The Mind of Bluesleepy

I OWN Sprint! 23 September 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 8:49 pm

Oh, how I wish.  But let me tell you, I am now the proud owner of a completely cool and awesome new phone!  Check it out!!!

Day 4 -- Acquisitions

Now isn’t that purty??  I love how it’s green; it’s a very unique color for a phone.  My earlier phone was pink with a hot pink case, and Kurt was pretty surprised that I elected to go with the green phone.  This phone doesn’t come in pink, however.  It might have been a very close call between the pink and the green, in that case.

The thing I love about it the most is the QWERTY keyboard.  I do a lot of texting now, and texting on a numeric keypad isn’t the fastest way of going about business.  Also my old phone would hang up a bit when trying to use punctuation, and I would get frustrated waiting for it to sort itself out so that I could go ahead and punctuate my text.

Yes, I know you’re not supposed to use punctuation in a text.  I can barely bring myself to use an abbreviation while texting!!  You will not get “r u ready 2 go?” from me.  I just know my grammar-obsessed tenth-grade English teacher would be spinning in her grave (stipulating that she has passed on, which I sure hope she hasn’t) were I to do so.

Anyhow.  So I have been in the market for a cell phone for a while now, knowing that I can only get $75 off a new phone come October with Sprint’s upgrade program for existing customers.  We just got new phones last year, you see.  But one year ago, Sprint had no phones with a QWERTY keyboard, and I wasn’t really texting much anyhow.

I loooooove to text.  I will shoot off a text to folks and have entire conversations with them because they can get back to me whenever they need to.  It’s not like a phone call where they may feel obligated to stop what they’re doing and focus on what I’m saying.  Sometimes my friends and I will go an hour or more between texts.  That’s the beauty of texting!

Somewhere along the line I realized my friend Julie has the same phone that I wanted, and even in the same green color.  She let me play around with hers, and I really liked how easy it was to use and to text.  I started bugging Kurt for it, but I knew we couldn’t afford it.  It’s listed as $280 on the Sprint website, and I didn’t need to spend that kind of money for a phone I didn’t need.  There’s nothing seriously wrong with my pink phone.

Then I started hearing the ads that Sprint was promoting regarding the phone I wanted.  They were practically giving those phones away!  Buy one for $50 (after instant and mail-in rebates), and get one FREE!

But only for new customers.  If you are an existing customer, even if you’ve been a customer since 1995 like Kurt has (you should have seen the brick he owned when we first got together), you don’t get anything but the $75 instant rebate if you’ve had your phone for a year, and $150 if you’ve had it for two years.  I knew we were eligible for the $75 rebate come October 1st, but that would be $75 off the full-price.

Still too expensive.

I had Kurt call Sprint anyhow.  Maybe they could do something.

He called them right as I was walking out the door on Sunday to go to “Army Wives.”  I wished him well, but I wasn’t expecting anything.

Imagine my shock when he called me ten minutes later to tell me that I am now the proud owner of a brand new green cell phone!  Somehow he managed to scam two new cell phones out of Sprint for a grand total of $110.  Not only that, but activation ($18 per phone) plus the shipping and handling fees were waived as well.  And if that weren’t enough, the lady threw in a $50 mail-in rebate to boot!

I’m not sure how the mail-in rebate is going to work.  The information that came with it clearly states that to be eligible, you must have your cell phone for two years if you’re upgrading, and we’ve only had our previous phones for one year.  Kurt’s going to have to call Sprint to activate his new phone (he got the blue version), so I’ll have him ask about the rebates then.

I just can’t believe that the phones came so quickly.  He made the call on Sunday night, and here they are already on Tuesday!  I had to laugh with my UPS guy; I told him that I was getting new phones to be able to text more easily, and he immediately backed off like I had said the box contained poison, and said, “I don’t do no texting!  That’s a bit too much for me!!”

Heh.  My UPS guy is great.  Gotta love him.

I’m still amazed we got the phones for so cheap when we weren’t even scheduled for an upgrade.  Woo hoo!!  And now I’ll be a texting demon.  Good thing I have 500 texts per month!

 

9 Responses to “I OWN Sprint!”

  1. Blue Opal Says:

    Bwahahaha! AMATEUR! I have 1000 texts a month just for ME. My daughter exceeded that until I changed her number to an unlimited plan 😉

  2. cocoabean Says:

    See what Brown can do for you!!!

  3. I have texted exactly twice in my whole life. Put me out to pasture!

  4. purple chai Says:

    I only text with the Hubs and the girls, and I am so bad at it because I too insist on grammar, punctuation, capitalization. I’m incredibly slow at it.

  5. michele Says:

    you have the coolest phone… *giggle, giggle*

  6. That’s awesome! We just bought new phones back in July. I looked at the Rumour, but decided I wanted the Centro instead…mine’s RED like I like, and I’m with you on the Keyboard thing…it’s so awesome and easy to text now.
    My neighbor has the Rumor and LOVES it…it’s a really good phone.

  7. terri t. Says:

    NO FAIR! You cook, you have a husband who loves to help you, you shop and find unique things, your firstborn is a sweetie, you have a new baby, you have energy AND you have a new phone? NO FAIR!!!!!

  8. Caroline Says:

    That’s one thing I like about my phone, the qwerty keyboard. And I hate the r*u* ready 2 go thing, it drives me batty. .

  9. sleepyjane Says:

    That phone is gorgeous! I rarely text but if I was an avid texter I’d love a keypad like that one! Oh and when my sister texts me I tell her to spell like an adult. I HATE this new way of texting. Like gr8 and luvu…*gaq*


Leave a Reply

