The Mind of Bluesleepy

Can’t think straight 13 December 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 11:55 pm

I have been so busy the last few days I haven’t even had time to stop and think.  Seriously.  It’s just one whirlwind after another.  I can’t even remember half of what I did either.  It’s insane.

But I’ve been having a good time!

Last night was our command Christmas party.  What made me crack up laughing was it was held aboard a ship!  Granted, it wasn’t a Navy vessel; it was a dinner cruise boat.  But it’s still funny.

I found the greatest dress this week at Macy’s.  It was an incredibly flattering dress that originally cost $130 but had a price tag of $78 on clearance.  Then it rang up as $45!  Score!!  Kurt wasn’t too sure about the dress, which surprised me as we’re normally completely in agreement on what looks good on me.  He preferred this other dress that was red (yes, I wear red even though I have red hair — wanna make something of it?!), and while I liked the style and the fact that there was a jacket to it, it just didn’t look right on me once I tried it on.  I was far more comfortable in the $45 black dress, and if I’m more comfortable, then I’m also going to be more confident.

Hence the black dress.

Apparently there was something wrong with the original ship we were assigned to, so the company elected to put us on the smaller ship that was more luxurious.  That sort of surprises me, since the ship we were on what’s really very luxurious.  Sure, it was nice, but “luxurious” isn’t a word I would have chosen to describe it.  The food was really good, though!  It had to be the best food I’ve ever had at a Navy function.  And what’s so surprising is that it was served buffet style, and usually food on a buffet isn’t as good as food that is plated and served to each diner.

The only minor problem I had with the entire evening was being on the smaller boat.  We had two decks available to us, but once dinner was over, everyone wanted to congregate on the lower deck where the food, the desserts, the bar, and the dancefloor was.  So it got really, really crowded.

I have to say, one of my most favorite parts of going to a command Christmas party is the people-watching.  People do the craziest things, especially when they’ve gotten a little alcohol in their systems.  One particular girl (if you’ve been reading me long enough, you might recognize her as TC, the woman who wanted me to be her kid’s nanny after knowing her all of a couple of days) decided to start grinding on some of the female students.  Yes, you read that correctly — a girl was grinding on another girl.  I don’t have a problem with same-gender relationships, but when you’re married already, and your husband is an instructor for these students, you don’t start grinding on them at a party, especially when they’re the same gender as you.  And you especially don’t do that when you’re part of the military.  It’s just not appropriate.  The thing is, her husband thinks it’s funny and cute, so he does nothing to stop her, and he’s most likely encouraging her.

Our Commanding Officer got drunk enough to wrap his tie around his head, which I thought was hilarious.  I guess that’s the Thing To Do when you’re in the Navy, since Kurt’s been known to do that at Christmas parties, at least when he was a younger man.  I love our Commanding Officer.  He’s just funny and gentle and kind — definitely a good guy.

The dj was actually really good.  He did an excellent mix between dance music, R&B, hard rock, and classic rock.  I was surprised that he didn’t do the Electric Slide, though.  That’s got to be the first command Christmas party where I didn’t get to dance the Slide!  They were doing some kind of line dancing to Kid Rock’s “All Summer Long,” but I couldn’t see well enough to see what moves the dancers were doing.  At one point, the dj played a few hair band songs in a row, and the entire dancefloor was shouting the lyrics to Bon Jovi’s “Living On a Prayer,” which was followed up by “Pour Some Sugar On Me” by Def Leppard.

When Flo Rida’s “Low” came on, I just had to get out on the dancefloor.  That is one of my favorite songs to dance to, though I’m not fond of the lyrics.  It’s just so easy to groove to!  Plus when he goes, “Low low low low,” I groove right on down to the floor.  The problem is getting back up when you’re wearing heels.  I had an easier time getting upright again when I was seven months pregnant at my cousin’s bachelorette party!  Now my legs are killing me.  Maybe I should go dancing more often; it’s good exercise!

Tonight we headed over to our friend Pamela and Vic’s home, where Pamela cooked us her traditional Christmas Eve dinner.  We had it early because they’re going to visit family on the West Coast for Christmas.  The food was delicious, but the best part of the evening was our never-ending rounds of Uno Attack!  I kept changing the color when Pamela would go down to one card in her hand, but of course, I ended up choosing the color she had in her hand!  I was the instrument of her winning at least three times.  It was pretty hilarious.

Tomorrow we’re off to Connecticut to meet up with my sister Michele.  And today, I’d like to wish my best friend Caroline a happy and wonderful and awesome 30th birthday!!

 

8 Responses to “Can’t think straight”

  1. Elle Says:

    Have a lovely day! I know Michele will be thrilled to have you.

  2. terri t. Says:

    Sounds like you are having sooooo much fun. I bet you can’t wait to see your sister again. Takes lots of pictures so you can share with us…

  3. art Says:

    good times!! that part about TC was just silly!! haha!!

  4. Blue Opal Says:

    I LOVE your black dress, though it looks mighty chilly for this time of year. Glad to hear you enjoyed the party 😀

  5. cardiogirl Says:

    Hey, when they do dance the Electric Slide do they play “My Eyes Don’t Cry No More” or “The Hustle”?

  6. yankee-chick Says:

    You look wonderful in that dress!! Glad you had a great time at your friends house and at the party. Too much fun, girl!

  7. michele Says:

    hope you’re not sore anymore!!


Leave a Reply

