The Mind of Bluesleepy

Four years ago 7 October 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 7:21 pm

Four years ago, this is what Grace looked like:

One of Grace's first photos

She was just a few hours old at this point. Kurt took this photo after she had been airlifted to Seattle Children’s Hospital.  I was still at Bremerton Naval Hospital, where I had delivered her.  I wouldn’t get to see her till the afternoon of the 8th, when she had been born at 7:09pm on the 7th.  But Kurt was with her, and he took good care of her.

It’s mind-boggling to look at this photo.  To me, it looks just like Mary Ellen does right now at four weeks old.  But then again, Grace was two weeks overdue, and Mary Ellen was almost three weeks early.

And now look at her!

Happy birthday, baby girl

My baby is all growed up!

She had such a blast today.  I had made cupcakes to take to her preschool, and her teachers put candles in them and got the whole class to sing “Happy Birthday” to her.  That’s the benefit to being the parent of a peanut-allergic kid — I made cupcakes that all the children could eat without having to do anything special!  She’s not the only peanut-allergic kid in her class; this semester there are three kids in total.  One of the three can have peanuts but not peanut butter.  That, I don’t get, but whatever.

After she got home, it was naptime.  I am such a mean mommy, to make her nap on her birthday.  But she seriously needed it.  She’s got a bit of a cold, probably due to the change in the weather, and she’s been getting run-down so easily this week.  And it didn’t help that she got vaccinations yesterday.  She napped for about two hours, and she was much happier once she woke up.

This afternoon was present opening!  We didn’t do a cake since she’d had cupcakes at school, and then on Friday I plan on having my neighborhood friends come over for cake and ice cream.  So it was just presents today.  She got some really cool things — like a fire truck and a fire rescue helicopter, some really neat Melissa & Doug toys from “auntie” Caroline, some books from my parents, and a Disney Princess nightie and some toys from the movie WALL-E.  She’s been trying to show Mary Ellen the toys she’s received for her birthday, but poor Mary Ellen has been sleeping all evening long!

Tonight we’re being really low-key.  Mary Ellen is passed out on the floor, snoozing the evening away.  She gets very uncomfortable in her swing sometimes, which is why I have her laying on a blanket on the floor.  Ideally I’d love to get one of those swings where the cushion is more baby-shaped, but I can’t justify the expense when she won’t small enough for it for much longer.  So the floor it is.

Grace is lining up all her cars on the couch, with her new firetruck having pride of place at the head of the line.  I tried to capture her play-acting with the firetruck earlier, but of course she noticed the camera and quit play-acting.  Bah humbug.

Kurt’s at class right now, or at least I hope so.  He called me to tell me he was stuck in traffic, barely moving.  He still hadn’t gotten to class by 6:30, when his class started, so I’m hoping he’s there by now.

And me, I’m listening to my good buddy Elle’s radio program over the internet, where I learned that Grace shares her birthday with Bon Jovi’s drummer Tico Torres.  He’s now 55 years old.  It boggles my mind that these rockers from my childhood are still out there, and still rocking — but they’re old enough to be grandparents.  Scary thought!

Just a quiet evening in the Bluesleepy household!  Gotta love it.

Edited to add: And thanks, Elle, for that shout-out to Gracie wishing her a happy birthday during your radio program!!  Grace was so thrilled to hear her name come out of my computer.

 

12 Responses to “Four years ago”

  1. boxx Says:

    Happy Birthday Grace. She does look so grown up. Age 4 was such a sweet time My *baby* (age 24) is expecting a baby of her own on Dec. 6th.

  2. beanie Says:

    She is so pretty! And her baby pictures looks so much like Kurt!

  3. Happy Birthday sweet Gracie! Wow time flies. She is just adorable too. You know I was lucky enough to get a Baby Papasan swing from a friend when Ethan was little. I borrowed it from her because her daughter didn’t like it. It sang and had a little sheer curtan around it with stars lighting up that rotated. It was amazing, and Ethan would sleep in that thing for hours in the living room with us. Maybe you could look on Criag’s List. Because honestly, that thing was a GOD SEND! But you’re right, too expensive to use for just three or four months!

  4. becca Says:

    Happy birthday Grace. 🙂

  5. Sleepyjane Says:

    Happy birthday Grace!! 🙂

  6. Shear Says:

    Happy Birthday, Gracie!

  7. purple chai Says:

    Happy Birthday, Grace!

  8. michele Says:

    {hanging her head down in shame} sorry sweet Gracie that Auntie Chele sent your present a little late. but… there are really *2* presents in there for ya, honey.

    Sis, the more you talk about Gracie the more I am reminded of you at her age. Besides being so damned cute, you also preferred to play with your cars and trucks, etc. You liked babies and Barbies but just not quite as much. Do you still have the picture of the car stuck in your hair? That’s one of my fave pics of you!

    And Sweet Mary Ellen.. know that Auntie Chele love you, too. Perhaps mommy or Gracie can give you big kisses for me.

    🙂

  9. Aimee Says:

    Happy birthday Grace!!!! PS RYC: You are so that woman too. All you need to do is speak your mind and not worry what anyone thinks of your opinion. I never meant to do anything special on campus, I was just fed up and said so. That’s all it takes.

  10. art Says:

    happy birthday grace!!! yay!

  11. terri t. Says:

    Happy 4th Birthday, Gracie! I bet you have a wonderful time sharing cake and ice cream with your friends. Sounds like a lovely evening was had by all.

  12. cardiogirl Says:

    Look how sweet that face is — then and now! Happy Birthday Grace!


Leave a Reply

