The Mind of Bluesleepy

More Christmas 3 December 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:35 pm

So I mentioned I’m really getting into the holiday spirit, didn’t I??  Funnily enough, I have exactly one (1) gift purchased.  And that’s for Michele, which is surprising because I usually don’t know what I want to get her.  This year, it came to me, as if in a dream…

Actually, it came to me while in Pentagon City Mall.  It’s easy to find gifts for her there!

Kurt and I have decided that we are going to get each other the new Guitar Hero for the Wii for each other.  It’s not a cheap gift, so that’s why it’s from us to us.  See how that works?  Grace is getting a Big Wheel for Christmas.  I had just written, “Grace is probably getting a Big Wheel for Christmas,” when I decided to search online for one, and found a lovely Radio Flyer version online at Amazon for a good price and with free shipping to boot.  I just saved myself almost $20 in shipping!  Woo!

I bought it, so she definitely is getting a Big Wheel for Christmas.

I guess most people would have opted for the Princess Big Wheel for their little girl, but I don’t buy all girly things for Grace.  For one thing, her favorite color is green, not pink, and for another, she barely knows who the Disney Princesses are anyhow.  Now she’s starting to recognize Tinkerbell and Cinderella, but she still can’t pick out Belle or Ariel or Jasmine or Snow White or Aurora (aka Sleeping Beauty, for those of you who didn’t know that yes, she does have a name).  I figured it was best for her to decide what kinds of things she likes, instead of me shoving princesses down her throat.  That said, I don’t have a problem when little girls love the princesses and all kinds of girly things.  I just wanted Grace to decide that on her own.

Can you guess why Gracie loves Tinkerbell??  Because everything associated with her is green, of course!

We did a bit more decorating today.  I can’t believe all the things I want to do with my house now.  I haven’t ever decorated this much for the holidays, and I don’t know what’s making this year any different from any other year!  I’ve got the jingle bell wreath up on the front door, and I bought a garland to hang around the outside of the door too.  Kurt’s hung it up for me; I haven’t checked it to make sure it looks all neat and pretty, but I’m sure it does.  How hard can it be to mess up garland?  It was  60% off at Michael’s today; I couldn’t resist.

I had to go back to Michael’s today because one of the candles I bought for the front window wasn’t working.  Last year I got candles that were run on a sensor so they’d come on at dusk, but they had a cord that was very unsightly.  We have what basically amounts to a wall of windows in our living room — three sliding windows in a row above three panes of glass.  This means that you see the mess of cords in the lower windows, which messed with my sense of neatness.  So then I got battery-operated candles, but these weren’t on a sensor!  I had to remember to turn them on every single night.

A few weeks ago, when I was on the hunt to find my ornaments for the ornament exchange, I found battery-operated candles that ran on a timer.  I had to have them, though they were $7 a piece.  Ouch!  I was only getting two at the time.  I needed just one more, so I picked that up at Michael’s a few days ago.  Last night Kurt pointed out that one wasn’t working, which led to today’s trip.  And somehow that led into a trip to Barnes & Noble, where we tried to get a salted caramel hot chocolate from the Starbucks inside.  They didn’t have it, but I managed to pick up a book from the bargain center.

What???  Is it even possible to go into a Barnes & Noble and not buy a book??  I don’t believe it.

Even Kurt’s getting into the holiday spirit.  He stopped by the grocery store last night to replenish my fresh flowers, as I had none whatsoever, and while there he picked up some mistletoe.

Smooch!!!

He’s been accosting me every time I walk into the kitchen now that the mistletoe is up!  But I have a way to thwart his plans to make me kiss him.  There’s another exit from the kitchen into the dining room.  Hee hee!

Just kidding.  I actually enjoy smooching my husband.  Shhh!  Don’t tell him that, though.

In Mary Ellen news, she has passed yet another milestone!  She has started to laugh, though she’s only done it a couple of times.  She has to seriously be in the mood to giggle.  But if you want to see a really cute video of her giggling, please click HERE to view it.  I can’t embed it here on WordPress; the administrators are poo-poo heads and won’t let me embed Flash objects.  Gahh.

 

6 Responses to “More Christmas”

  1. Shippie Says:

    I’m worn out from reading about all your decorating. I’m using that as an excuse to not decorate here. It’s your fault. Bwah ha ha ha

  2. Sleepyjane Says:

    That Big Wheel is really awesome, I didn’t know what the heck it was but luckily you linked it!

  3. purple chai Says:

    Loved that video. Is there anything better than a baby’s laugh?

  4. terri t. Says:

    I love to hear baby laughter. It makes me laugh too.
    You are quite the Christmas elf yourself. We haven’t started inside decorating yet. Guess that will be next week. It isn’t as much fun when you have to pack up stuff to make room for the Christmas stuff and you already have stuff all over because of the countertop thing and so…..might be another week or so. Not to mention, I can’t find my Christmas cards that I bought on sale last December. OH NO~!!!!!!

  5. Cosmic Says:

    The second year I lived here (1995) we had a storm every other week, I swear. Since then I would guess we have about 2 or 3 sowfalls but only 1 or 2 over 8 inches. I don’t miss it, believe. If you wasnt snow, just take a weekend in February and spend a weekend up in Maine. I’m too sick of the snow to enjoy it anymore.

  6. michele Says:

    Sorry it took so long for me to catch up…. I want my old life back where I had so much time that I didn’t know what to do with myself! 🙂 Anyway, thanks in advance for my gift!!

    I thought I was easy to buy for since I like so many different things. But you know, I’m easily pleased… I don’t get out much. tee-hee-hee!


Leave a Reply

