The Mind of Bluesleepy

Have you ever…? 4 February 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 9:39 pm

Stolen from The Purple Chai.

[Have you ever…?]

Gone on a blind date? No.

Skipped school? Never.  I was one of those psycho kids that was out on the bus stop ten minutes before the bus showed up because I was so paranoid I’d miss it.  My mother insisted she wouldn’t drive me to school if I missed the bus.

Watched someone die? No.

Been to Canada? Yes, several times.  I know we drove through Canada on our way from Michigan to New York state to visit relatives several times when I was a kid, which is how I’ve seen Niagara Falls from the Canadian side and not the American.

Been to Mexico? At least twice.  The first time my in-laws (who weren’t my in-laws yet) took Kurt and me down to Nogales for a day trip.  We shopped around, bought some cheesy Mexican trinkets, and ate some delicious Mexican foods.  The second time we’d driven from Tucson to Yuma to visit Kurt’s friends, and the wife needed to give her family something in Mexico.  So we crossed the border again, drove an hour into Mexico, finished her errand, and ended up with the most delicious tacos I have ever eaten that we bought from a street vendor.  That was also the trip where it rained in Yuma (almost unheard of!), and it was cold and rainy in San Diego too.  I bring the rain, apparently.

Been on a plane? I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve been on a plane.  We used to fly from my dad’s house back to see my real mom several times a year, so I have been flying (with and without my sister) since the time I was six.

Been lost? Less now that I have a GPS, but I get turned around easily.

Been on the opposite side of the country? I just got back from California, so I’d say yes.  I have also driven from Virginia to Washington state by way of Tucson, Arizona, and then from Washington state to Rhode Island by way of Chicago, so I’ve seen a good chunk of this country by now.

Swam in the ocean? Lots and lots and lots of times.  But surprisingly I never did swim in the Pacific.  Where I lived in Washington, it was rather far inland, though we were right on the Puget Sound.  We never did get to the Washington coast.  When I was in high school, my real mom lived in a townhouse right on the Chesapeake Bay, very close to the Atlantic, so I’d go swimming just about every day.

Cried yourself to sleep? Oh, yes.

Played cops and robbers? Not that I can remember.

Recently colored with crayons? Yes!  That’s one of the benefits of having kids.  You can color and not look like a goofball… not that I would care if I did anyhow.

Sang Karaoke? I haven’t, no, though I did sing with Guitar Hero this weekend.  I know I sounded awful, which is really a shame because I can carry a tune.

Paid for a meal with coins only? Nope.

Done something you told yourself you wouldn’t many times? Probably.

Made prank phone calls? Nope.  That sort of thing isn’t funny to me.

Laughed until some kind of beverage came out of your nose? Ha, several times.  I do remember one time being at Ben’s house during an Odyssey of the Mind meeting and laughing till milk came out of my nose.

Caught a snowflake on your tongue? Every time it snows!

Danced in the rain? I played in the rain several times when we lived in Nebraska.  It was one of my favorite things to do.

Written a letter to Santa Claus? I don’t think so.

Been kissed under the mistletoe?  This last Christmas, Kurt bought mistletoe and hung it in the entryway to the kitchen, so every time I went in or out of the kitchen, he’d smooch me.

Watched the sunrise with someone you care about? Most likely.

Blown bubbles? Every time I chew a piece of gum.  What can I say?  I’m still five years old.

Gone ice-skating? Yes.  We went once or twice when I was a kid, and we took Grace when she was two or so back in Washington.  I couldn’t believe they had ice skates tiny enough for her!  But I’ve never been skating on a pond.

Been skinny dipping outdoors? Nope.

Gone to the movies? I went just a few weeks ago.  It’s not really my activity of choice, though.

Saved someone’s life? Errr, no.

1. Any nickname? Oh, goodness.  More than I can count.  Usually Ree or Reezle.

2. Mother’s name? My mom’s name is Marty, and my real mom’s name is Katie.

3. Favorite drink? Alcoholic?  Right now I’m bouncing between gin & tonics and a drink that Craige made me in San Jose — vanilla vodka and ginger ale.

4. Any Tattoos? One on my back.  It’s a moon and star.

5. Body piercing? Only my ears — two in each ear, and one cartilege piercing at the top of my left ear.

6. How much do you love your job? I love my job!

7. Favorite vacation spot? Anywhere my family is as well.

8. Ever been to Africa? I have indeed!  I spent a month in Kenya on a mission trip with my church when I was in high school.  No electricity — but we did have running water.

9. Ever eaten cookies for dinner? Nope.

10. Been on TV? Not likely.

11. Ever steal any traffic signs? No.  I knew someone who stole a big orange barrel from an area of road work, though.

12. Ever been in a car accident? A couple of fender-benders.

13. Drive a 2-door or 4-door vehicle? I drive a minivan (so four doors plus a hatch), but we also have the little car which is a two-door.

14. Favorite Salad Dressing? Annie’s Shiitake and Sesame Vinaigrette, though lately I have been loving olive oil and white balsamic vinegar drizzled on my greens.

15. Favorite Pie? Not really a pie person, so I’ll go with Boston Creme Pie.  Heh.

16. Favorite Number? 6, but I do have a soft spot for 42.

17. Favorite Movie?  Wow.  Um.  I’m going to go with Love, Actually. I saw it twice in 24 hours.

19. Favorite Dessert? I’m not really a dessert person.  I’d prefer a delicious cheese plate, or some of that amazing quince-topped manchego that I had in San Jose.

20. Favorite food? Fried chicken, mashed potatoes and gravy, deviled eggs.

21. Favorite day of the week? I don’t think I have one.

22. Favorite brand of body wash? I don’t have a favorite.  I use whatever’s on sale.

23. Favorite toothpaste? I use this non-fluoride fennel stuff I get from Trader Joe’s because it’s the one toothpaste I use that does not give me serious drymouth.

24. Favorite smell? Freshly-cut grass, the salt tang of the ocean, Mary Ellen’s head, garlic simmering in olive oil.

25. What do you do to relax? Read, play on the computer, watch tv.

26. How do you see yourself in 10 years? I’ll be almost 40, so I’m hoping that Grace and ME will be doing well in school, and that Kurt is still in the Navy.  Maybe I’ll have a part-time job by then.

27. How many siblings do you have?  Two.

28. Furthest place you will send this message? N/A.

29. Who will respond to this the fastest?  N/A.

30. Who is your favorite dog of all time?  I’m not a dog person, so I’m going to go with my current dog Koolit, whom I love immeasureably.

 

4 Responses to “Have you ever…?”

  1. purple chai Says:

    Isn’t it amazing how wonderful a baby’s head smells?

  2. Aimee Says:

    This is a pretty interesting one. I might steal it from you now!

  3. terri t. Says:

    I liked this one too, I might have to use it as a blog entry this week.

  4. becca Says:

    I might copy too, I’m low on inspiration as I am trying to hold back on some things as it’s good to have a bit of a break from the family stuff every now and then. 🙂

    But yes, Charlotte Church is now like er 22 or 23 and has a little girl Ruby (born the day before my birthday 2007!) now and had her second baby Dexter on Jan 11th (matthews birthday)


Leave a Reply

