The Mind of Bluesleepy

On my shelf: 5 January 5 January 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 7:43 pm

On my shelf

Here we start another new feature to my blog — “What’s On Your Shelf?” day.  I have several bookcases, all stuffed full of books covering all genres, so I just picked the top shelf of my tallest bookcase for today’s entry.

My friend Pamela showed us each book on her shelf for today’s entry, but I just can’t do that.  There are too many!  As you can see, the books on this shelf are stored two deep, so there’s no way I can discuss every single book.  Also, please note the two electronics chargers.  There’s an empty plug right next to this bookcase, a rare commodity in this house, so I do all my recharging of  batteries right here.

On the left, you will notice several Robert A. Heinlein novels.  I adore Robert A. Heinlein.  He is my favorite author of all time, and I am pretty sure I have read most, if not all, of his writings.  I am not entirely certain because he was a very prolific author who published his first piece in the 1930s and continued to write until his death in 1988.  In the beginning, he wrote juvenile science fiction, meant to be serialized in boys’ magazines.  He published Stranger in a Strange Land in 1961, which was his most controversial novel, and where the word “grok” enters the English language.  The edition here on this shelf is the cut version; in 1961, several of the passages were too controversial to print, and the book itself was too long.  I purchased the uncut version sometime in the 90s, but I am not exactly sure where it is.  Several of the books on my shelf here are of his early work (The Man Who Sold the Moon, Double Star, Revolt in 2100, Methuselah’s Children, The Puppet Masters, The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress, Farnham’s Freehold, and Waldo and Magic, Inc.), while The Cat Who Walks Through Walls is a later novel.  One thing I love about Heinlein is how a number of his books are all inter-related.  The Cat Who Walks Through Walls takes place on the moon and involves a person who was first introduced in The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress, and one of the events in The Cat Who Walks Through Walls is also retold in Time Enough for Love and my personal favorite, To Sail Beyond the Sunset.

I also have a fair amount of literature here on this shelf.  Voltaire’s Candide, To Kill a Mockingbird, and a collection of Louisa May Alcott’s works are all up there.  I haven’t read Candide since high school, but I love Alcott and Harper Lee.

Some of the books in the middle aren’t exactly my normal cup of tea.  Imzadi by Peter David — well, as you can see, that’s a Star Trek: The Next Generation novel.  To make a long story short, one of my boyfriends in high school referred to me as his “imzadi,” or “beloved soulmate.”  He lent me this copy of the novel so I knew what he was talking about, and I never did give it back.  I hang on to it for sentimental reasons, but it’s been years since I read it.  The Wolf of Winter is something I picked up in high school.  I think the only reason why it hasn’t found a new home at a used bookstore or thrift store is it must have been hidden when I ruthlessly culled my books.

Do you see the Piers Anthony novels on the right?  I wasn’t a huge fan of Piers Anthony.  He can be a bit too far on the fantasy spectrum for my tastes.  But his Incarnations of Immortality series really grabbed hold of me.  In it, he postulates that there are humans who are chosen to hold these offices of the Incarnations (Death, Fate, Time, War, Nature, Evil, and Good) for a time, and each book deals with one of these Incarnations and their struggles in performing their offices to their fullest degree.  Bearing an Hourglass features Time, and Wielding a Red Sword discusses War.  I have several other novels, somewhere.  Wikipedia tells me that the series Dead Like Me is loosely based on On a Pale Horse, the book covering Death.  I didn’t know that!  And because I am contrary like that, the first one I ever read was And Eternity, which is the last book of the series.  I apparently have the inability to read a series starting with the first book.

So there’s my start to this project!  If you have any questions or you’d like more information, leave a comment and I will email you back.

 

10 Responses to “On my shelf: 5 January”

  1. andrea Says:

    I’m so stealing this idea from you. Next week. I can’t bring myself to pull out the camera and take a picture tonight.

    I’ve never read Heinlein, but I always mean to grab one of his books from the library.

  2. Rosie Says:

    RAH, RAH, R.A.H! Like you, I believe I’ve read almost every Heinlein out there. I may have missed something, but not for lack of trying. And like you, “To Sail Beyond The Sunset” is my fave, followed closely by “Time Enough For Love” and “The Cat Who Walks Through Walls”. The latter one I just pulled from my bookshelf in the back bedroom Saturday night to give me something “fresh” to read. Of course, that’s where I learned about Limburger Cheese as a weapon.

    As for Piers Anthony, I read his earlier stuff, until he got too formulaic with his Xanth novels. But I agree that the Incarnations series is very good, I think both of my kids liked that one too.

    Note to Andrea: You might do well to start with something like “The Rolling Stones” which is one of his Juvenile series. While dated, and somewhat juvenile with the whole “Gosh! Golly Gee! We’re teenagers, we don’t need icky girls.” 50’s behaviour, it still is amusing, and stands the test of time. Hazel Stone is one of my fav characters, but I want to be Mama Maureen!

    All of his stories fit into a timeline, and as noted, almost all of his characters end up interconnecting in one way or another. Hmmm…time for a Heinlein reading session!

  3. beanie Says:

    The first book of his I ever read was “Have Spacesuit, Will Travel” which I still love. I’ve missed some of the ones you’ve listed though, so I’ll have to look for them.

  4. Blue Opal Says:

    My first introduction to Heinlein was “Star Beast,” I think. I read it in third or fourth grade. (And, I might add, proceeded to read every Heinlein book I could get my hands on thereafter.) I couldn’t help laughing when in high school it was required reading in one of my English classes. Then again, I was one of the few people who could read Shakespeare and know what it meant, including the blue parts 😉

    Right now my bookshelf is an odd mix of paperback romances (got boxes of them via Freecycle;) self-help books; metaphysical bits and pieces, old magazines, and a few murder mysteries. Definitely too many to take a picture of them all!

  5. cardiogirl Says:

    This is really an interesting concept, blue. However, do you have enough bookshelves in your house to continue it?

    I don’t collect books. I always go to the library, so initially I thought you’d take a picture of a book shelf and then talk about ONE of the books in depth so you’d have a lot of posts.

    But if you have tons of shelves of books I suppose that’s not necessary. Do tell.

  6. Elle Says:

    Totally love Heinlein as well (as you know…) My favorite is Time Enough for Love, followed closely by your fave, To Sail Beyond the Sunset. As far as Piers Anthony, I enjoyed the Incarnations series; I read the first few Xanth novels with interest, but I agree with Rosie that he got too formulaic with those, and talk about some really hit-you-over-the-head-with-a-shovel puns!

  7. michele Says:

    I aspire to be as well-read as you… guess I shoulda started years ago, eh?

    Wonder if Gracie will end up owning her own library wing? LOL!

    Love you!

  8. terri t. Says:

    I found myself twisting my head to the side to read some of the titles. I did see THE RED TENT…..I read that a few months ago and loved it. You do have a wide variety of reading material….I go in spurts where I am interested in certain subjects or types of literature and then move on. I used to read all of Ann Rule’s books but haven’t picked one up in years. Same with Stephen King….I haven’t read his last 2 or 3. I did read his son’s book when it came out. Quite good and like Stephen King’s first novels I thought. Never got into Anne Rice in spite of being told she is wonderful.

    Ok, now I need to go read a book. You have some influence on me…. LOL

  9. sleepyjane Says:

    This is such a great idea…fighting the urge not to steal it. 😉 haha

    I have To Kill a Mockingbird on my shelf but it’s in the pile of ‘have to reads!’ 🙂

  10. Cosmic Says:

    I didn’t recognize any of those books and only one of the authors you have on your shelf but didn’t mentione. What is the Frank McCourt title? I read “Angela’s Ashes” and that was kind of what inspired my own book. I then read ‘Tis. I couldn’t read the whole title of yours.

    I went through a phase years ago that I read all the romantic novels set in the GWTW era with the old south and the plantations. I used to say, “Take me back to those days when men were men and women appreciated it!

    After that, I went into the Stephen King, Dean Koonts, Robin Cook type genre. I am still there when I do read. But I am interested in that one title I mentioned.

    I will try to updat a little later. I had more upheaval this week, but it’s starteng to slow down now. Terry still not home.


Leave a Reply

