The Mind of Bluesleepy

Getting my cook on 27 October 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:27 pm

I know better than to overdo it on the wine.  The last time I drank too much wine was New Year’s Eve, 2006.  Kurt was out to sea, so I had my neighbors over for a night of playing board games and watching the fireworks go off above the Space Needle on tv.  My guests brought beer and wine to drink, which I thought was awfully nice of them.  We three women drank six bottles of red wine before the party finally broke up at 5:30am.  That much wine made me feel like absolute crap the next day, as I am sure you can imagine.

Last night I drank mostly white wine, a pinot grigio my friends had on hand.  I only had four glasses, but they were BIG glasses of wine.

By the time I got home sometime after 1am, I was three sheets to the wind, and Kurt couldn’t stop laughing at me.  But I wasn’t laughing this morning.  My head hurt, and I was still a bit unsteady on my feet.  Fortunately, it was nothing that a couple of Tylenol, lots of water, and a few cups of coffee couldn’t fix.

Thank God Gracie didn’t have preschool this morning!!  I never could have gotten up at 6:30 to drive her in.

Last night I roasted a chicken, as per my good friend Elle’s instructions.  Take a chicken, remove the giblets, rub it down with olive oil, and sprinkle with Cajun seasoning, tarragon, oregano, and garlic powder.  Roast at 400º for an hour and fifteen minutes, or an hour and a half if you have a bird that’s four pounds.  Let rest for at least fifteen minutes before slicing.

Roast chicken
(Apologies to my vegetarian friends)

Let me tell you, it is the most delicious thing ever.  And it’s easy!  And it’s cheap!  I paid $2.30 for my fryer, though I do realize that the price of chicken at the civilian stores is probably much higher.

We ate half of it last night, and Kurt shredded the rest of it for dinner tonight.  I wanted to make Chicken Tetrazzini, but it seemed like a little too much work.  That, and I didn’t have any mushrooms on hand.

Instead I found a recipe online for chicken & dumplings, but I ended up tweaking it to satisfy my own desires. That’s the beauty of cooking!  You can throw this in, or that in, or change it slightly, or substitute an ingredient you have on hand so you don’t have to run to the grocery store.  Slowly I am learning how to do this, to move away from cooking solely by recipe.  Baby steps!

Tonight I started with a mirepoix.

Mirepoix

That’s just a fancy way to say, “onion, celery, and carrot.”  I used one smallish onion, one stalk of celery, and two carrots.  I cut them all up to be the same general size so they would cook evenly.  Then I threw them into a fry pan and sauteed them with a bit of olive oil and a pinch of salt.  In French cooking, mirepoix is sauteed in butter, but I never think to use it.  My olive oil is always on my counter, so I use that 90% of the time.

While the mirepoix was softening, I added 5½ cups of water, 3 tsp of chicken bouillon grandules, and two cans of cream of chicken soup, the 98% fat-free stuff.  As it came up to a boil, I threw in the mirepoix and the shredded chicken, about two cups, that I had left over from last night.  Then I made up some dumpling dough, following the directions on the box of the Heart-Healthy Bisquick mix, and dropped the dumpling dough into the boiling soup.  Reduce heat, simmer uncovered for ten minutes, then cover and simmer ten more minutes.

The end result??

Final product

Now doesn’t that look delicious?? I also had Kurt input the recipe into WeightWatchers.com, and made with the reduced-fat cream of chicken soup, as well as the Heart-Healthy Bisquick, it’s just six points per serving!!  Kurt gets 40 points a day, so six points is nothing to him.  If you eat the soup without a dumpling, it’s just four points.  But trust me — the dumpling is worth the extra two points.

Plus it was cheap!!  I used the other half of the $2.30 chicken, and everything else I already had in my cupboards.  I love it!

The only thing that could have made this meal any better was if it were really, really cold outside.  It was fairly warm today, up into the 60s.  I can only imagine how delicious this will be when it’s cold and snowy out!

 

9 Responses to “Getting my cook on”

  1. Blue Opal Says:

    That sounds really yummy. I haven’t ever attempted using Bisquick for dumplings though – would rather take the extra hit to make my own from scratch.

  2. sleepyjane Says:

    OMW. I really should know better than to come here before I had any bfast! That looks delicious!

  3. Shear Says:

    I love love love chicken and dumplings. You are cooking soul food now! yummy!!!

  4. becca Says:

    hhhhhhhhhhhhmmmmmmmmmm, i’ve been wanting soup for days as it is. gonna have to cook some vege soup later now!! 🙂

  5. michele Says:

    hey, you don’t have to apologize sweetie… it DOES look delicious. and, shhh….. i would still have a small bowl of the soup (esp since YOU made it) so long as the meat itself was removed…. yum!

    and it’s neat that i’ve learned a new word regarding cooking. i still love making the Pasta Fagoili (sp?) recips that you gave to me long ago.

  6. michele Says:

    FORTY POINTS!!! waaaaaaaaah that’s not fair! When I did the program I got half of that. And, boy does that go fast.

    Damn men! (lol 🙂 )

  7. jen Says:

    did i ever tell you i save a lot of your recipes in my feed reader to try someday? so far I have only made the bulgogi, but it was so delicious. This is definitely one I will be trying soon – along with that shredded pork I sometimes dream about 🙂

  8. Elle Says:

    Ooh, warm chicken goodness – great minds think alike. I’m planning homemade chicken noodle soup for this evening. It is as cool as it gets for November down here, and I have to enjoy it.

  9. cardiogirl Says:

    WOW! I just might have to give that whole chicken thing a whirl. It seems pretty easy, if I do, I’ll report back.

    But don’t hold your breath.


Leave a Reply

