The Mind of Bluesleepy

And I send a smile to you 29 September 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 9:55 pm

I had entirely too much fun yesterday.  I really shouldn’t be allowed to have so much fun.

First up, it was the Taste of Rhode Island, which we attended with our friend Pamela and her daughter Sophia.  We had bought tickets earlier in the week from MWR (Morale, Welfare, and Recreation for you civilian people) because they were $2 cheaper.  We didn’t think to check the weather forecast for Sunday beforehand, however.  It rained all day Friday.  It rained all day Saturday.  It was forecasted to rain all day Sunday, especially with Hurricane Kyle making landfall.

Yeah, we didn’t think this through all that well.

The lack of good weather is probably what scored us such excellent parking, however.  We found a metered spot right there on Thames Street, just across the street from where the Taste of Rhode Island was being held. Even better, there was an hour left on the meter!!  I shoved enough quarters inside for a total of three hours, and we were on our way.

Fortunately, the festival was almost completely under tents.  They had a covered stage between the tents, with tables between that weren’t under cover, and that was just about the extent of what was subjected to the elements.  And we actually didn’t get much rain yesterday!  The sun even came out for a little while and made a vain attempt at drying things out.

The food was really, really good!  I was surprised, however, to notice that most of the restaurants and businesses represented weren’t from Newport at all.  You’d think the Newport restaurants would have set up some booths so that people could sample their food and then decide to catch dinner at a local restaurant before going back home again.  At least, that’s what I would do, if I had a restaurant here in town.

I guess at other cities’ Taste of… Festivals, you either buy a ticket and get a zillion samples for free, or you get into the festival free and pay for your food.  Rhode Island makes you buy a ticket, and then purchase your food as well.  Granted, the servings were meal-sized, but I’d rather eat a ton of little samples from many restaurants than get a meal-sized portion from one restaurant.

My meal

That said, my meal was absolutely delicious.  On the left, you see seared scallops with proscuitto on a bed of native corn pudding.  It was unbelievably scrumptious.  The scallops were cooked to perfection and not rubbery at all — which is hard to do when you’re keeping the scallops warm in an aluminum pan over a small flame.  And the pairing of the proscuitto and the corn pudding was divine.  It was five tokens for that dish (equivalent to $5), but it was very, very worth it.

On the right, you see plantains, only the restaurant selling them spelled it “plantens.”  However you spell it, they were good!!  And they did a good job of filling me up the rest of the way.

For dessert, Pamela and I shared a slice of Italian mascarpone cake.  I didn’t take a photo of it.  You’d end up drooling all over your keyboard and trying to lick your monitor if I had taken one, so it’s probably for the best that I didn’t.

You know, I kept running into some folks that reminded me of Poolagirl all day yesterday.  I’m not quite sure why or how they reminded me of her, though…

Pirates -- again!

Hahaha! Just kidding. Ofcourse I know why they reminded me of our own Captain Pie-Rat!  Don’t you think she would have felt right at home at this table?

As if going to the festival all day long with good friends weren’t fun enough, then we stopped by Pamela’s house and absconded with her husband Vic, who had been working on homework for his new training class all day.  We brought everyone back to our house, where Kurt made pizza for dinner.  Yummy!  Pamela had even bought some raspberry sorbet which was so very, very delicious for dessert.  It was the perfect ending to our day!

But wait!  I wasn’t done yet!  I had forgotten till the last minute that I was supposed to head over to my neighbor’s house for a movie night.  Usually we watch “Army Wives” on Lifetime, but it wasn’t airing last night.  Instead we watched the Keira Knightley version of Pride and Prejudice, which was good — but it isn’t the A&E version.  Keira Knightley does very well, as does the man playing Darcy, but he’s no Colin Firth.  And Wickham.  I just couldn’t take that Wickham seriously.  Give me the A&E version any day.

We also decided to partake in some adult beverages.  Most folks were drinking wine, some were drinking martinis, and I was drinking mojitos.  Someone had brought the ones that come pre-made in the jug, so there wasn’t a whole lot of mint flavor going on.  In fact, they tasted more like a margarita than a mojito — but I’m not complaining!

I had too many, I know that.  But I only had to walk a few houses down, through the backyards, to get back to my house.  And it was a ton of fun, let me tell you — especially since half of us were experts on the A&E version, while the other half had only seen the latest rendition.  One of the group had never seen the movie at all, in either version, and while explaining things to her, I realized how well I know this movie, and how easily I am able to pick up on certain things because I’ve seen it so many times.  And reading the book a gajillion times doesn’t hurt either.

Basically I had well over twelve hours of non-stop fun yesterday.  I think I’m getting spoiled!

 

10 Responses to “And I send a smile to you”

  1. Blue Opal Says:

    Wow – that DOES sound like a lot of fun! I think I’d pass on the mojitos but otherwise – yeah, I could definitely have gone for the scallops. Never had plantains but I’m game for trying ’em.

  2. michele Says:

    ya know, down here they call those either platanos or maduros. i guess maybe that’s a regional thing?? and yes, they are delicious!!! i am SO glad you had fun. i love going to those kinds of things.

    ps– have you ever had tostones before? they’re yummy, too.

  3. Elle Says:

    YUM sounds like a perfectly delicious day! And re: mojitos – I was just pulling up all the errant mint from my backyard, anticipating the new stuff (oh yeah, there’ll be new stuff – mint NEVER dies…) and the new Mojitos. I’ll save you a REAL one!

  4. art Says:

    that food looks yummy!!! ive never had plaintains before? is thata fruit? looka a lil like peaches! or is that pastry? honest! i never heard or seen them before!!

  5. Chelle Says:

    It sounds like you had a fabulous time! And I agree with your assessment of Pride and Prejudice…there is no replacing Colin Firth as Darcy and Jennifer Ehle as Elizabeth.

  6. terri t. Says:

    Once again, your description with picture accessories.. make me hungry. Girl, you are making me fat just by looking at the pictures.

    Sounds like you had a great day……

  7. Shippie Says:

    MMMmmmmmm, me loves plantains! You got me drooling enough looking at those! So glad you got out and had such a great time! And surrounded by food…oh my, you must have been in heaven!

  8. yankeechick Says:

    They are called plantains here and we sell them mostly to Hispanics. Marcos had cooked (fried) some and brought them to us one day. Very good!! Sounds like a great day. It’s great that you get out and do so much more with people that you have met there than you did in WA.

  9. cardiogirl Says:

    I just tried plantains for the first time this past summer. They were a pleasant, tasty surprise. But I’ve never seen them on a menu before (though we don’t eat out much).

  10. wordsofmine Says:

    Wow, 12 hours of fun. I’d have to have a day’s worth of rest to do it again. I don’t believe I’ve ever had plantains before so I can’t respond to that. I just take everyones’ responses be looking for them when I’m out.


Leave a Reply

