The Mind of Bluesleepy

Time to party 10 October 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 11:56 pm

Whew!!  Thank goodness I throw a good party!!

It all started with our good friends, the C Family, coming over for dinner.  I made some delicious pork tacos with caramelized onions, which were a huge hit.  I think this is going to be my go-to recipe for company.  It is so delicious, yet so very easy to make.  The hardest part for me was standing over the stove and toasting the tortillas — and that’s not hard at all.

Apparently it was hard for me to remember to turn the flame off under my cast iron pan when I was done toasting the tortillas, but I can’t be expected to remember everything, right??

Oh, you don’t toast your tortillas??  Whyever not?  It seriously adds a lot to the flavor of your tortillas.  Start with your preferred size of flour tortillas.  Spray both sides of each tortilla gently with cooking spray.  While you’re doing that, heat a cast iron pan on your stove on medium to medium-high heat.  Once the pan is hot, throw a tortilla into the pan.  Let it sit (though Kurt loves to keep turning the tortilla as it’s toasting, but I don’t have asbestos hands like he does) until you see it start to bubble.  Flip the tortilla and let the other side toast.  Remove from the pan, lather, rinse, repeat.  It takes a minute or two for each tortilla, but it’s very, very worth it.

Kurt learned this from his Mexican ex-girlfriend.  He’s done it ever since, every time we eat something with tortillas.

As soon as dinner was over, it was time for Grace to open the gifts that our friends had bought.  And that is when I captured my favorite photo from the entire evening.

"WOOO HOOOO!!!"

She was so thrilled to receive a WALL-E book! She adores that movie and owns three WALL-E shirts.  I am okay with her overloading on WALL-E because she’s seen the movie, and she honestly loves it.  Of course, that may be because it’s the only movie she’s seen in the theatre.

We’re such awful parents.

Don’t you wish you were a little kid again?  When getting something so simple as a book is as exciting as Christmas morning?  When you don’t have to work at making friends, you just walk up to someone and tell them your name, and now you’re the best of friends?  When you have nothing to worry about except what games you’re going to play with your new best friends?

Not long after we finished opening presents, the other guests began to arrive.  The final count was four boys, ranging in age from 2 1/2 to 6, and one baby girl.  Grace loved having all boys over.  She can be a rather rough little girl, even though she can be ladylike when she wants to be.  She adored rough-housing and racing around and playing all kinds of active games with the boys.  Her face was bright red from all the chasing and running and jumping and wrestling.

I went into her room after she fell asleep to clean up a bit, and she didn’t even stir when I turned the light on.  She was exhausted!

We had borrowed a fire pit from our friends and planned to have the kids race around outside.  Kurt built the loveliest of fires in the pit, but we stayed inside for most of the party.  The children were fairly well-behaved, but there was one point at which they were being very, very loud.  Eventually half the guests went outside to let the kids run around and make as much noise as they want to, but I stayed inside.  I was on duty with Mary Ellen, and it was a bit chilly outside.

But you know, I think everyone had a fantastic time.  I had made these really delicious cupcakes without eggs since one of the guests had an egg allergy.  Take a box of cake mix, add the oil as directed, but instead of eggs — add a can of soda!  I made white cake, so I added a can of lemon-lime soda.  But you can try any flavor you want to!  Bake for five extra minutes than what is indicated on the box.  It turned out wonderfully!  The cupcakes were moist and light in texture.  Plus they’re not as bad for you, what with the lack of eggs.  It’d be vegan too, if you’re not the type to eat eggs.  I would highly recommend this substitution.

And if you thought that was the end of our good times this weekend, you’d be wrong!  Tomorrow Angela comes to visit to help celebrate both her birthday today and Grace’s birthday.  YAY!!  I can’t wait!

 

10 Responses to “Time to party”

  1. cardiogirl Says:

    “Don’t you wish you were a little kid again? … When you don’t have to work at making friends, you just walk up to someone and tell them your name, and now you’re the best of friends?”

    Yes. Yes I do.

  2. beanie Says:

    Happy birthday to Grace!!

  3. Elle Says:

    Yay for a great party! I’m in process of putting one together for Max at the end of the month. I’ll definitely add the tortilla toast to the mexican food process here!

  4. Aimee Says:

    Look at her face! Her pure joy makes me smile!

  5. Happiest of birthdays to Grace! What an adorable picture!

  6. Blue Opal Says:

    Happy birthday to Gracie 😀 She’s such a gorgeous little girl – takes after her mama, obviously! And yeah, life is so much less complicated at that age. It’ll start getting interesting about the time she starts school, lol.

  7. terri t. Says:

    You really know how to celebrate a birthday….wow..a weekend of fun and friends and food….what more could we ask for?

    Loved the picture, I could almost hear her squealing with joy!!

    and what a great tip for eggless cupcakes. I never would have known.

  8. Michele Says:

    YAY!!! So glad that Gracie had a great birthday! *smooch*

    Ironically, I also toast my tortillas before using them. I don’t have flame-retardant hands either, but I do turn them using a pair of tongs. Yummy!!

    ps– i know you don’t have a Super Target near you, but just thought it was cool to mention that Cherrybrook Farms is now selling premade frosting & cake mixes that are peanut-free and processes in a plant that is nut-free, etc. i thought that was pretty cool.

  9. Shippie Says:

    SUCH a great picture! Happy Birthday Gracie!

  10. sleepyjane Says:

    That is possibly the cutest picture in the history of birthday pictures. Such happiness and it’s such a simple thing really. But still, so awesome that she smiles that wide because of it. 🙂 I also wish I was a kid again!!


Leave a Reply

