The Mind of Bluesleepy

No time like the present 22 September 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:07 pm

Maybe I should clarify why I miss my OB and her nurse.  The nurse is from Long Island, or maybe it’s New Jersey, and she’s your typical brash Long Islander (or maybe New Jerseyan).  She’s got the tan, the big earrings, the big bleached hair — the whole works.  She’s a bit mouthy, but you can tell she’s got the biggest heart.  She loves working for the doctor, and she loves the patients.  Well, she loved me, anyhow.  A visit wouldn’t be complete without standing at her desk for a few extra minutes and having some tale told to us about the time she visited her sister in Arizona and gambled all weekend long, or how her retired husband drives her absolutely batty.

It took me a little while to warm up to my OB.  Initially I felt that she was a bit standoffish, maybe a bit aloof.  I chalked that up to her being far too overscheduled and thought she didn’t really have time to take care of me properly.  But the more I saw her, the more time she had for me.  Maybe it just took her a while to get to know me.

During my last appointment, just three days before my water broke, my doctor told me all about going to visit with her in-laws over Labor Day weekend.  I guess her father-in-law is now retired, and all he does is putter around the house.  When he gets tired of puttering, he goes for a little lay-down.  Apparently puttering can get tiring.  One day while his wife was at work, he decided to take his chain saw apart on her lovely dining room table, but while doing this, he got tired and laid down for a nap.  She arrived home to find chain saw parts and machine oil all over her gorgeous table.  She was so angry, she turned right back around and left the house.

I don’t think she spoke to him for a few days.

It’s like I have these two friends, but I have no reason to hang out with them anymore.  It’s a bummer.

I have a few things scheduled for this week, but nothing major.  Grace still has school on Tuesdays and Thursdays, but Kurt thinks he can take her in.  That’s a good thing my taking her involves getting up at 6:45am, feeding and changing the baby, getting Grace ready, and barely having time to stop to shove a bowl of cereal down my throat.

I don’t think I even managed a cup of coffee the one morning I took Gracie in.

Grace’s swim lessons are a lot easier to get to.  Those are in the late afternoon on Mondays and Wednesdays.  By the time we have to leave, the baby’s been fed and changed several times, and I can usually feed her again just before we leave so that she sleeps through the entire lesson.  Plus I have plenty of time to get up and get dressed without rushing.

In addition to that, we have a playdate on Wednesday.  I’m looking forward to it; it’s with one of my “Army Wives” girls.  Amazingly enough, we figured out the very first time we met that we went to the same high school down in northern Virginia.  Small world, to find someone from your alma mater in small town Rhode Island!  She’s got three kids, one of whom is almost exactly the same age as Grace.  Of course, the first time Grace and her son met, they introduced each other and then became instant best friends.

I love how easily little kids make friends!!!

Grace is very popular with the sons of my “Army Wives” friends.  During the s’mores cookout on Saturday night, one of my friends’ sons had to go home and go to bed since it was getting really, really late.  He asked his mom, “Can I give Grace a kiss goodnight?”  She said yes, of course — so my daughter has gotten her very first kiss from a boy at the tender age of three years and eleven months!

I missed the actual kiss, but I bet it was adorable.

And if that weren’t enough adorableness for one entry, here is why poor Mary Ellen cannot wear shoes:

Why shoes do not fit on Mary Ellen

Her little feet are just too tiny!!  They’re just a wee bit longer than my thumb, and I don’t have very large hands at all.

Speaking of Mary Ellen, she had her two-week appointment today.  I was a bit apprehensive, as Grace’s two-week well-baby did not go well at all.  She had lost well over a pound, and the doctors were discussing whether to hospitalize her for “failure to thrive.”  But Mary Ellen is obviously putting on weight; her scrawny legs are filling out, and she’s got the cutest double chin.

I was very reassured when she was laid on the scale and weighed in at 7lbs 7oz.  By two weeks, babies are supposed to have regained enough weight to match what they weighed at birth, and Mary Ellen’s already got her birth weight beat by nine ounces.  YAY!!

We have no failure to thrive over here.  And for that I am very, very grateful.

 

9 Responses to “No time like the present”

  1. Blue Opal Says:

    Aww, I’m glad to hear that Mary Ellen is doing so well! My babies were like that – except for my oldest daughter, all my kids were growing like weeds from day one and never slowed down.

  2. art Says:

    wow!! lookit the feetsies!!! thats adorable!!

  3. sleepyjane Says:

    That is the cutest picture EVER! 🙂

  4. Shear-madnez Says:

    That is the most adorable picture! You’re going to need more walls in your home to hold all of these wonderful photos!

  5. michele Says:

    teeny tiny footsies!!!

  6. Aimee Says:

    That picture is so adorable. You should frame it and hang it on the wall. It’s so easy to forget how tiny they once were. I love it!

  7. Angela L. Says:

    Those tiny toes are precious!! Made for nibbling. 🙂

    Yay for having a healthy happy baby with a cute little double chin! 🙂 Glad to hear the visit went well.

  8. Caroline Says:

    It’s because Mary Ellen is actually getting food in her belly! You knew this was going to be different because you were going to bottle feed instead of nurse since your milk doesn’t really come in. So there! I’m glad she’s growing into her skin though, I love it when babies start filling out.


Leave a Reply

