The Mind of Bluesleepy

The Week Ahead: 25 January 25 January 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 8:12 pm

Outside my window… It is cold and dark.  It’s just 24ºF right now, which is almost -5º if you are using the metric system.  That is DAMN cold, what with the wind we have here in Newport.  I went to the commissary this afternoon, wearing just a jean jacket, and I about froze to death just walking through the parking lot.

I am thinking… that I wish plans wouldn’t fall through at the last moment.

From the learning rooms… Grace is doing very well on the reading!  Last night she brought out the book Kurt was reading to her before bed, and she read me an entire page!  I was so proud.

I am thankful for… wonderful friends.  On Friday night we went over to our friends’ home to play games and eat delicious snacks, and afterward I stopped by Bridget’s to retrieve Grace, and ended up watching most of Snatch and having a few drinks.  Then on Saturday another couple invited us to their home, along with Pamela and her husband Vic, to eat delicious Mexican food and play games.  We had such a great time, and I’m only sorry that I met this friend two months before she moves on to her next duty station.

From the kitchen… I made an incredibly delicious dinner tonight, if I may say so myself!  I found a recipe for baked ziti in my America’s Test Kitchen Cookbook, and I also made my homemade garlic breadsticks to go with it.  Steamed zucchini dressed with olive oil and a bit of seasoning blend rounded out the meal.  I had two helpings of the ziti; it was that good.  The recipe suggested using fresh mozzarella instead of pre-shredded or block mozzarella, and I am so glad I did.  It looked so amazing as I pulled it out of the oven that I gazed in awe and whispered, “Oh, mah dodd.”  Seriously.

I am creating… a gift for a friend!!  And yes, folks, this does mean I am stitching.  It’s just a small project, and I will share a photo of it once it’s completed and my friend receives it.  I am so excited about it because it’s so prettiful.

I am going… to play some Word Twist with Kate.

I am reading… Sweetness in the Belly, a novel by Camilla Gibb.  I picked it up in Falmouth, Massachusetts, at a bookstore called Eight Cousins.  I have already mentioned my affinity for the book of the same name by Louisa May Alcott, so of course I was drawn to this bookstore.  I haven’t yet started the book, so here is what the back says: “Born to hippie British parents then raised at a Sufi shrine in Morocco after they are murdered, Lilly grows up amid the serenity of mystical Islam.  As a young woamn, she goes on a pilgrimage to the walled city of Harar, Ethiopia, where she builds a life teaching the Qu’ran to children and falls in love with an idealistic doctor.  But even in a traditional headcarf, Lilly is always marked as a foreigner.  And when she is forced to flee Ethiopia for England, she must once again confront the riddle of who she is and where she belongs.  Sweetness in the Belly is an intoxicating tour de force about memory and exile.”

I am hoping… that my travel this weekend goes swimmingly.

I am hearing… Kurt read a good-night story to Grace, and Mary Ellen’s stuffed seahorse play lullabies.  The TV is shut off, amazingly enough.  Just a little while ago, I was hearing Kurt practice his Spanish for school.  He’s doing really well!

Around the house… I still have a load of laundry to fold.  For some reason, Mary Ellen makes quite a bit of laundry.  I don’t remember washing clothes as often when Grace was a baby!!

One of my favorite things… is seeing how Mary Ellen’s eyes light up when Grace comes near her.  You can tell there is such a bond between those two.

A few plans for the rest of the week… I plan on staying fairly quiet this week because I am off to California on Friday for the second annual CakeCon in San Jose!  The women of my Flickr discussion group are getting together once more, and I am so excited about it I can barely stand it.  It’s been too long since I’ve seen everyone!

Have a great week!

CHEESE!

 

4 Responses to “The Week Ahead: 25 January”

  1. Rosie Says:

    Recipe please! It looks so yummy!

  2. sleepyjane Says:

    I agree with Rosie! Recipe please! 🙂

  3. cardiogirl Says:

    I love the angle of that photo with Kurt unfocused in the background — so artsy!

    And I am very interested in the garlic breadstick recipe. I’ll just email you now.

  4. Poolagirl Says:

    Leftovers, please! Kurt invited me on Facebook!


Leave a Reply

