The Mind of Bluesleepy

Candle in the wind 26 October 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 11:58 am

Your result for Are You a Jackie or a Marilyn? Or Someone Else? Mad Men-era Female Icon Quiz…

You Are a Marilyn!

mm.marilyn_.jpg

You are a Marilyn — “I am affectionate and skeptical.”

Marilyns are responsible, trustworthy, and value loyalty to family, friends, groups, and causes. Their personalities range broadly from reserved and timid to outspoken and confrontative.

How to Get Along with Me

  • * Be direct and clear
  • * Listen to me carefully
  • * Don’t judge me for my anxiety
  • * Work things through with me
  • * Reassure me that everything is OK between us
  • * Laugh and make jokes with me
  • * Gently push me toward new experiences
  • * Try not to overreact to my overreacting.

What I Like About Being a Marilyn

  • * being committed and faithful to family and friends
  • * being responsible and hardworking
  • * being compassionate toward others
  • * having intellect and wit
  • * being a nonconformist
  • * confronting danger bravely
  • * being direct and assertive

What’s Hard About Being a Marilyn

  • * the constant push and pull involved in trying to make up my mind
  • * procrastinating because of fear of failure; having little confidence in myself
  • * fearing being abandoned or taken advantage of
  • * exhausting myself by worrying and scanning for danger
  • * wishing I had a rule book at work so I could do everything right
  • * being too critical of myself when I haven’t lived up to my expectations

Marilyns as Children Often

  • * are friendly, likable, and dependable, and/or sarcastic, bossy, and stubborn
  • * are anxious and hypervigilant; anticipate danger
  • * form a team of “us against them” with a best friend or parent
  • * look to groups or authorities to protect them and/or question authority and rebel
  • * are neglected or abused, come from unpredictable or alcoholic families, and/or take on the fearfulness of an overly anxious parent

Marilyns as Parents

  • * are often loving, nurturing, and have a strong sense of duty
  • * are sometimes reluctant to give their children independence
  • * worry more than most that their children will get hurt
  • * sometimes have trouble saying no and setting boundaries

Take Are You a Jackie or a Marilyn? Or Someone Else? Mad Men-era Female Icon Quiz at HelloQuizzy

********************************************************

Amazingly enough, a lot of that is spot-on.  What isn’t is the part about scanning for danger; I’m too easy-going for that.  And I never did form an “us against them” team with anyone.  I also am a huge fan of making my kids as independent as possible, and I am not a worry-wart parent.  But the rest of it?  Dead on.

Apparently I have been channeling Marilyn Monroe lately.  I took one of those “just for the hell of it” quizzes over on Facebook and got the result that I was Marilyn in a past life.  Only they spelled it “Marylin.”  Blargh.

I guess no one making the quizzes over on Facebook know how to spell.  I took another quiz about which 1950s pin-up girl are you, and got the result Jayne Mansfield — only it was spelled “Jane Mansfeild.”

I joined a group on Facebook called “People Who Always Have to Spell Their Names for Other People” and realized I don’t have it quite as badly as most people do.  At least I have a common name, just one that is spelled uncommonly.  A lot of the posters on that group have names that are unpronounceable to the masses, as well as hard to spell.  Most of the time I will tell someone my name and not care that they spell it “Carol” because it usually doesn’t matter.  But it is frustrating when they ask me how to spell it, and I start off with “K-A-R..” but they’ve already written a C.  So then they make a line down the C to turn it into a K, and they’re so focused on that they don’t hear me finish with “Y-L” so they’re utterly confused.  And then there’s always a comment about it.  Yes, thank you.  I’ve heard it all.

What bothers me the most about my name is when people don’t even try to pronounce it.  We were at the DMV on Thursday to get the minivan registered in Rhode Island, and the gentleman behind the counter was talking to us about the fact that we’re both registered as co-owners.  So he said, “OK, Kurt signs here, and….”  I know he was going to say, “Karyl signs here,” but he just didn’t want to attempt pronouncing my name.  I gave him a few seconds, hoping he’d make the attempt, but he didn’t.  So finally I sighed and said, “Karyl.”

At which point he perked up, and finished with, “And Karyl signs here!”

About 75% of the time, folks get my name right.  So I know it’s not impossible.  But now you know why I named my kids “Grace” and “Mary”!!

About Mary Ellen, though — it’s already causing issues, which I cannot fathom at all.  For one thing, I always call her “Mary Ellen,” so when her name is called at the doctor’s office, I get a bit confused.  But mainly, people always want to know whether Mary Ellen is her first name, or if it’s her first and middle names.  I don’t really see how it matters; we call her Mary Ellen regardless.  And when we tell people that it’s her first and middle names (because people without middle names can have issues), but that we call her by both, they insist on calling her just “Mary.”

Oh well.  Maybe when she’s 12 she’ll want to be called Mary.  Or Ellen.  Or Elle.  Or Emme.  That was the other thing we were going to call her, was Emme.  Get it?  EM-EE.  M-E!!  Heh.  I am so clever.  I may have to switch to that, just so people will leave me alone about her name.  Sheesh.

 

9 Responses to “Candle in the wind”

  1. purple chai Says:

    I’m not on Facebook, but that’s the group for me. I just tell people that my mother spelled it wrong and I’m stuck with it. My sister got the single most common name for girls in the late 1940s — Barbara — and I got to have the unique name. Lucky me.

  2. sleepyjane Says:

    I am so glad my mom gave me one normal name. Apparently they wanted to spell it “Nichole” first and then decided against it. I’m sure people would still have had problems with it even though it’s still pronounced the same and just spelt differently. *sigh*

    I can see how some people would say Mary only when they don’t know you though, most people just go by their first names, however if people you know (and know you) still only call her Mary instead of Mary Ellen like they should have heard you do, then I would also be frustrated.

    I still love the name. It’s so feminine and pretty!

  3. Caroline Says:

    You know I get a bit confused too at the ped’s office when I take Alex in because they call him Dennis. And when the doc comes, she’s all talking to him “Hey Dennis! How are you today? You being a big boy Dennis for mommy?” So, yea it throws me for a loop every time even though he’s 13 months old! Anyhow, I love Mary Ellen and how you call her that. I don’t see why people are all confused about that. . silly people.

  4. Shippie Says:

    I’m a “Jackie” WOo hoo, lol! Can we be friends still???
    Names are just weird, period. Seems as if the last few years we’ve been on this fit where it’s assumed the spelling of peoples names has to be anything but the obvious. People will ask me the spelling of my name…which is A-M-Y…pretty obvious eh? But they always assume it has to be Aimee, or Aymee ….geez!! Drives me. So just so you know….you don’t have to have a different or unusual way of spelling your name to get frustrating questions! Ok, back to watching football now….

  5. art Says:

    Mary Ellen is to me anyway, such a common name, like corn on the cob; Mary and Ellen go together. like Rose Ann. as for the spelling, as you know, its a great pet peeve of mine. i really do not think they teach spelling anymore in school! i mean, why bother? what with keyboards and spell check and such common usages, does anyone even take PEN to PAPER anymore and actually WRITE? i wonder…….

  6. michele Says:

    I like “Mary Ellen”… has a nice ring to it versus just “Mary” by itself.

    And at least you have ME to commiserate with… while I don’t use the “K” name anymore, it’s a challenge getting people to spell my name without two Ls.

    Just think, we haven’t even talked about our maiden name…heh heh….

    love you!

  7. Blue Opal Says:

    Well I grew up in the midwest with “LeiLani”, so my kids are named, in chronological order: David, Lisa, Daniel and Laura. No oddball versions for me, LOL. It doesn’t help any that their last name goes on forever and ever!

  8. Elle Says:

    I am an Ellen Mary, mainly because there were so many Mary Ellen’s in the world of the ’60’s. My friend Mary Ellen gets called Emme. I’m shortened to Elle (or El, for my really really shorthanded friends…)

  9. karmacat Says:

    Ah, yes, the C turned into a K. Heh. And Mom is Cathleen, so she gets all the Ks.


Leave a Reply

