The Mind of Bluesleepy

Where does it go? 6 October 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:37 pm

Where does the time go?  One moment it’s 8pm, and I have all the time in the world to get things done.  The next time I look up, it’s 10pm and I have to start thinking about going to sleep!  I just lost two hours of my life, and I have no idea where they went.

The time is flying by so quickly.  When Grace was first born, people would approach me to coo over her, and they’d always say, “Enjoy it now.  They grow up so quickly!”  I knew that was true, but it didn’t seem like time was passing either too quickly or too slowly.  Time marched on, but at a reasonable rate.

With Mary Ellen, it’s totally different.  Not only does Grace turn four years old tomorrow (!!!), but Mary Ellen will be four weeks old.  Four weeks!!  So already four weeks ago at this time, I had just gotten my pitocin about an hour before, and I was starting to feel the contractions kicking in.

Can it really be four weeks already?

Amazing.

Next thing I know, Grace will be graduating from high school and Mary Ellen will be bringing her first boyfriend home.  It’s enough to make my head spin!

Yesterday my neighborhood friends and I visited the Lizzie Borden Bed & Breakfast in Fall River, Massachusetts.  In case you are not familiar with the subject, Lizzie Borden was the prime suspect in the brutal murder of her father and stepmother back in the summer of 1892.  She was ultimately acquitted of the crime, but most people believe she was the killer.

In fact, most children grow up knowing the rhyme about her:

Lizzie Borden took an axe
Gave her mother forty whacks
When she saw what she had done
She gave her father forty-one!

The case got national attention back in 1892. The murders were so very brutal, and it was highly unusual for a woman to be the prime suspect in such a heinous crime.  Ever since, it’s come down through the generations as part of American folklore.

I’ve always been fascinated by the Lizzie Borden case.  It amazes me that people can do such horrific things to one another, and the fact that the case has never been officially solved intrigues me.  I’ve seen several documentaries on her, so for me to have been able to visit the home where the murders occurred was amazing. (You can read the Wikipedia article on Lizzie Borden HERE.)

I took quite a few photos yesterday on our visit.  Some visitors say they have caught ghosts in the photos they’ve taken at the house, but I wasn’t so lucky.  I was fine as we walked throughout the house, never feeling scared or nervous or anything, even though most people feel some sort of presence there.  I’m not one to believe in a whole lot of ghost hocus-pocus, but I tell you what — when I entered the room on the third floor that was supposedly haunted by the ghosts of some little boys who had died next door, the hairs on the back of my neck raised up.  I couldn’t get out of the room quickly enough.  I don’t know what it was, but there was something that just wasn’t quite right in that room.  It’s odd that it happened in a room that was just used as storage when the Bordens lived there.  Whatever it is about that room, it freaked me out.

It was a fun little outing with my friends.  If you’re interested in seeing the photos I took, including the photos of the crime scene taken back in 1892, you can see them HERE.

Tonight I didn’t feel like cooking.  I had planned on eating leftovers anyhow since I made a huge pot of baked pasta on Saturday.  But then I realized that Kurt’s got class tomorrow, and I really hate cooking on the days he has class.  He has to leave at 5:45pm since he’s got to head all the way up to Warwick, which makes for a very early dinner.  And I just don’t feel like cooking since I have to start at 4 or 4:30pm.

Instead we decided to go out to dinner.  I also got the bright idea to call my friend Pamela and see if her family wanted to join us.  It’s always hard for me to remember to do things like that.  I’ve had so many friends over the years that would never go out that it is hard for me to remember that not everyone is like that.  Some of my friends wouldn’t go out to dinner because they were married to anti-social men who would never want to go out but yet wanted their wives to stay at home with them — and it happens more often than you would think!  I’ve had friends that never wanted to go out because they wouldn’t want to spend the money.  I understand if you haven’t got the money to spend, but I’ve known many people who pinched pennies so hard poor Lincoln would start screaming in pain.

So it always amazes me to find someone like me who’s willing to go out at the last second and who doesn’t have to worry about the money or the husband.  And Kurt knew Vic, Pamela’s husband, well before I even met them because they work together.  Since they’re already friends, the men have no problem hanging out while Pamela and I chatter away at each other.

And I tell you what — I am so thrilled to be friends with someone who’s willing to share a tiramisu with me!!  Kurt won’t eat the stuff because it contains coffee.  Yet the man likes Kahlúa.  Go figure!

 

8 Responses to “Where does it go?”

  1. becca Says:

    that sounds good. i am interested in things like that. I really do have a little fascination with unsolved crimes of yesteryear, they sort of make them more mysterious. It did look likely to be her but I dont think the story would be quite as interesting if it was an open shut case. I do love the history of Jack the Ripper ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jack_The_Ripper ) but it is the darkness and mystery that keeps it alive and full of twists and turns.

  2. michele Says:

    your photos of Fall River inspired me to look up more info about Lizzie Borden. i found myself reading pages and pages on the internet and not getting any work done! oops! 🙂

  3. sleepyjane Says:

    I googled her too. 😉 And as Michele, I didn’t get a whole lot of work done. I love unsolved mysteries, and I think I take after my dad that way. I really laughed at him the other night. He LOVES ghost stories etc…like Ghost Hunters. And so he tells me the next day; “We have a ghost (looking chuffed), your mom and I heard a door creak and I walked through the house testing all the doors and all of them were fine. Yup, we have a ghost.” And then he goes on; (only half teasing) “You should show me how your camera works, maybe I can catch some orbs.”

  4. sleepyjane Says:

    Oh and your title remined me of a song, it’s not exactly the lyrics I was thinking of but when I read it that song immediatly popped up.

    Tegan and Sara’s “Where does the good go” – have you heard it?

  5. art Says:

    i had some tiramisu a few weeks ago!!!! YUM!!! happy birthday, grace!!! they DO grow up fast!!

  6. Aimee Says:

    Yikes, my baby is about to be six. I still think of him as a baby too. It does fly. It seems more like yesterday than 4 weeks ago that you were in labor!

  7. requiel Says:

    That is so cool! I loved the pics. I don’t know why I have such a fascination with things like that.

  8. Blue Opal Says:

    I think most of us are fascinated by the story of Lizzie Bordon – or any old time mysteries, particularly if they’re accompanied by ghost stories of any sort. Your photos are a bit eerie despite the lack of visible ghosts. What an interesting visit!


Leave a Reply

