The Mind of Bluesleepy

If it ain’t broke… 15 December 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:32 pm

CRAP!  Somehow I just remembered that I have to make up my weekly menu for this week’s dinners.  I thought updating was the last thing on my to-do list!  BLARGH.

Yesterday we drove down to New Haven, Connecticut, to meet up with my sister Michele and her husband Ben, who took the train up from NYC, where they are visiting.  Kurt set the whole thing up, so I didn’t even have to do anything, other than drive down there.  First we went to this really delicious Japanese restaurant for lunch.  This place features half-price sushi all day Sunday!  Score!!  We stuffed ourselves on sushi, and then worked it off by going bowling.  The alley we went to didn’t have automatic bumpers, the ones that come up only when the person who needs them is bowling.  That meant that the bumpers were up the entire time we were bowling.  No wonder I had such a high score!

I think we need to keep the bumpers up all the time.  Heh.  I scored at least one strike because the ball richocheted off the bumpers and came back at just the right angle to knock down all the pins.  Gotta love it.

We did a bit of shopping as well.  We found the Yale bookstore, and Michele and I got somewhat matching Yale sweatshirts.  Shhh, don’t tell my fellow William and Mary alumni.  Heh.  I plan to wear my new sweatshirt around my friend who is a Harvard alumna.

Then we found some dinner at a really delicious Mexican restaurant, one of those hole-in-the-wall places with great food and better prices.  I’m not joking about the prices — the bill came to just $44 for all five of us!

But all too soon, we had to take Michele and Ben back to the train station so they could head back to NYC.  Kurt and I drove home, glad to have seen my sister, but sad to have such a short time with them.

This morning I promised myself I’d get some laundry done.  I’ve had two baskets full of clean laundry for several days now, so I had to get it folded.  I even posted that on my Facebook as my status to try to motivate myself to get it done!  Around 2pm, I finally got around to the laundry, and I figured I should throw another load in the washer while I was at it.

Problem is, my washer wasn’t working properly.  A few days ago, I noticed that my agitator wasn’t turning properly.  It would get stuck, and then start moving again.  Today it barely even moved!

We discussed the problem while we were at swim lessons, and Kurt offered to buy me a new washer.  As much as I would love a new one, especially one of those beautiful front loaders that do a very efficient job of cleaning one’s clothes, I can’t justify the expense.  I know we can get the washer fixed, and probably for not a whole lot of money.  Not as much as a new washer would cost, that’s for sure.

When we got home, Kurt took apart the agitator while I looked up the problem on the internet.  That’s when I found this page, which describes exactly what’s wrong with the washer.  Once Kurt got down to the clutch dogs, it was obvious — our dogs are highly worn, so they’re not catching in the grooves anymore.  And when the dogs don’t catch, the agitator doesn’t rotate.

All we have to do is replace the cam and the dogs, and the washer should be as good as new at that point.  We called Home Depot to see if they had the part, but they didn’t.  We then called Sears, as there is a parts department here on the island, but we’d have to order the part and wait up to seven days for it to be delivered.  How am I supposed to be without a washer for that long?!  I have diapers to wash!

The Sears part department gave us another number for a local appliance shop that carries a lot of parts, but it was 5:09pm when we tried calling them.  Guess what time they close?  You got it — 5pm.  Argh!  But we plan on calling them first thing tomorrow morning, and hopefully they’ve got the part.  It seems to be something rather universal.  Kurt will simply follow the step-by-step directions on the website, and voila!  It’ll be fixed.  That’s the plan, anyhow.

You never realize how much you need your washer till it’s broken.

PS — Happy 20th birthday to my baby brother, Mark!

 

6 Responses to “If it ain’t broke…”

  1. beanie Says:

    you never realize how much you need your washer till you don’t have one!!! although I can get 3 loads washed and dried and folded in 2 hours at the laundromat…

  2. Rosie Says:

    Both of my washers went out at about the same time, and I couldn’t afford a service call. Thank heavens my roomie figured out what was wrong with my good one, and now I can avoid doing my wash EVERY day, not just on Laundry day! *LOL*

  3. becca Says:

    These things always go wrong at the wrong time of year!!! Over here it’s the car thats falling apart since chris hit a pillar in the car park last week. *sigh*

    ps, the coil (as it commonly used to be called in the UK) is an IUD. I’m starting to hear bad things about it all of a sudden but know that I don’t get on with pills and injections. My weight means I cant really use the patch and I don’t really want an implant either. grrrrr.

  4. art Says:

    hope they got the parts for ya, but going to the laundrymat could be an adventure!!

  5. terri t. Says:

    Thanks for the link to that page….it’s really interesting and I get we get some use out of it before too much longer.

    Glad you had a nice visit with your sister and BIL….the food sounded great too.

  6. michele Says:

    i was SO glad we got to see you!!! we had a lot of fun and we just didn’t want to end the day. hopefully we’ll see you sooner than later (again).

    love you!


Leave a Reply

