The Mind of Bluesleepy

Pull your weight around here 15 January 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 11:07 pm

I pulled a Rosie today.

Don’t worry — that’s not a bad thing to do.  In fact, it’s a very good thing because it means you learn something along the way!!  When Rosie was a kid, she used to get out the encyclopedia and open it to a random page.  She’d read an article, and at the bottom, it would tell her to see a related article for more information.  She’d head over to that article, see the related article at the bottom, and just keep chasing articles all day long.

I did the same thing as a kid.  It used to take me forever to paste in the little stickers that would come in the year book every year to keep the encyclopedia current.  For example, the 1989 year book featured an article about the fall of the Berlin Wall, so I had to paste in a little sticker next to the encyclopedia articles on West Germany and on East Germany to point future researchers towards the new information.  That little chore, which I really loved, would take me forever because I’d get sidetracked by all kinds of tangents.

Today I did the same thing, only with the internet.  One of the women in my Flickr group posted a link to a story on the plane crash in New York City this morning.  The sidebar featured a story about the last former peddlar in NYC dying last week, which meant he took an entire era with him, an era in which people bought their vegetables from the back of a horse-drawn wagon.  That led me into a story regarding when horses posed a health hazard in NYC.  From there, I clicked on a link about the fact that there used to be between 100,000 and 200,000 horses in NYC.  The slideshow posted is really interesting; it really shows how dirty NYC used to be.  I realize that there are some that would argue that it’s still fairly dirty, but I’ve seen other countries — modern NYC is not dirty by any stretch of the imagination.  I was just in Brooklyn this summer visiting some wonderful ladies, and the area was really very lovely, so alive and vibrant.  But NYC used to be terribly, terribly filthy, back when people lived in tenements and threw their garbage and sewage out of their windows.  One of the articles mentioned that most brownstones in the 1880s featured an entryway on the second level so that residents would be above the level of the manure and the sewage and the garbage.  It’s seriously mind-boggling — and then you realize why life was so short back then, and why the infant mortality rate  was so high.

I’m so thankful I live in the modern age, where I could give birth to two children with no complications whatsoever, to have healthy children, and to be assured as much as a mother could ever be that, barring accidents or other unforeseen circumstances, my children will live to become adults.  I don’t have to birth six or eight children just to be assured that three or four of them would make it to adulthood.

I encourage you to go over to your favorite informative website and look something up.  Click on some extra links.  Learn something new!  It’s really fun.  And the day you stop learning is the day that you are dead.

As if that weren’t interesting enough, I made a fantastic dinner tonight!  And it was all thanks to Terri, aka Serendipity, who is YankeeChick’s wonderful daughter.  She posted a recipe a few days ago on Facebook for a Stuffed Cabbage Stoup (a soup that isn’t quite a soup and isn’t quite a stew) that looked so delicious that I just had to try it for myself.  And since I am now the proud owner of a brand spankin’ new enamel cast iron dutch oven, it was the first recipe to try!

I give you now Terri’s Stuffed Cabbage Stoup, which you seriously need to make, especially in this bitterly cold weather.  Tomorrow’s high will only be 14º here in Newport!  Brrr!!!

Stuffed Cabbage Stoup

4 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
1 cup raw white rice
1 quart plus 2 cups chicken stock, divided
1-1/2 lb meatloaf mix (combination beef, pork, veal) – I just use beef or add some pork because it really adds to the flavor!
1/2 tsp. allspice
1-1/2 tsp. coriander
2 tsp. smoked paprika
salt and pepper
1 onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced ( I use a bit more)
1 bay leaf
1 carrot, sliced with a veggie peeler into strips, then finely chopped
1/2 to 3/4 a head of cabbage (Savoy is best), cut into thin strips
1- 28 oz. can diced tomatoes
1 cup tomato sauce

Heat a sauce pan over med-high heat with a couple tablespoons of olive oil. Add the rice and toss to coat in oil. Add 2 cups of chicken stock, bring up to a simmer, cover and cook for 16-18 minutes or until tender.

Heat a deep pot over med-high heat. Add another couple tablespoons of olive oil. Once hot, add meat and begin to brown, 2 to 3 minutes. Season the meat with allspice, coriander, paprika, salt and pepper to taste. Add bay leaf, onions, garlic, and carrots. Cook veggies 2-3 minutes to begin to soften them, then add cabbage and wilt it down a bit. Add tomatoes, tomato sauce, and the quart of chicken stock. Cover, raise heat to high and bring soup to a simmer. Simmer for about 10 minutes. Once rice is cooked, add to the soup and continue to simmer for about 2 to 3 minutes.

This doubles really well, and is great for leftovers!

The only change I made was to add a bit more liquid.  I felt it needed about a cup more liquid than the recipe calls for.  Other than that, it was absolutely scrumptious.  Enjoy!

 

6 Responses to “Pull your weight around here”

  1. Rosie Says:

    WHEW! I was thinking of all of the boneheaded things I do when you mentioned that you pulled a Rosie! Thank heavens it wasn’t something like swinging nekkid from the chandeliers or something equally heinous!

  2. ChezNous Says:

    I have an award for you – please stop by my blog.

    Pamela

  3. Poolagirl Says:

    Yes! Cars were considered a solution to the pollution in New York City! Pretty funny idea now, eh?

  4. yankeechick Says:

    I’m sorry, but I have to say that I can’t even begin to imagine what NYC was like with over 100,000 horse pooping in the streets! MY, Lord! Who could keep up with all that Poop Scooping?!?!?! Horses poop approx. 8 times a day, and you don’t even wanna know how many gallons they pee in a day! I just really can’t think about that right now! {back of hand on forehead}…..I’ll think about that tomorrow……….

  5. art Says:

    knowledge is power! from the time i was a teeny rug rat, i read the books and encyclopedias and dictionaries! i agree that the day you stop learning is the day that you are dead. amen!

  6. terri t. Says:

    I used to read encyclopedias when I was a kid too. Of course, we couldn’t afford the big name ones…we had the grocery store ones that were purchased once a week but whatever…I did like to read them
    OMG, i nearly had heart failure when you said you were using a recipe from Terri. I was sure I didn’t give you any…LOL
    I should have known better. And the recipe sounded really good…especially on a cold winter day.


Leave a Reply

