The Mind of Bluesleepy

On my bookshelf: 16 February 16 February 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 9:23 pm

Bookshelf #6

On to bookshelf #6!

Technically this should be bookshelf #7, since I skipped the shelf above.  That shelf holds my Bibles (I have four on that shelf, plus a Book of Common Prayer), my new ethnic cookbooks, and my reproduction of the 1896 Fannie Farmer.  There just wasn’t much to say about those books.

Moving on to the shelf below that.  There are a lot of books on this shelf that I haven’t yet read.  Queen of Camelot, Entering Normal, Love In the Time of Cholera, Things Fall Apart — they all fall under the “have yet to read” label.

But I have read Mary, Queen of Scots by Antonia Fraser.  It was such a good read — but then anything by Antonia Fraser is really good.  She writes some really excellent biographies, mainly of the English royalty.  Wikipedia lists her as writing a book called The Weaker Vessel: Woman’s Lot in Seventeenth-century England, which sounds incredibly fascinating to me.  I’ll have to look it up.

The three books just behind my baby shoes (yes, those are my shoes — I had, and still have, extremely wide feet, so my real mom had to buy them from a special store that sold wide baby shoes) are a trilogy by Pamela Aidan called Fitzwilliam Darcy, Gentleman.  These books tell the story of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, only from Darcy’s point of view.  I read them several years ago and enjoyed them, but they didn’t really stick with me.

Above my framed cross-stitch, which I stitched in 2001, is a book called Sir Apropos of Nothing by Peter David, who wrote several Star Trek novels as well.  I loved that book.  It’s funny fantasy, like Piers Anthony’s Xanth series, and is a quick and easy, yet very entertaining, read.  There are two more books in this series, The Woad to Wuin and Tong Lashing, and all three are full of puns, obviously.  I’ve read the first two and will get around to reading Tong Lashing at some point soon.  I bought them all from a used bookstore here in town.

Above Sir Apropos of Nothing is The Gods of Newport by John Jakes.  It was given to me by Grace’s best friend’s mother last summer.  She says it’s a light, easy read, but what makes it fascinating is that it takes place here in Newport among all the mansions.  It was neat to read something so local, she told me.  I have yet to get around to it, though I know I should.

Behind the cross-stitch, barely visible on the far left side, is Umberto Eco’s The Name of the Rose.  I bought it from a library sale, knowing that it’s something I should read, but I haven’t yet managed to get there.  I have had it for years and years, so I really should get to it.

As you can see, I’ve got two Oscar Wilde titles on this shelf.  I took a class in college called “Literature and the Formation of Homosexuality,” taught by a man who was most likely gay, and attended by mostly gay students.  I think I was the only straight person in the room.  We affectionately called it “Queer Lit” instead, since its official title was rather unwieldy.  We studied a lot of Oscar Wilde, I remember.  But I can’t really remember what else we read.  Oscar Wilde stuck with me most of all.

So that’s my shelf for this week.  If you have any recommendations for me, especially by authors you see on my shelves, please drop me a line in the comments!  Even though I have a ton of books to read, I am always looking to add to my collection.

 

5 Responses to “On my bookshelf: 16 February”

  1. beanie Says:

    I read The Name of the Rose, and I can honestly say it was one of the most boring books I’ve ever read. Even one of my BILs agreed… but maybe it was just me at the time I was reading it. I see you also have Falling Up which was one of Kid’s favorites when she was young….

  2. Military Mom Says:

    You read such literary books, like smart people books! I feel a little silly with my chick lit reads laying all over my room! And yes, I’m about to read Confessions of a Shopaholic again, just to try and get Isla Fisher’s face out of my head whenever I think of Beck Bloomwood! Way to ruin a good book. Sorry it’s been awhile Blue, I read everyday, I’m just a sucky commenter!

  3. I’ve read the Name of the Rose and it was so forgettable I don’t remember a single thing about the plot or characters. As for recommendations, I always enjoy Ludlum, and for fantasy, Stephen R. Donaldson. The latter books are huge and heavily involved, but the main character is an amazing, complex protagonist.

  4. Poolagirl Says:

    Read read read read! YESSSSS! It’s pure bliss!

  5. terri t. Says:

    I finished Wideacre and I liked it. You can read my blog about it. Now I want to read the other two in the trilogy, The Favored Child and Meridon.


Leave a Reply

