The Mind of Bluesleepy

Relegated to sous chef 21 January 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 9:52 pm

I let Kurt in the kitchen tonight.

I know!  Can you believe it?  He’s actually a great cook, especially since he has the motivation to try recipes with cuts of meat I wouldn’t normally cook.  He does all the fish and seafood, and tonight he took on a pork shoulder.  Me, I’d be too intimidated by a pork shoulder.  I’ll stick to whole chickens and chicken breasts and pork roasts and steaks.  Y’all can do the odd stuff.

This afternoon he brings home this enormous cut of meat with a big ol’ bone hanging out the one end.  I didn’t even know what to do with it!  But he heads into the kitchen, and the next thing I know, he’s chopping and blending and cutting and doing all kinds of crazy things.  He brought me the spice blend he created, and wowee!  It smelled so delicious.

All I had to do was preheat the oven and throw the shoulder into a roasting pan before I left to take Grace to swim lessons.  When I opened the container the meat had been marinating in, I almost swooned.  It smelled that wonderful.

And that was nothing compared to how awesome the house smelled by the time I got back from swim lessons.  I got a whiff of deliciousness as soon I turned the key in the door.  I didn’t think I could make it till dinner.

This is what my husband presented to me at dinner time:

Wednesday night dinner

That’s Rockin’ Roast Pork Shoulder on my plate — my apologies to my vegetarian readers.  But let me tell you, that pork was delicious.  Somehow the sofrito rub had penetrated throughout the entire piece of pork, and the whole garlic cloves that had been embedded into the meat lent such an amazing flavor.

Did I mention I am not a huge fan of pork?  I’m not.  But this, this was amazing.

The stuff on the side?  That is Kurt’s interpretation of Mexican grilled corn.  There’s a story behind that dish.

See, one year when we were in Tucson for the holidays, Kurt’s parents decided to take us down to Nogales because I’d never been to Mexico.  After wandering around, stopping in shops and getting a bite to eat at a local restaurant, we needed a bit of a snack, so Kurt bought a cup of grilled corn from a street vendor.  Inside was a mixture of grilled corn, mayonnaise, and parmesan cheese.  I know that may sound gross, but it’s seriously scrumptious.

Tonight Kurt improvised his own version of Mexican grilled corn.  He used a mix of sour cream and mayonnaise, and added corn that he toasted in a cast-iron skillet and chopped cilantro.  I love his presentation of the dish.  I felt like I was eating in a fancy restaurant!

Now we have all kinds of leftover pork.  The shoulder was six pounds with the bone; there’s no way we could have eaten that much pork tonight!  I have plans for that meat.  Tomorrow night?  Homemade pizza with a made-from-scratch crust.  Pork tacos would be delicious, and I just picked up a bunch of whole-wheat tortillas at Trader Joe’s.  Maybe some quesadillas instead!

And you know, I am thinking I am going to try out that hash recipe my mom used to make, frying up onions, potatoes, green peppers, and the meat with some seasoned salt.

We’ll be eating high on the hog this week!!  Ha ha ha!  Sorry.  I get my bad jokes from my dad.

 

4 Responses to “Relegated to sous chef”

  1. michele Says:

    Don’t let that meaty bone go to waste. It’s the best part. Put it in a stock pot with plenty of water and whatever leftover cilantro you might have (stems you might otherwise throw away are great). A bit of onion you may have left in the fridge, a couple cloves of unpeeled garlic, some carrot peels and a heel of celery would be better. If you have a bay leaf throw it in the pot. simmer it on low for half a day. After a few hours add a bit of salt and pepper. Not too much as you’ll want to reduce this when you use it in another recipe. Strain when it starts tasting good and you have the base of a fantastic soup or stew. Google posole, one of my favorite soups. You can also forgoe the s+p and super reduce this a a base for sauces. Pop it into a ziplock bag and into the freezer when a recipe calls for a meat based stock. Cheap, not much labor and so much better than canned stock.

  2. michele Says:

    yes. yes you did (get your dry sense of humor from dad). then again, you actually are a little wittier at times…

  3. terri t. Says:

    ok, this time the description and the pictures made my stomach growl…..I am fixing a little pork roast this week myself.

  4. cardiogirl Says:

    Wow! That Kurt is as good a cook as you are! Now I really want to have dinner at your place.


Leave a Reply

