The Mind of Bluesleepy

One thing after another 3 November 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 9:56 pm

Today wasn’t the greatest of days.  Blargh.

Among other things, my Firefox decided not to behave.  I love Firefox, don’t get me wrong.  It’s so awesome to have all kinds of little programs installed into my Firefox so I can stay on top of things just by looking at my browser.  I’ve got ForecastFox installed, which gives me the forecast at a glance for the next week, as well as ReminderFox, which reminds me where I need to be and when.  I also have a neat little calculator that I can pull up if I click Alt-C.  It’s far better than the Windows calculator, plus I don’t have to go through seven million menus to get to it.

However, my ReminderFox quit working.  When I would open it, it would show me December 2008, instead of November 2008, which confused me when I was on the phone with someone who was trying to make plans with me.  Then I would click on a day to add a new reminder — but the next time I opened ReminderFox, it would be gone!  I investigated online to figure out how to fix it, and went through all the recommendations I could find in the FAQs.  The end result, however, was somehow my Firefox had gotten corrupted in a way that prevented ReminderFox from working.  I figured it out when I uninstalled Firefox.  I could get ReminderFox to work just fine, until I reinstalled my old profile.  Then it quit working!

By that time, I had to head out to go to Grace’s swim lessons.  The pool staff have marked off the five parking spots nearest the pool as staff parking, which is really a shame.  I used to be able to score “rockstar parking” (the closest possible parking spots) if I timed it right in arriving at the pool, until those spots were designated as staff parking.  Now those five spots stand empty, and I had to park at the farthest edge of the parking lot and walk the entire length of the pool back to the front door.  Ordinarily, I wouldn’t mind.  But now that I have Mary Ellen, I have to carry her in her infant seat, and she gets heavy when I have to carry her that far.  I can’t use the stroller because there are several steps at the pool entrance, and I’ve seen too many mother struggling to get their strollers in the door.

I was grousing about the new parking policy the day the signs went up, and a pool staffer overheard me.  She replied, “Well, without this, we have to park all the way at the far end of the parking lot and walk all the way in!”  But you know, everywhere I have worked has reserved the closest parking spots for customers and insisted that their employees park farther away.  I used to have to walk quite a ways to get back to my car after nine hours on my feet at the computer store, unlike these pool staffers who sit in a chair throughout their entire shift.

Come to think of it, I don’t even think there’s handicapped parking at the pool.  You may think, why would there be?  There’s at least one guy who uses the base pool to do his physical therapy, and I wouldn’t be surprised if he had a handicapped sticker on his vehicle.  His leg was severely injured by an IED in Iraq, and it was later amputated above the knee.  You’d think he’d be able to park closer to the pool, if for no other reason than to give his leg a break from walking that far on his prosthetic.

Oh well.

Once I got home, I backed up my bookmarks and completely wiped Firefox off my computer once more.  This time I started over with a new profile and installed my add-ons one at a time to make sure they weren’t interfering with my ReminderFox.  Everything’s working just fine now, but I’ve lost all my saved passwords.

This is how OCD I am.  I took a screenshot of my Firefox before deleting it so I could keep the bookmarks displayed on the toolbar in the same place they had been!  I have issues, I really do.

But now everything’s hunky-dory again, which makes me happy.  I even managed to get one of the Pogo badges after ignoring the challenges all week long!  I’ll have to work on getting the other one tomorrow.

PS — Please head over to my friend Becca’s blog to congratulate her on the birth of her son James!!

PPS — Don’t forget to vote tomorrow!!!!

 

6 Responses to “One thing after another”

  1. beanie Says:

    I have my own issues with Firefox, but I’m wondering if it’s just my computer…. or McAfee….

  2. art Says:

    i wonder if enough folks complain, they will fix the parking situation?

  3. sleepyjane Says:

    That is rather annoying isn’t it? I can’t believe they don’t have a handicapped parking space.

  4. michele Says:

    I think that was a good idea taking a pic of your Firefox before deleting anything. Doesn’t seem OCD to me.

  5. Thanks for your political support. It makes all the difference.

  6. cardiogirl Says:

    “This is how OCD I am. I took a screenshot of my Firefox before deleting it so I could keep the bookmarks displayed on the toolbar in the same place they had been!”

    I see nothing OCD in that statement. That’s standard operation procedure, in my opinion.


Leave a Reply

