The Mind of Bluesleepy

The Week Ahead: 18 January 18 January 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 5:27 pm

Outside my window… More snow has fallen today.  Pamela is reporting about four inches at her home; we’ve probably got the same down here.  It’s hard to tell because Grace has already played in the snow on the patio table, which is how I usually gauge how much snow has fallen.

I am thinking… how exhausted I am.  I seriously need to go to bed at a decent time.

From the learning rooms… Grace is still working on reading.  Yesterday morning she came into my room before I got up and brought some Disney Princess books with her.  We read them together, with her saying the words she knows, and I filled in the others.  I really didn’t expect her to be able to read “Maleficent,” from Sleeping Beauty.

I am thankful for… having such a warm house.  We’ve had some seriously cold temperatures this week.  I don’t think we’ve gone above freezing!  Some nights have dropped into single digits, and the highs for the days have rarely gotten out of the teens.  But our home has been nice and cozy, where I can lounge around in yoga pants and a t-shirt, and still be comfortable.  Mary Ellen gets a bit warm in a full outfit, so we keep her in a long-sleeved onesie and cover her legs with a blanket.  Our home, while not the fanciest on the island, is quite well-built, so it holds the heat in quite well.  Plus it doesn’t hurt that we don’t pay for utilities!

From the kitchen… For dinner tonight I am planning on making a Rachael Ray recipe, Spinach Fettuccini With Gorgonzola Cream Sauce.  Finding spinach fettuccini proved to be impossible, so while we were up at the foo-foo grocery store at the top of the island, I picked up some garlic-parsley pasta that was made by a small local company.  Grace will approve since it is green, and she loves gorgonzola anyhow.  About the only things she won’t eat are things that are spicy!

I am creating… not much at the moment.  I keep saying I am going to get back into my cross-stitch, but I haven’t managed to do that yet.  I did create some organization in the office closet, what we teasingly refer to as Kurt’s closet.  It’s where he keeps all his uniforms and dressy clothes, and where he gets dressed in the morning so he doesn’t wake me up.  We’d been storing all kinds of odds and ends in that closet, and I figured it was high time to go through it and chuck some things out.  I boxed up a slew of cross-stitch magazines from the 1980s and 90s, and threw out empty packages for various pieces of Kurt’s uniform.  I only did about half of it today, but I am a lot more motivated to finish it now that I’ve got such a good start on it.

I am going… to head into the kitchen and make some dinner!

I am STILL reading… Opal: A Life of Enchantment, Mystery, and Madness by Kathrine Beck, the biography of Opal Whiteley.  I’m about halfway through the book.  I’m hoping to finish it in the next few days because I have a ton of other books I want to start on.

I am hoping… that I can figure out something to make for dinner tomorrow, as the commissary is closed on Mondays.

I am hearing… the NFC Championship between the Philadelphia Eagles and the Arizona Cardinals.  Kurt’s rooting for the Cardinals, since they have never been to the Superbowl, but I have a soft spot for Donovan McNabb and the Eagles.  It looks like the Cards are going to win; they’re ahead 24-13 in the third quarter.

Around the house… I have done two loads of laundry and folded what was left over in a basket today.  Once I’m done here, I am going to fold the jeans load and get Grace’s load into the dryer so it’s clean for tomorrow.  I also went through my shirts this week and set aside a bunch to go to charity.  I need to go through them again and really be ruthless this time, but I have such a hard time getting rid of my t-shirts.  Most of them mean something to me, like my Beatles shirt or my Virginia girl shirt.  Some of them Kurt’s sent to me when he’s been on deployment, so it’s hard for me to get rid of them even though they no longer fit.  But I need to do it!

One of my favorite things… is going on a photography “field trip” with my family, like we did yesterday.  I am very lucky that I have a husband who indulges my whim to find cool things to photograph.

A few plans for the rest of the week… We’re hoping to find someone to watch the kids tomorrow night, as it will mark nine years that Kurt and I have been together, and he’d like to take me out to dinner.  I plan on watching the inauguration on Tuesday because I am so excited for the changes our nation is now facing with a new president.  Mary Ellen has her four-month (already!!!) well-baby visit on Thursday, which means finding out her weight and getting more vaccinations.  And on Saturday, we’re heading over to our friends’ home for a delicious Mexican dinner and plenty of fun games!

Have a great week!

Loneliness

 

4 Responses to “The Week Ahead: 18 January”

  1. twisterjester Says:

    The recipe sounds scrumptious, and your photo is just haunting. You certainly titled it right!

  2. Tracey Says:

    You could make a quilt from your favorite old t-shirts!

  3. art Says:

    that pic put a chill up my spine! yeeee! most definitely haunting!

  4. sleepyjane Says:

    It’s still so strange that it’s snowing where you guys are and here I am in shorts and a t – SWEATING like a pig. I sure can’t wait for fall. 🙂


Leave a Reply

