The Mind of Bluesleepy

Full of crap 29 October 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:50 pm

Today didn’t start out badly, per se.  I woke up before Mary Ellen and had time to eat and get the coffee going before she wanted to be fed.  I had nothing scheduled for the morning, so I could take my time and do things slowly.

The day got hectic just after noon.  My friend’s husband had had surgery this morning, and the doctors asked her not to leave him alone for a while, so I offered to pick him up from school.  The thing is, Kurt had to be back at work at exactly 1:30 because he had to teach right away.  So I had to rush out right away and pick him up.

It was very reassuring to see the safety measures in place at his preschool.  At Grace’s preschool, you have to input a code just to get into the front door, so when I went to this boy’s school and was able to walk right in, that was a little different for me.  But then I had to show my ID to prove my identity, and the teacher checked my name against the letter that my friend had sent in to make sure I had authority to pick him up.  It’s nice to know that folks can’t come in off the street and leave with a child not belonging to them.

Once I came home, everything settled down again.  I love my friend’s son.  He and Grace always play together quite well, so I can send them into Grace’s room and not really have to think about them anymore.  He did start crying at one point, so I went in to investigate.  I don’t know what was bothering him, but I cuddled with him on my lap and eventually he felt better.  Then he and Grace put together this enormous alphabet puzzle my mom had given her when I had Mary Ellen; he would tell Grace what the next letter to be placed was, and then retrieve it for her so she could put it in the puzzle.  The teamwork was really amazing, and it was so sweet to see.

Later this afternoon, I had to take Grace to swim lessons.  I’d been playing Word Twist over on Facebook until it was time for me to leave, but I figured it’d only take me a few moments to put Mary Ellen in her car seat and get Gracie out the door.

Ha ha frickin’ ha.  Famous last words.

As I picked up Mary Ellen, I felt a wetness.  Initially I thought I would let her be a little damp till I got to the pool, where I could lay her on the benches and put a clean diaper on her.  But then I looked harder and realized it wasn’t pee.  Folks, she’d had a blowout.

There was poo all up her front and pooled on one side of her belly.  And it had even soaked through her onesie and her romper as well.

All together now — “ewwwwwwwwwwwwwww!”

Dressing a newborn is quite a time commitment.  Mary Ellen can’t sit up on her own, she can’t put her own arms into her sleeves, and just getting her to ball up into fists so her fingers don’t get caught is a major undertaking.  At that point, I knew there was no way in hell we were going to get to swim lessons on time.

I changed her as quickly as I possibly could and probably used at least ten baby wipes.  That’s how bad the mess was!!  She even started kicking as I was changing her, which meant she ended up with poo on her heel that she then transferred to me.  Once she was clean, I had to set her clothing to soak, or else the stains would never come out.  Baby poo stains very, very easily.  I decided to scrub out her clothes as much as I could in a short time, so I squirted some foam soap onto her onesie.  Unfortunately, the foam decided to shoot all the way across the sink and counter and land directly on my shirt.  So in addition to wiping up baby poo, changing a baby’s outfit, and scrubbing poo off baby clothes, I had to change my own shirt.

Talk about a comedy of errors!

We made it to swim lessons just a few minutes late.  I always have Grace put her swim suit on here at the house, so she just had to tear off her outer clothes in the locker room and she was ready to go.

After swim lessons, I decided to head to BJ’s to pick up more formula since I got a couple of coupons in the mail yesterday.  And you know what?  They were out.  Of formula.  Of all things to be out of!!!  They had the soy version, and they had the sensitive version, and they had other brands — but not the brand of regular formula that I had a coupon for.  That was the whole reason I went to BJ’s!

I decided to go with the organic version, figuring that it’s pretty much the same thing as the regular stuff, and headed out.  Driving home was what sent me over the edge.  People here in Rhode Island have no consideration whatsoever for their fellow driver.  None.  If they can get somewhere faster than you can, no matter how dangerously they have to drive to do so, they will.  I take a shortcut road to get from BJ’s to my house, and during rush hour that road can have a lot of cars waiting to turn right onto the main road since that light has a No Turn on Red sign.  I saw one vehicle zooming past me on the left as I waited about twenty cars back from the light and thought nothing of it — until he made a right turn at the light from the left lane!  In front of a cop who was taking a break from directing traffic!  Of course, the cop did nothing.  What could he do, anyhow?

Once I turn onto the main road, I need to make a left onto the road that leads to my neighborhood.  But there was a ton of traffic going the other way, and several Rhode Island drivers, being the moronic jackasses that they are, decided to block the entrance to this other road.  I thought it was illegal to block an intersection in all states, but that is exactly what these people were doing.  And they looked right at me, waiting to make the left, as they inched up right on the bumper of the person in front of them to make sure there was no way I could turn left in front of them.

By the time I got home, I was boiling mad.  Fortunately Kurt came home and made dinner for the family since I was in no mood to cook.  And then I went out for coffee and dessert tonight with some friends, which went quite a ways towards cheering me up.

Really, how can you be angry or upset when you’ve got a peanut butter sundae sitting in front of you??  Yum!

 

7 Responses to “Full of crap”

  1. beanie Says:

    You just have to find your zen…. I feel sorry for people who drive that way because their lives are obviously stressful… they make it that way. Let them go, and just wait….

  2. sleepyjane Says:

    Haha! Sorry that the whole poo thing made me laugh! I read this blog: http://abadmommyblog.wordpress.com/2008/10/15/potty-mouth/ and her son actually ATE his diaper…or ate what was in it anyway….I know….EWWWWWW.

    She’s also South African and I met her and her son on Sat. 🙂

  3. Terri Says:

    Ah, the blowout! It’s so much more awful with little girls too. I used to keep a wet washcloth in a ziploc baggie in the diaper bag for such instances. These days? I barely leave the house with a box of wipes. Apparently I like to live dangerously after 5 kids!

  4. shear Says:

    (((hugs))) Sorry you had a bad day.

  5. purple chai Says:

    One of my nephews — the twin who just got married — didn’t sleep through the night until he was eight months old because he had a blowout like that in the middle of the night every night! They would double-sheet the crib before putting him in, because it would even require a sheet change! And of course, all the fuss woke up the other baby. Good thing he turned out to be such a good kid.

  6. michele Says:

    wow! that is a helluva day! (although, i have to agree to a point that it was a “comedy of errors”)

    i sure hope that today is MUCH better…

    besides, you should have a small envelope in your mailbox today!

  7. Aimee Says:

    My son once had a blow out that blew right out onto the couch. Luckily it had a cover on it and we just tossed it away. As I read about the jerk drivers…I found myself getting mad. Seriously, why do people inch forward rather than let you turn? Inching isn’t going to make their ride any shorter. I hate that!


Leave a Reply

