The Mind of Bluesleepy

The Week Ahead: 11 January 11 January 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 11:48 pm

Outside my window… It’s not as dark as you would think it would be at 11:30pm.  I just walked home from Bridget’s house, but the snow reflects the moonlight and the streetlights so well that I had no problems seeing.

I am thinking… that I am so glad I got out of the house tonight and had a good time with a good friend.

From the learning rooms… Grace is learning how to read!  Kurt’s been working with her for a while, but it’s just clicking now, and she’s able to sound out words and recognizes others that she’s learned before.  Sometimes she busts out with words we never taught her — like “castle.”  Amazing.

I am thankful for… having such wonderful friends that we spent so much time with this weekend.  We had a dinner party at A & D’s house that went swimmingly, where we saw another couple that I really enjoy spending time with.  Last night we had another dinner party at Vic and Pamela’s house, which is always a ton of fun, but was even more fun since she invited another couple that enjoys good food and fun games.  Tonight it was off to Bridget’s house for a little girl time.

From the kitchen… Can you believe I didn’t even cook dinner tonight?  I even forgot to eat!  But I did make some delicious reduced-fat oatmeal cookies, which I messed up by only adding half the raisins.  Oops.

I am creating… not much at the moment.  I have been very into photography lately, especially with my one-photo-a-day project.  That’s where the lion’s share of my creativity has gone.

I am going… to get into bed soon and enjoy my book!

I am reading… Opal: A Life of Enchantment, Mystery, and Madness by Kathrine Beck.  It’s a biography about Opal Whiteley, whose diary I was reading last week.  She was the woman who allegedly kept a diary as a young child all about her adventures in the woods around her home near an Oregon logging camp, who made friends with the woodland creatures around her, and who had her own childhood religion that was very mystical in nature.  This diary was published in 1920, but she was quickly discredited once she made claims of being adopted while her parents insisted she was her natural-born child.  Apparently she was New Age before there was a term for it.  The earlier book I read, The Singing Creek Where the Willows Grow by Benjamin Hoff was in support of Opal Whiteley (supporters are known as Opalites), though Hoff does not buy into the notion of her being born to an aristocratic French family and switched with the real Opal Whiteley as a very small child.  The book by Beck is more of a biography in which she researches all aspects of Opal’s life, beginning with her work with the Junior Christian Endeavor as a teen.  It’s really fleshing out who Opal Whiteley really was as a person, and not just as this amazingly mystical and otherwordly being the way Hoff portrays her.  I’m really enjoying the biography.

I am hoping… that the roads remain clear so that I can run my errands safely tomorrow.  We’ve gotten some snow over the weekend, but it’s now iced over.  It’s the ice that worries me.

I am hearing… Dinner Impossible on the Food Network.

Around the house… I have a load of laundry in the washer and another in the dryer that needs to get put away.  How does laundry multiply so quickly?!  If it’s not my laundry basket overflowing, it’s Grace’s!  Plus the bathrooms could use a good cleaning, and the floors need to be vacuumed.  I guess I know what I’m doing this week!

One of my favorite things… is hearing Mary Ellen laughing.  Kurt really had her giggling this afternoon, so he called his parents just so they could hear her.

A few plans for the rest of the week… We’ve got swim lessons on Monday and Wednesday, and Grace has school on Tuesday and Thursday.  On Tuesday morning, while Grace is in school, we’ve got an appointment for Mary Ellen to have her first professional photos taken.  Possibly on Thursday morning I will join Bridget for a viewing of the previous night’s episode of Top Chef (which reminds me that I still have to watch this past episode!).  Then on Friday I am finally getting my hair cut and colored again.  It’s getting way too long to style easily.  Also some time this week is Girls’ Night In, date to be determined.  I’m looking forward to it!

Have a great week!

 

4 Responses to “The Week Ahead: 11 January”

  1. sleepyjane Says:

    Wow – the books you mentioned sounds really interesting!

  2. ChezNous Says:

    Do you like dried cranberries? Do you think you could use those in your cookies in place of the raisins? Since you have to buy your own food on short plane hops these days, we opted for the snack boxes on our Chicago-Portland hops and there was always a bag of dried cranberries inside. They are really good and might be a good substitute for a different twist.

  3. terri t. Says:

    Your week of plans sounds great. I wish I had the gumption to get out there and do something myself. I did have my mammogram this morning….so that’s done for the year. Next month is the annual PAP….poke and peak at the NEW doctor’s office.

  4. Dina Says:

    Thanks for your post. Wanted to let you know about a film we are making about Opal Whiteley. We’re in San Francisco, just reaching out to people who have taken an interest in her life. Here’s some links:

    http://www.opalthemovie.com
    http://www.youtube.com/opalthemovie
    http://www.myspace.com/opalthemovie

    Happy New Year!


Leave a Reply

