japan, Italy, Greece, Vietnam, and even Sweden.  It all sounds so delicious, and I cannot wait!  The organizer had sent out e-vites online, but then sent out another notification when she realized that the weather was going to be iffy on the day she had selected.  I tell you, I scrutinized that invitation up and down, left and right, trying to figure out where the change was, and I could not find it.

Last night she pointed out to all of us that she had changed the day to Sunday, instead of Saturday — and that change was right there at the top of the invitation.  It couldn’t be more obvious.  Duh!

I am not the brightest bulb on the Christmas tree, let me tell you.

We’ve actually been somewhat busy the last few days.  It’s been good, though, because I’ve been feeling the post-partum blues sneaking up on me.  Sometimes I start crying for almost no reason at all.  Most of the time I just feel sort of “blah.”  It’s not a good feeling.  Staying busy and getting out of the house has seemed to help me with that.

It’s so strange not to have my doctor’s appointments on Friday, though.  We were up in that part of town yesterday to go to a local grocery store, and it felt weird not to continue northward and end up at my doctor’s office.  I kind of miss my doctor and her nurse.  I don’t see them again till my six-week post-partum visit at the end of October.

Yesterday we went to the fall festival at the Green Animals Topiary Garden.  Amazingly enough, it’s one of the mansions owned by the Newport Preservation Society, even though it’s at the northern end of the island, a good fifteen miles away from all the other Gilded Age mansions down on Bellevue Avenue.  It’s also not a very fancy-looking home; it was a summer cottage built for someone not nearly as wealthy as the Vanderbilts and the Astors.

The gardens were pretty neat to look at, with some really lovely flowers.  The topiaries, which are the main draw, weren’t too exciting, though.  Some of them really didn’t look like what they were supposed to, and besides, bushes cut in the shape of animals isn’t that thrilling.  It was a beautiful day to wander around the gardens, however.  Bright sunshine, cool breezes, and definitely a feel of autumn in the air.

There were lots of activities for kids at the fall festival.  If you arrived at the festival early enough, there was a scarecrow-building station set up in the Pet Cemetary.  You heard me — the pet cemetary.  Apparently the owners of the house used to raise award-winning lhasa apsos, and they would bury them on the property when they passed away.

Grace was most excited about the storyteller.  This was a lady in her 50s or 60s who really told a story well.  All the children were ranged around her in a semi-circle, enraptured by her skills at weaving together a tale.  She performed for a good thirty minutes, and the children sat there so quietly, drawn into her world of magic.

After the storyteller finished, we headed inside to the house.  The Preservation Society had the house set up with furnishings belonging to the original owners, and on the second floor was a really awesome collection of antique toys.  I have always been fascinated by old toys, so it was exciting to me to see such a great collection for myself.  I would have taken photos, but it wasn’t allowed.

Photos from the rest of the topiary gardens can be found HERE.

Once we got home, it was time for one of my friends to bring me dinner (they’ve all gotten together and offered to make food for us every night, which is the most awesome gift they could possibly have given me).  And later one of my neighbors threw a s’mores cookout at her home.  It was the first time we’d all gotten together as families; generally it’s a women-only thing because our homes are too small.  But Kurt was able to meet all the other husbands, and Grace played with my friends’ sons.  She didn’t come home till 11pm after playing hard for hours.  I myself stayed out till almost midnight.  Mary Ellen made the rounds of all my friends; they couldn’t resist the bundle of cuteness that is her!

We had such a blast.

And on Friday, I received the coolest of congratulatory cards from my good friend Elle!

Thank you, Elle!

Isn’t that rad?  It’s utterly handmade.  She remembered that Grace’s favorite color is green, she captured me completely, and she managed to make Mary Ellen’s box look like the sling I carry her around in.  And “Naval Fuzz” for Kurt cracked me up.

Inside she wrote, “Look! A new shade of [last name]. May you enjoy the new hues and patterns!”

I simply love this.  It will be treasured for many, many years to come.  Thank you so much, Elle!

 

10 Responses to “Rest and recuperation”

  1. art Says:

    i know you wont let the post partum bllues get YOU down!!! you are a go getter, and all around fun gal!!! keep good thoughts and remember that we all are your good friends!!!

  2. Aimee Says:

    I think balance is the best thing. If you are getting the baby blues you need to get out. So, let some of the other stuff go…like cleaning! Or is that just me hating to clean???
    What a lovely card and a great idea. You have awesome friends!

  3. ChezNous Says:

    What a unique card! That definitely belongs in Mary Ellen’s scrapbook.

  4. Delightful card! Definitely a spirits lifter!

  5. cardiogirl Says:

    I know exactly what you mean about missing the doctor and nurse. I think I experienced transference with my doctor during the pregnancy and then actually missed him when the baby was born.

    How strange, yet common, I guess.

  6. michele Says:

    yes, definitely relax and rest.

  7. Elle Says:

    You are more than welcome, my friend! I thought you’d like the new Pantone color chips for the fam. Please try and remember to rest.

  8. Caroline Says:

    Funny, I didn’t miss my ob visits after Alex. … could be that I didn’t see the same doc (or in most cases I saw a med student) and a different doctor delivered my baby that the 3 at the high risk clinic. I did miss my OB after Moira and Eliza though. . . . .

  9. Shippie Says:

    There is a reason you got a new laptop my dear! Rest, relax, be horizontal on the couch with pogo and your blogs on your belly! Lay down or I’m going to have to come and tie you ankles together!

  10. terri t. Says:

    It sounds like you had a lovely weekend again. I admire all your ambition and energy….Sure wish I had some of that!

    Loved the card…so special and unique and obviously a keeper.

    And Thanks for sharing all these special moments with us.


Leave a Reply

