The Mind of Bluesleepy

Back in the saddle again 27 September 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 11:20 pm

I cooked tonight!!!

Technically I cooked twice today — more on that later.

But yes, I cooked dinner tonight.  It was so weird to get out my apron and not have to tie it over my enormous baby bump.  I also noticed how very dirty I’d gotten it from the days when my belly would hit the stove long before my arms caught up to it!

On the menu was Balsamic Braised Chicken, steamed zucchini, and rice.  It’s an easy, easy recipe, since all you really do is brown the chicken thighs, saute up some shallots and thyme, deglaze with red wine, add the ingredients for the sauce, and then bake in the oven for a half hour.  The chicken turns out so juicy and tender, and the sauce is delicious.  It’s a bit tart, what with it being primarily made up of balsamic vinegar, but I love the tartness.  I warn you, though, if you choose to make this recipe, make sure you serve it over something that will soak up the sauce!  I chose rice, but it would be equally good with potatoes or noodles or couscous.

It was great to be back in the kitchen.  This was really the first time I have cooked since I gave birth to Mary Ellen, two and a half weeks ago.  Well, I made dinner one night for my mom while she was here, but for the last week and a half, my friends have been bringing me dinner.  We’ve had everything from meatloaf to chili to chicken & rice to Mexican chicken casserole to cornbread taco casserole.  It’s all be so very delicious.  I do feel a little odd letting these people cook for me, though I know it’s not a huge deal to cook one meal for another family.  It’s just that I feel like I should be taking care of my family, especially since I’m not bed-ridden.  I wonder if they are frustrated that here I am, going out to fall festivals and shopping and all kinds of things, instead of laying in bed and recuperating there.  I mean, if I have the energy to go out to these places, then shouldn’t I be cooking dinner for my family?

Of course, this is me projecting stuff onto my friends.  They probably think nothing of it, and they enjoy helping me.

One would hope, anyhow.

I mentioned earlier that I had cooked twice today.  One of my friends had the excellent idea of throwing a Taste of the World luncheon.  There were fourteen ladies there, and we all brought something different.  There was so much good food there!!  There was pancit and lumpia and Greek pastitsio and Korean bulgogi (made by me) and sushi and sashimi and Swedish apple pie and chicken adobo (made by my friend Pamela) and pasta pomodoro and lahmahjoon and summer rolls…. It was all so delicious!!

My (overly) full plate

I took a little bit of everything, and couldn’t decide what I liked the best.  And this was just my plate of main dishes.  I had another plate full of dessert!

Don’t judge me.  I need the desserts to build my strength back after giving birth.  WHAT??

The party was just perfect as well.  Conversation flowed so well, and of course, I flitted about with my camera and took photos of the dishes and the festivities.

Sometimes I wonder what people think of this crazy camera lady, taking photos of everything.  I don’t worry too much about what people say, though I do try to take photos as surreptitiously as possible when I’m in a situation where I don’t feel comfortable — like at a restaurant.  But it won’t stop me completely, unless there is a sign specifically prohibiting photography.  I’ve taken my camera with me to various Newport mansion museums, not knowing the ban against photography, but I won’t take a photo, even if I know I won’t get caught.

Hello, my name is Karyl, and I am a Rule Follower.

Actually, I’m a follower, period.  A lemming, if you will.  Here’s proof:

Right now

The rules:

1. Take a picture of yourself right now.
2. Don’t change your clothes, don’t fix your hair…just take a picture.
3. Post that picture with NO editing.
4. Post these instructions with your picture.

I took this photo because all my Flickr friends were doing this and posting it on their sites.  So I figured, why don’t I do it too?  What makes it funny is I had refused to take a photo of my face yesterday for my 7Days photo because I had been too lazy to style my hair or apply makeup.  But then I end up putting my bare face out there for posterity anyhow.

Pardon my pink skin — it’s partly the white balance setting I had my camera on, and partly the reflection from my laptop.  I’m usually a bit less pink.  I’d post-process it, but it’s specifically against the rules.  And I am a Rule Follower.

More photos from the Taste of the World luncheon can be seen HERE.

 

8 Responses to “Back in the saddle again”

  1. Blue Opal Says:

    Dang – if that’s your unedited picture, I don’t dare post mine. I look horrendous 😦

  2. art Says:

    naw, naw!! i just looked at myself with my eye spy web cam, and i look hideous, with the grocery bags under my eyes, and the last top toof sticking out! and then, theres the receding hairline! and its 6:30 am sunday morning too!! heres an idea for ya, video yourself preparing one of your fancy meals and submit it to the food channel, and i betcha they will give you your own cooking show! “live from the kitchen of kar, its the cuisine de kar show” YAY!!! imagine the possibilities!!

  3. You look better in that candid shot than I have ever looked in my entire life!

  4. terri t. Says:

    You are a brave woman and you can cook too! The picture of all the different foods looked so yummy, I wanted to lick the monitor.
    I am sure you must be happy to be back in the kitchen again and life sounds very good in your neighborhood.
    Loved the previous picture of the family at home….too

  5. Shippie Says:

    So great to hear you are cooking again!! wooo hoo! And I need that bulgogi recipe….i got a hankerin!!

  6. Sleepyjane Says:

    As always your food makes my mouth water!! Seriously, sometimes I wish I could cook (read: enjoyed cooking) just so I could turn out something as amazing like that. 🙂

  7. michele Says:

    that is SUCH a great idea!! to get together kind of like a potluck thing. and your dinner looks dee-lish!!! nicely done!

  8. Aimee Says:

    And you just had a baby. Don’t mind me if I am a little bitter and resentful!


Leave a Reply

