The Mind of Bluesleepy

Ornamental Christmas 9 December 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 8:14 pm

The plan last night was to write most of my blog entry about some of my favorite Christmas ornaments, and to that end, I popped my 50mm lens onto my camera and shot some photos.  Then I proceeded to go off on my rant about my van’s door freezing shut, and by the time I got that out of my system, my entry was already long.

So no photos last night.  I bet you’re devastated, aren’t you?

Usually we put up the Christmas tree the day after Thanksgiving in the Bluesleepy household.  I have no desire to be trampled to death at a store during Black Friday, and putting up the Christmas decorations keeps us out of trouble.  Besides, it’s nice to do something that’ll help put me in the holiday spirit.  I am not a hugely festive person, but I do enjoy the decorating.  This is why there is still only one gift under the tree, and it’s not even for someone in my household!  (It’s actually for you, Michele!)

We were unable to put up our Christmas tree the day after Thanksgiving this year, as we were too busy riding ponies down in North Carolina.  By the time we got home, it was already the Monday afterward, so we waited until the following weekend to put up the tree.  Usually I hang a nice mix of brightly-colored ball ornaments and my more sentimental ornaments, but this year I realized I had plenty of sentimental ornaments.  I have not one single glass ball ornament on my tree, and I think my tree looks the best of any year previous.

And now to take a page from my good friend Pamela and share some of my favorite ornaments with you all!

Some of my favorite ornaments

We bought this ornament in 2001, the first Christmas Kurt and I were married.  That’s when I first got the idea to buy an ornament each year to commemorate what had happened in that year.  We found this one and felt it was a good way to remember the attacks on the World Trade Centers and the Pentagon (my father’s place of work) that had happened eight days after Kurt and I had gotten engaged.  In fact, September 11th is why Kurt and I got married so very quickly.  We just weren’t sure what was happening with him, since he is in the military.  Who knew if he were going to be shipped overseas?  We sure didn’t.

Some of my favorite ornaments

For the last two years, I have participated in an ornament exchange with my Flickr group.  This year we had twenty people participating, which was really exciting and made for lots of love showing up in my mailbox.  The ornament in this photo was made by my friend Kimberly, and I absolutely love it.  It’s so creative, being made from puzzle pieces painted green.  And the red sequins are so sparkly and beautiful.

Some of my favorite ornaments

This is another ornament I received during this year’s exchange. This one, made by Chelle, makes me laugh each time I see it because it’s just so cute. I love penguins, and every time I see it, I am reminded of the movie Happy Feet, which I thoroughly enjoyed. I made sure this ornament is facing the front of my tree so that I can see it every time I look at the tree.

Some of my favorite ornaments

I purchased this ornament at Michael’s a few weeks ago. I love that I have given my girls normal names that are easily spelled, and therefore easily found on the personalized items rack. “Grace” and “Mary” are the only names in our family that are found already personalized; every so often I’ll find “Kurt” and I’ll feel compelled to buy it. But I can say I have never once found “Karyl” on the personalized items rack. This will probably be just one of many ornaments to commemorate Mary Ellen. We already have two “Baby’s 1st Christmas” that belong to Grace, as well as several photo ornaments documenting her growth through the years, and I have no doubt we’ll do the same with ME.

Some of my favorite ornaments

Last, but most certainly not least, is the infamous Upside Down and Backwards Christmas Card from last year’s ornament exchange, next to Tracy’s contribution for 2007 as well.  Kate had decided she was making Christmas cards for us all instead of ornaments, and she worked so very hard on them, practically gluing her fingers together and getting smudge marks where she didn’t want smudge marks.  Once they were all finished, she went back and addressed them to each person — and since I was alphabetically last, I got the very last card in the pile, which just happened to be the Upside Down and Backwards Christmas Card.  She hadn’t realized till she went to address it that she’d made this one backwards so that it opens from the back instead of the front.  This card makes me smile every time I see it, so I leave it out on my bookshelf year-round.

What kinds of ornaments do you prefer on your tree??  And the burning question — white or colored lights?  We have colored lights on the tree, and the big old-fashioned colored bulbs for the house as well.  To me, it’s more festive!  We had white icicle lights for several years, and now we prefer the colored ones.

And before I forget, please email me with your snail mail address at bluesleepy@gmail.com if you would like a Christmas card from yours truly!  (International addresses are perfectly acceptable.)

 

7 Responses to “Ornamental Christmas”

  1. Miss Hiss Says:

    What lovely ornaments you’ve showcased here. I love the memories you’re able to associate with each one. In answer to your question about ornaments and lights, my answer is … EVERYTHING! My tree’s purple, so really colourful stuff looks fabulous on it. Anything that sparkles or zings makes my heart palpitate — I just have to have it. I drown my tree under a huge collection of Mexican tin ornaments, animal-print stockings, little sequined handbags and small mirrored disco balls, and then scatter wooden and gold and silver angels, reindeer, geese, doves and other farmyard-animals all over the rest of its branches. And the more coloured lights flashing on it, the better! Love, R xxx

  2. purple chai Says:

    Ooh, ornaments! Something fun to write about! But we won’t be taking ours out for a while yet, since R is going out of town this weekend and we’ll be decorating the tree (which I have yet to buy) the weekend after that. Maybe this is the year I’ll get some pictures and do an entry on them. I love my ornaments!

  3. sleepyjane Says:

    I really enoyed this post! I love all your ornaments.

    J and I don’t have a tree this year because we won’t be home for christmas but my parents have one up. We used to have a lot of ornaments and stuff that my dad brought back from overseas when he was still a policeman (anti-terrorism or something) but they got lost in the hustle and bustle.

    BTW I’m hoping to have your parcel in the mail today – it’s in my car. I was so p!ssed because the PO opens at 8:30 and I have to be at work at 8. So I call in and say that I’m going to be late because I want to go to the post office. When I get there I see a sign that says they only open past 9 am because of training! GRR! I was mad. haha

  4. michele Says:

    Just when I wonder if we’re really sisters (ok, not really 🙂 ) you write something in this here blog that proves to me that you and I were cut from the same cloth! I also prefer a tree speckled with sentimental ornaments versus just once bought at a store exclusively. However, I do mix a few regular ornaments in there, too. Well, not completely… guess I could steal your idea and write about this on *my* blog.

    And I agree, colored lights are definitely more festive. Then again, anything that sparkles/glitters/gleams/twinkles is just dandy with me!

    xoxo

  5. terri t. Says:

    For the past few years, we have had just red lights on our tree. I was buying an ornament each year for our son when he was a child but now I don’t want to give them up. I think they mean more to me anyway. I have mostly Santas and Angels on our tree now plus the son’s ornaments. I also put on candy canes of different colors and bows. Guess when I decorate the tree, I should take a picture and post it…..

  6. cardiogirl Says:

    White lights all the way. Elegant, festive and bright. Love those white lights!

  7. Carolyn Says:

    I did the same thing with our tree this year. I only put on the ornaments that I love. Not one cheesy colored ball came anywhere near the tree. No garland either. At first the tree looked, well naked to me. Later I realized it looked more beautiful than ever before. Because there aren’t a million ornaments, you can actually see and enjoy the ornaments that are there. I guess less really is more!


Leave a Reply

